We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lismore House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
52
47
32
22
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
47
32
22
33
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 186 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were given a voucher to use here as a gift and as we live only 15 mins away, there was no point in staying there so we used the voucher for food. The voucher had actually expired by now as well but they didn't mind as I had rang them up in advance to be sure it would be ok. Iwas wary as hotel food can be hit or miss. The food here, however, was a hit. We went for Sunday dinner and we both had the duck spring rolls, roast beef and shared the cheesecake. Mmmmm.....the cheesecake......divine!! The waitor told us it is made fresh daily and that the other desserts are also good. It was light and fluffy and amazing. The rest of the food was also very high quality and the price was excellent. The waitor was really good and stopped for a chat with us. We will be going back there for dinner again for the food, service and value - and more cheesecake!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cork1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have just had a really lovely peaceful weekend break in Lismore House hotel. The room was lovely , on the top floor with a great view of the little town. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It could have been a bit warmer on our arrival but was fine for the remainder if the stay. There is a lovely feel to the Hotel, old style but fresh and well maintained. The food was really good .We were very impressed with the meal, especiallly the Tiramisu that I had. Really good coffee too. The breakfast was freshly made, no bain maries here . The bacon was really tasty. (They must use a good butcher as the Steak my husband had on Friday night was perfect.) Maybe a compote of fruits or fresh fruit salad might be nice , however the stewed Prunes and stewed apricots were very good. All of the staff were friendly , helpful and professional. I would definitely return again in the Summer when the Castle will be open for visitors. We had a lovely walk around the town , got some great books in a 2nd hand bookshop, had a few drinks and went to the Theatre in the Heritage Centre on Saturday night. All in all a great stay . No complaints at all. There was a large group staying and we were told that they had some late nights but we didn't hear a thing! Zzzzz!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliatmiliscakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had our Wedding at this hotel in November 2011 and filled the hotel with our guests. Everyone was really impressed with the level of service and quality of food the Hotel provided. Margaret, Emily and all the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a stress free stay. We couldn't have asked for a better venue and it really was a very special day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaPettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Lismore hotel is basically a hotel built on top of a bar and nightclub. We arrived to find the hotel that the hotel wasn't actually open on 2 of the nights we had booked in, and on the nights we did stay we were kept awake until the early hours by the sound of noise from the bar and disco and the noise on the streets outside. On calling reception we were told that it would finish at 2am so we could get some sleep then. When we asked to be moved we were told there were no quiet rooms in the hotel as they had so many functions on. I would not recommend this hotel because of the noise issues and the lack of any kind of empathy or help from the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights when attending our friends' wedding couple of weeks ago. The hotel itself is formed of two buildings joined together – the main building and a small house next door (where the Bar is).

We were allocated room 210, which is on the second floor above the Bar. The first thing we noticed when we opened the door separating the main building and the adjoining building was that it was really cold in the corridor. There didn’t seem to be any radiators, which is probably why.

The room itself was a little on the small side and looked a bit tired and run down.
The window only had single glazing and the heating wasn’t on, so the room was incredibly cold when we came in. I called the reception to check how we can turn the radiator on and they told me that the heating is on a timer and should come on at 6:00 pm. When that didn’t happen, we inquired at the reception again and they told us to wait for a bit longer for it to come on. An hour later there was still no heating, so we again enquired at the reception and they promised to send somebody up to check it. Since nobody turned up within then next half an hour, we went for dinner. When we got back, there was a small electric heater left for us in the room as the main radiator was clearly not working.

Although the bed was rather small for two people, it was quite comfortable.
There was only one night stand next to the bed, which made us wonder if that room is normally allocated to single travellers?

The bathroom was tiny, it was impossible for two people to be there at the same time. There was no shelf on which we could put our toiletries (even the toilet paper roll was placed on the cistern), which meant that we had to leave everything apart from our toothbrushes in our room.
The toilet was so close to the cabinet under the sink that it was physically impossible to sit on the toilet and face forwards. The distance between the toilet seat and the cabinet was barely 20 cm. Each time we, or anybody from the room below us flushed the toilet, it seemed like the whole toilet was going to take off, based on the sound that followed… Apparently, the same thing happened in some of the bathrooms in the main building as well.

We asked if we could change to a different room but as the hotel was fully booked, there was no chance.

On Saturday, there was a live band playing Irish music in the Bar, we went to bed just before 1:00 am but since we were only two floors up, we could hear absolutely everything. It was impossible to sleep without earplugs that night.

The food in the hotel is actually very good, we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners on the two occasions we ate in the Bar/Restaurant.
The staff were all very nice and polite.

Would we stay here again? Definitely not in the same building as room 210 is located.
We saw a couple of rooms in the main building (some of our friends were more lucky than us) the rooms/beds/bathrooms were much bigger and seemed more comfortable...
If we had one of those rooms, then maybe. I guess we were just very unlucky on this occassion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews