We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballyrafter Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
86
17
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
17
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslismore castleirish hospitalitylovely conservatoryspecial staycomfortable place to staybreakfast and dinnerlovely towngreat roomshort walkshort staylovely hoteljoehostsirelandroaringballysfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 106 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I like our one night here, lovely welcome, nice room, and at last a guest house with a good shower, the meal was wnderful, candle lit, low lighting, like my Great Aunts Dining room, and romantic, Joe & Noleen where quite wonderful, short walk to the town, peaceful, happy sleep!Sssh!, we dined on 'wild' Blackwater Salmon, a rare rare treat. Thank you, Ballyrafter!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfreda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had the pleasure of taking my fiancée to Ballyrafter house hotel over the weekend. We arrived at 2 o clock and were met by a lovely lady, Maureen I think, who was so genuine and warm with her welcome that I was taken aback. We stay at many hotels, usually 5 star, and I have yet to meet anyone with such an interest in her guests. We were shown to a really lovely room and told to come down to the bar for coffee. When we did, she spent ages chatting to us about tge area. She was so generous of her time that I thought we must have been the only people booked in but no, it turned out that the hotel was fully booked!
The hotel offers exactly what I thought had been lost, a true Irish welcome and the food shows how great Irish food can be when we don't try to be something we are not. I never thought I'd say how good a boiled potato could be. Our meal was a fantastic representation of Irish cooking at it's best. and again the service was better than we had ever received as it was completely genuine. You can't train this kind of service.
The bar, which admittedly initially seems dated, was a perfect place to spend the evening and the decor is actually part of it's charm. It's not trying to be something it isn't. Everyone in the bar was charting to everyone else, even though we had never met before. Joe was a perfect casual host for the evening.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to experience Irish hospitality at it's best and not the packaged Irish hospitality so prevalent in hotels around Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just stayed one night. Very pleasant reception - chatty and made feel welcome.
Lovely room but surprised not to have tea/coffee making facilities.
However the food! Eat somewhere else as it is grossly overpriced and not up to much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepi1, Manager at Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

We are very sorry to learn of your disapointment with our Evening Meal. Your consideration of €33.00 being grossly over priced is I think a little unfair. On the Evening of your stay your choice from our Menu was exactly the same as four other diners who payed nothing but compliments to the kitchen.
Regarding the Tea Tray : Are not a standard fixture in all rooms but are as notifed in each Bedroom available on request, now days is a typical Three Star system.
Hopeing you make a return visit and sample our quisine with more appetite next time.
Joe Willoughby, Prop/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

great place to stay ,only a 10 min walk to the town of lismore ,the hotel has great rooms at a good price ,the bar leads out to a nice lawn for a peaceful drink ,the place is run by a nice couple who are warm and friendly ,the kind of place you are lucky to find,will be back to stay next time i am in that part of ireland

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damonprobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We had an excellent stay in Ballyrafter House in early May 2011. We were made very much at home the minute we arrieved. The staff could no be more courtieous and efficient. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djd_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepi1, Owner at Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

It was indeed a pleasure to facilitate such a Happy Group of People despite the Irish Rainy Days during your stay, the Hearth of the Open Fire in the Residents Lounge never cooled down and was we hope a comfort while concentrating on Crosswords on The Times and enjoying The Punchestown Race Festival in the Afternoon.
A window in the weather came on your last day which we hope gave a opportunity to see Lismore Castle Gardens and get in some walks by the Blackwater.
While this is a annual Trip some where in Ireland ,please remember us for some other occasion in the future.
Joe, Noreen Willoughby & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews