We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lismore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Reviewed September 5, 2008

stayed here for a long weekend last oct, was 8months pregnant at time. when we arrived it was 5pm, no room was ready for us, we were not offered a cup of tea or anything for the wait,(check in was 1pm!!!) had to walk around the town for 30mins. when room was finally ready we were put in the old wing, when i had specifically asked to be in the new part , there was no heating in the room, it was freezing, i asked immediately to change rooms, was told they would look into it, this went on me calling, etc till 1am, when their final solution was to send up an extra duvet!!!!
it was oct, no heat, old windows letting in draft, i was heavily preg,just miserable.also no bath in bathroom, damp smell in bathroom, room tiny.
finally after much complaint we were moved the next day to the new wing, over the niteclub, so noisy, but there was at least heat.basically we had a very crap time at this hotel, there is nothing to do in Lismore, so was hoping to have a chilled time in hotel, but they did not know how to treat their guests, and i am very lenient in my views on customer service generally.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wellparkgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

Checked in for a three day break,as a special anniversary celebration.First impressions were good,friendly welcome and efficient check in.
Our room was well appointed overlooking the millenium park.We had a problem with the shower,couldnt get it to work.A phone call to reception sent help immediately.Unfortunately,this young man couldnt rectify the problem and we were moved to another room.Hardly a great introduction but the response from hotel staff was gracious to say the least,
We ate locally in The Glencarn Inn and Foleys bar,both highly reccommended,the second was extremely good value for money,be warned portions are huge!We ate in the hotel restaurant on our final night and were not as pleased,service from our German waiter was very good but the food was not as good as our first two nights,see above.Steaks ordered medium were more on the well done side and the vegetable selection was limited,a baked tomato and bland potatoe cake was it.However deserts were good.
Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection of fresh fruit and unusual alternatives to the Irish staples.
Finally a word about the water,it was a brownish colour and made for strange tasting tea and coffee.We made tea/coffee in our room kettle using bought bottled water.Staff reassured us the water was safe to drink and had been tested.This arrises when there is heavy rain in the area..
Overall we did enjoy our stay in this hotel despite some minor problems but as other reviewers have stated the charm of the staff is wonderful to experience,they do want you to have a good stay with them.I strongly got the impression they genuinely enjoyed their work.
The area is well located for trips to Cork or Waterford and the town of Lismore is historical and interesting

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Was originally booked for a 3 night stay..checked out after one...the water is brown (told safe to drink..but I wasnt taking a chance), the rooms are tiny..and roasting hot in summer..beside a busy road..and dont make our mistake of staying at w/ends..you wont get a wink of sleep due to the nite club downstairs...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank racer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

All I can say is - read the reviews of others...the staff is wonderful and the location is great. The hotel needs some re-designing but in that it is the ONLY place in the very prettyn town of Lismore, I'd say 'If in Lismore, stay here...'.

Sometimes there's just notjhing you can do...the rooms are often over the street and noise is an issue BUT the views are wonderful and the traffic just isn't THAT bad. I would suggest that they improve the a/c in the rooms...just so that it works.

The only other suggestions I have are that the restaurant needs to be a bit more restauranty and the bar could be a little cozier, perhaps with a fire. Otherwise a simple, clean and convenient place, with attentive staff but it needs to work on a 'personality'.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peppercornlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

This hotel has a lot going for it: a great location in one of Ireland's most picturesque villages, a town-centre location and is itself a building with high architectural and heritage value. Also the staff are very warm and friendly. The problems are basic and should have been sorted out during its recent refurbishment. Firstly, due to the location of the hotel on a corner in the middle of the town there is a noise pollution problem in the bedrooms that face onto the streets. Clearly double-glazing was necessary here and the management should have spotted this. The problem is so bad that it would prevent me returning to this hotel unless put right. It is possible to double glaze now and maintain the original appearance of the windows. Secondly, and more costly to put right is the layout of the reception. The main entrance opens into a corridor, not badly decorated but a corridor none the less. This is a very unimpressive first encounter with the interior. This space should have been opened up into the room which now operates as a small guest dining room behind it. This latter room is awkwardly shaped for its present use and would be much better employed as reception/seating area. At the rear of the corridor is a large 'fire door' that has a very unattractive appearance. In fact all the doors inside appear to be fire-doors and have big labels on them to this effect, perhaps reflecting overly strict application of fire regulations. They are ugly and seem unnecessary as I have not noticed them in other hotels of similar age.
Ironically one of the principle elements missing from the hotel is a fire. A good log fire is such a basic requirement of any country hotel that it's omission here (in winter) is extraordinary. Arriving for a weekend away at this hotel we were very disappointed that the bar did not have even a gas fire to lift the mood. We would not return unless this was simple but important problem was resolved. Another very basic ingredient lacking from this hotel is good lighting. All the reception rooms, including the dining room were lit brightly from above. This creates an austere and cold atmosphere and would be easily rectified by the distribution of a few shaded lamps in windows and on small tables. This is a very basic element to get right in the interior design of any hotel and I really hope (for their sake) that they make some changes in this regard.
The room we stayed in was fine despite the noise. We could have done without the ugly stain on the carpet however. Better attention should be paid to such visible defects as they do put people off. Also the shower didn't appear to work and we had to use the nozzle from the bath. We were told that dvds were available from reception but on enquiry these turned out to be very few in number and very dated. While well-intentioned I suggest the hotel should not bother with such things unless they can do it right.
All that said this hotel has great potential and I would happily stay here again if the errors listed above were corrected. At present the hotel's greatest asset is its staff, all of whom were unfailing warm and polite.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank SidneyDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Low season defeintely means low service in this hotel. More snow on the TV than on the mountains outside, had to ask for the room to be serviced and even then it was only done with very minimum of effort. The restaurant was closed, no bathrobe and slippers provided and generally very unsatisfying experience. One point in its favour, the breakfasts are very good and, in general, the staff are pleasant. Not one I will be rushing back to.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queencharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

lismore is an amazing place, full of interesting people and places to visit.
we were very much impressed with the hotel. the food is wonderful, even the bar menu.
we were alo looking for somewhere to relax and we were directed to the hair &beauty gallery on its main street, it is only open a sort while like the hotel. the girls there even opened on the sunday to help us. the decleor facial was amazing
ill be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natasharoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lismore
4.8 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
3.5 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#1 of 3 in Cappoquin
116 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
13.4 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
12.2 mi away
Ballyvolane House
Ballyvolane House
#1 of 2 in Fermoy
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lismore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismore House Hotel

Address: 1 - 2 Main Street, Lismore P51 A30C, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Hotel Class:3 star — Lismore House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lismore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing