We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions!”

Foley's on the Mall
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Foley's on the Mall is a Gastro Pub and Restaurant located in Lismore, Ireland. We are open 7 days a week with food service from 12:30-8:30pm daily. Come in for a pint in our old Irish bar or join your friends for a meal in either our restaurant or outdoor seating area that can be used year round.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Passing through Lismore on our way to Kinsale, we stopped here for a bite to eat. We'd parked the car and were walking through town looking for a very late lunch. We headed into a bar that turned out not to have food but two local women were exiting at the same time and recommended Foley's which was where they were headed as well. It appeared that only one waitress/bartender was working, perhaps due to the hour (3:30pm on a Thursday afternoon) so it took a while for service, but we were enjoying our conversation with the local women. I just had a bowl of mushroom soup that was excellent. My husband ordered an entree that was way more than he could finish - it was a two-course meal of soup, then a very large portion of lamb and potatoes, but the serving size was monstrous! He couldn't finish half of it (in hindsight he said he should have had just the soup or just the entree). However, that said, the meals were very good and the prices reasonable, especially for the amount of food that he received. Guinness and Smithwicks were a nice accompaniment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fourkids4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    44
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A fabulous meal!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Decisions, decisions. I wanted to try everything on the menu. I wish I had been in Lismore longer to return to try some more of their menu choices. I settled for chicken, bacon and mushroom tagliatelli in a cream sauce and wasn't disappointed. There was no room for dessert however in spite of being tempted by at least five choices displayed on the blackboard, any of which I would otherwise have enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DublinSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgooly, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Poor service”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently ate in this establishment mainly due to the good reviews it received here. On a positive note the food we received was excellent and there was plenty of choice on offer. The place looks interesting and quirky. However the service we experienced was very poor. We arrived at 3pm and within a reasonable time frame we put in our order. 30 mins later there was still no food, on questionning this a young waitress told us in an offhand and brusque manner that due to the lunch hour rush there was a delay with the food. There were only a couple of people there and most were eating desert. Once we had eaten our meal we had to seek out the same waitress to order tea and desert. She appeared totally disinterested in us and, again, there was an undue delay receiving the food. When the desert came out there wasn't enough spoons for us all, having asked the waitress for one she reached out across her counter and one of our party had to half stand up out of the chair to reach for the spoon. The waitress's attitude really spoilt the whole experience for us and we are still talking about our day out several weeks later for the wrong reason. A pity.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful Freshly Cooked Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently had occasion to dine in Foleys on the Mall and can assure you we'll be back. The food is stunning - wonderfully fresh and cooked to order - and the staff are friendly, professional and eager to please. In addition, they've a lovely bar area to while away the time waiting for a table !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crab and Prawn Salad to die for!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Lovely simple and fresh food at very reasonable prices. The crab and prawn salad (large portion) was wonderful. Beautiful pesto dressing on the salad and lots of crabmeat and prawns. We also had the Chicken wrap which was lovely but the crab salad was the winner! Good selection of wines by the glass. Michael, the owner is a wonderful host and is keen To ensure a warm welcome for all his guests. We will definitely return. Many thanks. John and Martina

Helpful?
1 Thank fintrabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foley's on the Mall also viewed

Lismore, County Waterford
Lismore, County Waterford
 
Lismore, County Waterford
Lismore, County Waterford
 
Lismore, County Waterford
 

Been to Foley's on the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing