We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, friendy what service should be like!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Slieverue B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Got recommended to this B & B from one of the big corporate hotels in Waterford. Bernard the proprietor and his wife were an absolute delight! Nothing was too much trouble and the room was modern, clean and extremely quite. Everything was perfect would HIGHLY recommend this great little hideaway. Just two minutes from Waterford Quay it was really easy to find even without Sat Nav! Well done Bernard it's good to see that great service is still out there.

Regards,

Matthew and Heather (Cardiff) Xxx

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nantgarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

Diamond Hill is an easy drive from the centre of Waterford.
A quiet residential area.
The rooms are clean, fine and spacious - cows were grazing at our open window which was amusing !
My sister and I thought that there was not much atmosphere and I think we were probably the only guests in-house - it would have been a nice gesture if we had been allocated a room with a view over the lovely gardens instead of a hilly meadow.
Breakfast was well cooked and tasty by 2 lady staff members who were the only people we saw during our stay apart from the owner on the day we left and his girlfiend when we arrived. The puppy at reception was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Henleywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

My husband and I didn't have a good introduction to Diamond Hill but it wasn't at all the fault of the guest house. We found the place without any trouble and headed inside with our bags. The front door stuck slightly and my husband gave it a great push, which caused the door to fly wide open and crash into the wall behind, breaking the glass on a framed certificate hanging there. We were mortified.

Despite this, the desk clerk was wonderfully gracious and welcoming, and she certainly didn't need to be considering we were handing her a frame and pieces of broken glass. Our room upstairs was very large, with an enormous gorgeous window overlooking the front drive and a huge green hill opposite, picturesquely dotted with cows. The bathroom was also quite large with all the amenities. We had been given a triple, and upgrades are always wonderful.

The bed was very comfortable but what was most striking to us about Diamond Hill was how incredibly quiet it was. We didn't hear any noise from other guests and after a long flight, that was wonderful. We enjoyed a satisfactory breakfast alone and checked out alone, having seen no other guests except for briefly in the parking lot. Our stay was on a Wednesday night.

We would definitely stay at Diamond Hill again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiscDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

After a very enjoyable stay in Ireland we finished off with a very good 3 days and enjoyed wonderful hospitality. We most certainly would like to return here again next year or the year after when we return to Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
1  Thank martyboytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I stayed one night at Diamond Hill Country House it is a neat place nice clean room and great breakfast , and as i discovered too late ,just walking distance from the village pub, ideal for touring the south east which i did, and enjoyed it alot.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steveKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed in Diamond Hill for two weeks. It was a friendly and welcoming place to stay. The rooms were well above average and very comfortable. Food was excellent, and the range of choice for breakfast was amazing. The family atmosphere was very noticeable and the staff were most helpful. As a centre for touring the South East we found it most convenient. The proprietor was more than helpful in providing evening meals on request, often served by himself! We would have no hesitation in giving the place a high recommendation. JKL & sister

3  Thank JKLKildareTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Well i booked in for two days and have to admit that it is one of the best guesthousese i have stayed in in Munster and even all Ireland. service was impeccable, rooms extremly comfortable and breakfest top class. Would recommend every one if they had a chance to stay here

Padraic: Dublin

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pvallely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
1.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hill Country House

Address: Mile Post Village, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slieverue
Price Range: $88 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hill Country House Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing