We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, can't argue with the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lismore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Repeat visit - I really am becoming a creature of habit. Very little changed since the last time except apparently due to implosion in miracle Irish economy the hotel now shuts over the winter months and only reopens at Easter.

This works well for visitors though because rates have been slashed (55 Euros for a family room at beginning of June) - breakfast extra.

Finally, for the first time in years, it was sunny for our entire trip. Lismore town is beautiful, historic castle (Duke of Devonshire's - you know that bloke who owns Chatsworth House, him - Irish seat doncha know) right on your doorstep. That Boyle chap - you remember, Boyle's Law from Chemistry? Discovered right here.

Nice park and kids play area right across the street. A couple of good eateries up the hill - Foley's in particular, offer good - excellent and reasonably priced meals. Town full of pubs. Great location for fishing - get permits (and gear) in Cappoquin.

Heaps to see and do locally. Not one but two (count 'em) cathedrals.

I should work for the Lismore Tourist Board.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

I dont want this review to be seen as too negative, because overall its a good hotel with good staff. We stayed for four nights as a base for touring. The hotel has a large car park and is quite an impressive building, however I must point out a few things which could improve it greatly.
Our room was on the front, not very large, but with good fixtures and comfy bed. A few dirty marks on the carpet let it down, and only having been opened for a month after winter a little cleaning could have got rid of it.
The bathroom was small but clean, but the shower basin leaked. I did forget to mention it but you would have thought the three towels on the floor soaking it up every morning would give the staff a clue. There was a fusty smell in the bathroom which why perhaps the staff left the expell air on after cleaning every day.
One day no new coffee or milk was left, and twice we had to have the door card recharged.
Ate twice in the bar, first meal was great, the second on the Sunday evening was not of the same standard, maybe the chef had the day off.
None of the above are major problems, and none would stop me from staying again, but they advertise four star comfort, they need to tighten up a little on those things that would make it 4 star

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.The staff are very friendly and no task is too big for them.The rooms were beautiful and spacious.The town itself has a lot of choice such as pubs, restraunts and a great tourist information center to find out all about the historic town.We stayed on a sat and were delighted to be informed of the nightclub situated underneath the hotel it was a brilliant night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnylalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We were looking forward to spending a weekend at Lismore House as the hotel pictures looked really nice as did the village of Lismore. However, to be honest we were left with a bad taste about the experience and we won't be going back.

However, lets start with the positives. The hotel has very good value deals- we had a package for 2 nights B&B and one dinner. The Irish breakfast was made to order which was good, and we had a lovely dinner. The staff in the restaurant and bar are also nice and friendly.
Now, the negatives! Our main problem was with the bathroom. As with the other reviewer, the curtains in the bathroom just looked filthy. We had an unfortunate problem as well with dead flies on the window sills. As the building is old, it has the old style windows, where you have 2 panes, with one behind the other. For some reason flies were coming into both the bedroom but in particular the bathroom window. When we arrived there were approx 20-30 dead and dying flies on the window sill- disgusting. We rang down and they sent someone up to hoover the room. The next day then we went out for the day. When we came back our room was not cleaned. They said that the door was stuck and they only had one actual key and the key that they had wouldnt let them in.
Also, when we went back in again, same problem with more dead flies. Again someone was sent to hoover them up. I complained at the desk but they weren't that interested. There was no offer or changing our rooms or anything like that. When we were waiting in the bar for the room to be cleaned, there was no offer of a complimentary drink for example.
Also, on both nights the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night- that could have happened anywhere, but just added to our annoyance during our stay. We won't be going back, which is a pity as the hotel itself is nice and the experience could have been so much better- if only they were interested in resolving the fly issue!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Stayed just one night( thank God ), we got room 210...
We we down for a relatives mass & decided to treat ourself, big mistake. Room was ok & bed comfy enough. Bathroom was not the cleanest, window & curtain really filthy. Also outside the bathroom window somewhere was the most dreadful banging sound, like water pipes, it was bad, my husband did want to complain but I said sure it should stop at some stage..... how wrong I was. We were wrecked the next morning, complained at checking out & just got a shoulder shrug & asked for my money. We will never ever be back & as we have relatives in the area they also know our story. It was a long drive back to Wicklow to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed in the hotel on Thursday and Friday, as we got a really good rate for a two night stay. We were given a complimentry upgrade as we check in, purley due to the fact that we had stayed once before. We were checked in by an Australian manager, who seemed to have a great knowledge of the local area and things to do, unfortuately the weather did not co-operate, as many of the activities are outdoor based. Never the less we were able to pass the the time in the bar! (cosy but quite), which also seemed to be run by the same man, who provided a great bit of banter over the afternoon. I look forward to returning soon for a pint a a chat! (PS: Good food specials as well.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clonmelops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I booked a week-end in the Lismore Hotel for the end of August 2009. On arrival I noticed that there was a disco on in the hotel on the Saturday night. I informed the person at reception that as I had to exit at 7am on Sunday, I would appreciate being accommodated in a room away from the disco. I was allocated room 101. It was a most unpleasant experience and an experience which could have and should have been avoided. We were subject to the noise from the disco until 2pm. the light outside the disco laminated room 101 and it was not turned off until 3pm. The crowd from the disco assembled on the street outside our room and did not clear until 3.50 pm. Lismore is a nice town but there can be no excuse for the attitude and the level of service displayed on our visit to the hotel this august.

Stayed: August 2009
4  Thank Tommassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lismore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismore House Hotel

Address: Lismore House Hotel 1 Main Street, Lismore P51 A30C, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Hotel Class:3 star — Lismore House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lismore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing