We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to come back to again and again”
Review of Hanora's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanora's Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in hanoras cottage numerous times over the last two years. Such is the draw of the place. Located in the thick of the comeragh mountains this place is quite unique. The staff are extremely friendly and make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious and cosy and possibly the quietest rooms in the country. Ask for a room with a jacuzzi for maximum relaxation. The food never disappoints. The menu is set at 40 euro per person and that is for three courses. Stay for two nights and take a look walk in the countryside. You'll definitely feel rejuvenated after a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanora's C, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi Amihill,
It was great to have you with us again and thank you for your lovely review. Yes, the Nire Valley is a place of unique beauty and perfect for a total "switch off"!
We always look forward to having you with us at Hanoras and hope to see you again soon.
Mary & All here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 248 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Hanora's Cottage is a real jem,the genuine service and welcome is second to none.Mary and all the staff are lovely people. Breakfast was great with the best selection of fruit i have seen .You are welcome to make a packed lunch for an afternoon trek.We had dinner in the restaurant which was really good .Location is really special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniesligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoinwall72, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Anniesligo!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review.
Hanoras Cottage is our home and we are delighted that you considered it your home while you were here.
Please come again, we would be delighted to have you with us.
Best regards, Mary, Eoin, Judith, Ina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here after doing the Comeragh Bogtrot and it was the perfect place to rest up after a long days trek in the rain. The rooms were really lovely and the jacuzzi bath was most welcome. We ate in the restaurant too and the food was very nice. The service was was excellent and the staff are very nice. I think one of the highlights for me was the breakfast. it was delicious and we were very excited when we walked in and saw the array of lovely, fruit, scones, cheeses along with a choice of hot breakfast. We were completely relaxed on leaving and between it and the trek we had a wonderful weekend in the nire valley.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bongodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoinwall72, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you very much for such a lovely, heartwarming review of our home.
It was a pleasure to have both of you with us at Hanoras.
Delighted that you were so pleased with the Bogtrot, the Nire Valley and, of course, Hanoras.
We look forward to having you back with us again.
Mary, Eoin, Judith & Ina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having spent a wonderful 3 day break with Mary, Eoin and Judith I really can't add to the very positive reviews already submitted except to say that my husband, who is a coeliac, has never before been catered for so well. We gave Mary advance notice of his needs, and during our stay he must have had a choice of 5 or 6 breads, all homemade, muesli or porridge for
breakfast and muffins for the packed lunch. Meals were also adapted if necessary.
Thank you all.
Susan, Dublin13.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank massey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoinwall72, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so very much for your comments.
We were delighted to have your group with us at Hanoras Cottage, your support is greatly appreciated by all of us. Your husbands dietary needs were no problem at all, it was a pleasure to look after him.
All the team at Hanoras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hanora's Cottage is a very special venue where, from the moment we arrived, we were treated like VIP's. The welcome is very genuine and evident. At every turn, we are asked if we would like tea or coffee and charming areas abound for sitting and chatting, including one with an open fire.

Dinner was spectacular, mushroom treat in a glass, magnificent seafood cakes, well done steak (I know, I know) that was really tender, with a rich mushroom sauce accompaniment and red cabbage and carrots with creamy mash. Desserts were superb and the home made nature of every bite we had in our too short 24 hour visit was simply amazing. I had meringue nest - with berries and butterscotch sauce.

I thought it could not get any better until we had breakfast. We had a vote as to whether the porridge was porridge or rice pudding - the best porridge I ever had. The array of fresh fruits were unsurpassable. Raspberries, strawberries, melon, pineapple, bananas, apples, oranges and the rest. Home made bread loaves - both brown and white with brown and white scones. Fabulous chocolate and berry muffins all beautifully presented for good measure. Cheese, meats and smoked salmon to beat the band. And yes, that was before the full Irish. Hanora's has many breakfast awards on the walls and it is easy to see why.

I have never experienced 24 hours like the 24 hours I was here. It might be usual to find great breakfast or great dinner - both the hospitality and culinary skills here surpass anything I have experienced. Check it out..
We had a wonderful short break. And we will be back. Mary, Ina, Judith and Eoin - thank you thank you thank you...

Room Tip: Stay longer than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoinwall72, Manager at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Martha, What can we say to your "amazing" review of Hanoras Cottage! we are bowled over!
Thank you and the girls so very much for being with us, it was our great pleasure to look after you and we appreciated your support very much.
We hope that you will plan another re-union soon and that we might be lucky enough to be the venue.
Mary, Eoin, Judith, Ina & all at Hanoras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

If your looking for a typical Irish get away stay in wonderful surroundings & outstanding hospitality then I recommend Hanora's cottage, the cosy surroundings, very comfortable rooms & the best breakfast you could possibly wish for,thanks again Mary & family ... Kim&family :)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoinwall72, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for being with us in the depths of winter.
We now look forward to your "annual pilgrimmage" to the Nire Valley every December.
You will always be most welcome to Hanoras Cottage.
Mary & all the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

To Mary, Eoin, Ina & Judith. Thank you for an unforgettable stay. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble for you guys to make us feel welcome. The Rooms are perfect and comfortable, and the breakfast...well...(we are still full up from that) It was great to catch up and we cannot wait to stay with you next year. 2 nights just wasn't enough. Supping tea with home made muffins (thanks to Eoin) in front of the roaring fire in the sitting room was bliss. So if you are looking for a traditional B&B out in the countryside, with fantastic facilities and amazing food, surrounded by the beauty of the Nire Valley and the river, then Hanora's Cottage is definitely the place for you. (you will not regret it)
Thanks again guys,
Much love, Fawn, Kim, Jan & Kelly

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic so you will not be disappointed which ever room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoinwall72, Owner at Hanora's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you Fawn for such a lovely review.
Glad that you all got home safe and well and hope that the journey was not too much for Jan.
It was great to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit to Hanoras Cottage where there will always be a welcome for you.
Mary, Eoin, Judith & Ina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanora's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanora's Cottage

Address: Nire Valley, Ballymacarbry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ballymacarbry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymacarbry
Price Range: $132 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanora's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoras Cottage
Hanora's Cottage Ireland/Ballymacarbry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing