We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable well worth doing”

Waterford & Suir Valley Railway
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Kilmeaden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magic of rails golden age has been brought to life in Kilmeadan, Co Waterford. Experience the beauty of the Suir Valley from a narrow gauge railway in partially open period carriages as you take in the panoramic views of the river and rolling farmland. This is an area rich in history and only accessible by train. Great fun for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable well worth doing”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a fun and relaxing trip on this quaint little train the scenery was fantastic, the kids on the train were having great fun and enjoying every minute the staff were just fantastic so friendly and relaxed with all the visitors this is well worth visiting and is enjoyable for both kids and adults alike the train goes on the hour and there is ample parking

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gergallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited the railway today after picking up a leaflet at another local attraction and decided to give it a go as our young son loves trains. On arrival the staff were very friendly and the ticket office / cafe in an old rail carriage is a nice touch. Unfortunately the train ride itself is very disappointing. There isn't anything of note to see and as someone else pointed out they could do with a commentary maybe or signs as the (underwhelming) points of interest were easy to miss. This isn't a steam train just a rickety old carriage which goes very slowly up a straight track (main road on one side) and then back again. If I'm honest I was bored after a few minutes and in no hurry to stick around afterwards. A real shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthWestSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenderry, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Family Experience...”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A good Family experience, would have liked sign posts or something along the track to let you know you are approaching a point of interest i.e Fairy section etc.. Otherwise very easy to miss
Our Daughter did get a bit bored near the end but looking forward to Mickey Mouse was enough to keep her distracted.
Leave this activity for a good weather day, and it will be lovely for all and Tramore is only down the road for afterwards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Attraction for kids and adults alike”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited here last week. This was a well run attraction and the kids and adults alike loved it. All the staff were so friendly and took the time to chat to the kids. Lovely 40 minute trip along the banks of the River Suir. Remember to keep an eye out for the Fairy houses.
Had a picnic at the benches provided on the Platform on our return. great coffee from the dining car restaurant & gift shop

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Conhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A Real Chill Out”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a lovely relaxing hour after a busy morning sightseeing. We were so glad that we decided to go for a trip on the little train it is so nice as you trundle along the track beside the river in the little train which was used in the excavation of the Channel Tunnel.It was fortunate that the tide was half out and there were wading birds and swans along the river plus an owl taking his daytime rest in one of the trees everything was very green and lush along the track.On arrival there happened to be some very jolly gentlemen there who were full of the Blarney and having a good laugh with us which was nice and they gave us blankets to put over our legs as we wanted to sit in the part of the train which was not completely covered in so it was good fun.There is a short slope to walk down to the train but then it is all level and I am sure it would be possible to take a car the few yards down the slope if necessary. They have converted an old railway carriage into a snack bar and there are clean level toilets. This would be lovely for young children if they have had to endure a morning of shopping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford & Suir Valley Railway also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford & Suir Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing