We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slieverue
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would never stay again”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for two nights with my family, it is not a family friendly hotel, the staff was in no way friendly or helpfully in anyway at all to us wile we stay here, it's not a hotel for young people or young family, the breakfast on the first morning was terrible sec morning was ok, when we arrive we had lunch in the bar the food was only average in it, the rooms were clean put could do with a make over. Your five mins or so outside Waterford city so not a good place to come on a stag party or that. Over all I won't be going back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kildangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    56
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
94
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Travelling with some old motorbikes & motorcyclists as old we were delighted with what we received here & the pleasantness of the staff was a lot to do with how this place took to my liking. A little odd the way the items you had are calculated,perhaps one price for a full breakfast with all the trimmings would be better. but other than that it was top class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Fran-Maria,

Thank you so much for you kind words, we a re delighted you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. We are always striving to provide the highest standard of service possible to all our guests.

Hopefully you will get a chance to visit us again soon!

Thanking you yet again,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The only good thing about this place is the food can great value for money if you get it hot. I have no problem eating here but lately its short staffed and the food was just warm coming to table.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is generally very good, & the rooms are comfortable, Try to get a room that does not face the road or there is constant eeeeOOORRRmmm of traffic. The breakfast was not up to scratch. The bacon sausage & egg are pre-cooked & kept hot, so its pot luck if they are dry & overcooked or not.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Arthurum,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, however I would like to deeply and sincerely apologise for you being disappointed with our breakfast. We here at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel continuously strive to provide the best service to all of our guests. I am sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. In recent times we have improved our ingredients and ensured a higher standard of quality in all of our food items.

Thanking you yet again,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I recently attended a wedding a the Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel. My first impression was that it was very old fashioned and could do with a makeover. While it could certainly do with a makeover, the food was very good and homely and the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seniordublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Seniordublin,

Firstly thank you for your kind words, we take every review seriously and it is always a delight to hear of someone having a good time within our hotel. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the wedding and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Thanking you yet again,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinallen.N.Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were a party of 4 adults and stayed over the June bank holiday. The staff were great, helpful and friendly and approachable. We used the hotel as a base to explore the local area and the front desk were a fount of knowledge and willing to engage. I marked the location a average as the hotel was out of town. But if I was traveling this wouldn't have mattered as the bar food was acceptable and atmosphere plasent. There happened to be a country and western dance on 1 of the nights (not my cup of tea, as they say) but great fun.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellrowantree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
514 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a huge hotel that back in the day must have catered to the elite crowd. The owner of the B & B we stayed at suggested that we go here for dinner. We sat in the bar area which is now catering to the locals as a big screen TV has been installed and some locals sitting at the bar. Other than a few other couples in the dining area and the bar man the place was empty, The room itself was elegant with a nice fireplace and overhead lighting which would indicate that at one time this was a well to do establishment. The bar man gave us menus and was very friendly and when asked gave very good suggestions for dinner. I ordered the steak lasagne which was like no lasagne I had ever had before. It was quite good though. My wife ordered the European Plaise which turned out to be fish and chips and was quite delicious. For desert we ordered the sticky toffee pudding with fresh cream which was absolutly the best ever. And of course, cold Guinness to wash it all down with. We would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACOB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
3.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,099 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel

Property: The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Address: | Luffany, Slieverue, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful countryside within the heart of the Southeast, The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel is the perfect location for holidays, business or leisure. Our well earned reputation for friendliness and service, coupled with our old world hospitality and peaceful surroundings ensure that every guest is rewarded with a relaxing and enjoyable stay.The hotel features thirty-one elegantly furnished en-suite bedrooms. Each of which is designed for comfort. All rooms are complete with direct dial telephone, a multi-channel colour television, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities.On request a guest can receive;Family rooms including a baby cotFax and mailbox facilitiesNewspaper deliveryDry cleaning/Laundry serviceMorning wake up call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing