We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is This the Best Guest House in Ireland?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Hill Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Slieverue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Is This the Best Guest House in Ireland?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at Diamond Hill again in April 2013 three years after my first visit. It is as good as ever. The quality of service, the room, the breakfast are superb and the view from room 12 - well that is breathtaking to say the least!

In a guest house the visitor wants comfort, friendliness and courtesy, local advice, great food and accessibility. You will find all in this establishment. It feels like a better version of your own home.

Well done to the Smith family for running such a beautiful business. I will certainly be there again and hope that its popularity doesn't make this impossible!

Tony Kiely, Coventry, UK

; .

Room Tip: They all seem lovely but "my" room 12 I want for myself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    27
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
58
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We really enjoyed meeting Benny and family. Their hospitality was warm and genuine. Our room was very spacious, and had a nice country view. It was almost unbelieveable that we were just over the hill from the city! The breakfast was ample and very tasty. We'd return to DH anytime we're in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 188tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week-long vacation to Ireland. We stayed at the Diamond Hill B&B for our last two nights and it was absolutely wonderful (March 2013). It is about 5 minutes (driving) from Waterford's city center, so it's nice and quiet but still easy to get to the busy city.

The owner was extremely friendly, reliable and helpful. He even had breakfast ready for us at 6:45 am on our last morning because we had an early flight to catch (their breakfast normally starts at 7 am). We literally came downstairs and it was put in front of us--they even remembered what we had ordered the previous morning--impressive! We were very grateful for this. We really enjoyed the breakfast both mornings. Everything was fresh, delicious and served hot. Unfortunately we weren't able to try their dinner

Our room was very quiet and cozy--the bed was extremely luxurious and comfortable. We had a very roomy bathroom and a nice view. We really enjoyed everything and would definitely stay here again. It is also very affordable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our host was very helpful with our arrival, and suggesting local attractions. Full Irish breakfast was great. Our room was perfectly clean and a good size. We enjoyed walking around the village and it was only a short drive into Waterford. The property is easy to find from the Rosslare ferry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FayLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

What fantastic people with a fantastic hotel. Breakfast was great as well.

I am currently on the train back home to Dublin after the hotel owner (Benny) drove me to the station because it was raining and his wife and I discussed the NHL lockout (being a Canadian living in Ireland, this is a big deal for me). Absolutely wonderful place to stay and a free breakfast to boot.

I cannot speak highly enough of my experience with Diamond. If you are going to Waterford you would be ill-advised to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: You should call them to book a room booking. Third party sites take some money off the top and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Diamond Hill Country House. It is very close to Waterford and the hosts were brilliant and friendly. They were very understanding that we would be getting in late, and even told us to take our time. The rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast was very nice. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived at Diamond Hill after a long rainy drive from Dublin. The owner whisked us right up and got us settled into a comfy room. In the morning, after a delicious breakfast, he recommended excellent places for us to stay the next two nights in Killarney and Dingle as well as attractions we didn't know about which we greatly enjoyed. Without his advice, who knows where we would have ended up. Cozy house, delicious breakfast, and very friendly/helpful staff! This house is definitely kid friendly (the owners have young children of their own). Easy 10 minute drive into the heart of Waterford. We will DEFINITELY recommend this guesthouse to our friends and family in the future. Our stay at Diamond Hill was a great start to our Irish vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
1.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hill Country House

Property: Diamond Hill Country House
Address: Mile Post Village, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hill Country House Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing