We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery

Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Owner description: Lismore Castle Gardens and Gallery are situated on the edge of the heritage town of Lismore, the proud winner of numerous Tidiest Town awards. Visitors are invited to wander in the historic gardens, arranged over seven acres within the 17th century outer defensive walls of Lismore Castle. The gardens are said to be the oldest continually cultivated gardens in Ireland and they offer spectacular views of both Lismore castle and the surrounding countryside of the Blackwater valley. Featuring a wide variety of beautifully maintained plants and trees, as well as a permanent sculpture collection, Lismore Castle Gardens is one of the highlights of The Waterford Garden Trail, which includes fifteen gardens around Co. Waterford. Please note the castle itself is a private residence and is therefore not open to visitors. Entry to the garden includes access to the contemporary art gallery, Lismore Castle Arts, which hosts exhibitions of Irish and international artists. There is also a small refreshment counter and a reading room, plus art materials available for children. Visitors might also enjoy other attractions located within walking distance of the gardens. These include Lismore Cathedral, the Heritage Centre and Lady Louisa's walk, as well as a number of bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. Please note due to the historic nature of the gardens and the naturally steep terrain of the ground, there are some unavoidable limitations on access for visitors who use a wheelchair or are less mobile. The gallery, Lismore Castle Arts, is occasionally closed for installation of temporary exhibitions, please contact us for full details.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Pretty place to visit if only the weather was better! There's a famers market and a nice play ground for the kids close by.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    58
    22
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a must see in Lismore. Would recommend the gardens. Not open all year round though, so when they are, definitely put it on your list. You get to see a different view of the castle also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Closed on Monday's in high season !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Travelled from Galway to see these gardens, but closed on Monday's ! I know I should have checked first but surely the end of July is high season for both gardens and tourists ! so disappointed

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jayGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LismoreDirector, General Manager at Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your comment. The decision to close on Monday's this season was taken for a number of reasons and we did endeavour to fully communicate this to potential visitors, but that has not always been possible. We're currently undertaking a review of our season dates and times for 2013 and will bear in mind your comment.
Hopefully this has not put you off a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Would have been nice to see the House too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The gardens are pleasant and the gallery is interesting but youd need to be a keen gardener to get value from your visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LismoreDirector, General Manager at Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Gardens and Gallery. The house itself remains a private family home and is not open to the public, something we endeavour to communicate to potential visitors.
We hope to welcome you back to Lismore in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clonmel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“very steep steps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

The lower garden makes a very pleasant walk, with some attractive specimen trees,especially the Rhododenrons,whilst the upper walled garden shows how a vegetable garden should be laid out and maintained.Gives a nice idea of the lifestyle of the past & present Castle owners.The art exhibition was of modern abstract sculptures which I know to be by an important artist, but to me was a bit like the "emperor's new clothes"' Beautiful gallery though. I did notice an advertisement for 2nd June of an evenings opera & picnic featuring the Barber of Seville, in the castle and that would be something else.One problem I found was the really steep steps going to the upper garden, and these would be too difficult for some older visitors.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank noel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LismoreDirector, General Manager at Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Gardens and Gallery. As you will have gleaned, the Gardens were largely designed in the 16th Century over a site that undulates by more than 20 metres from the Lower to the Upper Gardens. Whilst we do try to accommodate all types of visitors we do recognise that the Gardens are not suitable for less able visitors. Work continues to improve this situation.
We hope to welcome you back to Lismore in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery also viewed

Lismore, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
County Waterford, Province of Munster
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Lismore Castle Gardens & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing