We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not far off perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lismore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballyrafter Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not far off perfect”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is pretty much my definition of the perfect country house style hotel. It's a beautiful house with traditional interior, but homely as apposed to museum like. The grounds are beautiful and through the trees you can see the castle. The staff/owners made us and our daughter feel extremely welcome and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. The food is simply superb and even of you're staying elsewhere or live locally I'd recommend it for meal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRichG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepi1, General Manager at Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
This review holds the record for the quickest to be posted, the Day after departure.
It was I have to say a pleasure to look after you and your family, if only all Guests were as easy to look after and to Cook for.
Your stay was brief ,but a Month would have been like a weekend .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

You'll either love or hate this place, its old country house decor is not for all, but I loved it. I found the couple who run this place to be very friendly and helpful, they had a great passion for the area which is very scenic. I arrived late the first night and the owner cooked some food for me even though the kitchen was closed, he also made fantastic sandwiches for me and guys that were fishing that were gone to early for breakfast . Its rooms are all old fashioned but when you wake up in the morning to wildlife running around the lawns it makes up for it and the walk to the village is fantastic.
I usually prefer a more modern place but this I found charming

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenandyvonne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Based in beautiful Lismore, we stayed in the Ballyrafter Hotel. Small charming place, the owner is also the chef food is fantastic, one of the best breakfasts we had on our trips around ireland and evening meals not to be missed. Rooms are large oldstyle as befits the country house. The owner actually gave us a lift the first night down to the evening, very friendly excellent host, came back to the bar in the evening, very relaxing fire, we will be returing on a yearly basis, nice place top relax and get away from things.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were booked to stay at this hotel during the local literaray festival in June. We were so well looked after in every respect: they even put an electric blanket on my bed after I mentioned that I was a little cold (even though it was June!).

The food was wonderful and the staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming to us.

Perfect spot to visit Lismore, a gorgeous town. And buy sausages at the butcher's in the main street. Dungarvon, the local bigger town, is also worth a trip.

A wonderful part of the world.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

I am sorry, but this was not what we expected from a listed hotel.
Poor service, awful food and a general lack of attention to detail. We expected a laid back ambience, but this should not be mistaken for a "do not care" attitude. Sorry folks but the pub in the town served better food and were very pleasant and eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank EnglandIreland100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

Wow, what a place. My family and I have stayed at the Ballyrafter for the last 5 years and plan to go back year after year. Why? Its quite simply the most relaxing hotel we've ever stayed in. The hosts, Joe and Noreen Willoughby excel at making you feel like you own the place! The food is excellent and probably would make michelin stars! The most friendly staff we've come across in our world travels. The rooms are all very comfortable and mix old with new as the old house contains very traditional large bedrooms with a small extension tothe rear housing several new more modern rooms. The town of Lismore is beautiful and remains a working town supporting local farming as well as the tourist trade. Plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops along with the towns remarkable history (including the amazing castle that the hotel over looks) make it ideal for a long weekend, or, if you are staying longer you have access to Waterford, Cork and so on. Each year we've been we've had sunshine and temperatures in the mid twenties or higher....but apparently this is not always the norm...never mind though the hotel bar is an excellent retreat!

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JH1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lismore
13.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
372 reviews
15.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
419 reviews
14.3 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
16.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,677 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyrafter Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyrafter Country House Hotel

Property: Ballyrafter Country House Hotel
Address: Ballyrafter, Lismore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyrafter House is perched on an elevated site opposite Lismore Castle and has a commanding view across the Blackwater River.The Property once part of Lismore Estate has retained the Charm of The 1830's whence it was Built. With modern creature comforts added over the years since first registered as a Hotel in 1966,Homely log Fires 12' ceilings and spacious rooms making it a unspoiled and uncompromised Country House Hotel.Ten Bedrooms, Residents Lounge, bright bay-windowed dining room, Conservatory and Bar Lounge to will away the worldly worries of the Busy Life in Peoples reality.'The Ballyrafter, so easy to enjoy, so hard to forget' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing