We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ard Na Ciuin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyduff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ard Na Ciuin
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballyduff B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Second trip down to this fantastic b&b on another fishing trip and again the help and hospitality were excellent. The accomadation, the food, the friendly atmosphere is perfect for a visit to this special place. Really enjoyed it.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OfftheH00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Lovely guesthouse, proprietors very friendly and welcoming, had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Rooms spotlessly clean, as was the whole house, beds very comfortable. Can recommend their Thursday Pizza Night - homemade and absolutely delicious. Go to see The Booley House which is performed every Wednesday evening throughout July and August in the village hall in Ballyduff - a good evenings entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We visited for a week in July 2010 and were so happy with everything. The guest house is fantastic and very clean and luxurious but also very homely. Trevor and Lynette are so friendly and welcoming - they really made us feel at home. The food was also lovely - home made pizza one night, yum! The grounds are stunning and the views are outstanding. This was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever been on and we shall definitely be returning. I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone, it truly is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The location and scenary is beautiful, and the guest house is suberb, clean and very luxurious.. What makes Ard na Ciuin stand out however is the hospitality and genuine regard for your comfort exhibited by the owners., Trevor and Lynette. This is a 5 star guest house with the emphasis on GUEST and fantastic value. The breakfast menu is amazing and those muffins are to die for!!!! I can't wait to get back!!!

Thank you again Trevor and Lynette for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dympnaWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Ard Na Ciuin - We stayed here for one week in July 2010 and had the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday thanks to the (a) breathtaking location (b) attentive but unobtrusive service from Trevor and Lynette (c) pristine condition of our room (d) soporific sleeping conditions (ultra thick mattresses with pillow toppers and the most comfortable pillow I have ever laid my head upon) in tranquil, relaxed environment (e) mouth watering, home cooked breakfast with choices of full irish, omelettes, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, pancakes - or basically just ask Trev or Lynette for what you would like (f) not to mention the daily basket of freshly baked chocolate and banana muffins (g) and you can have breakfast at any time from really early up to about 11 a.m. (h) large and welcoming lounge with huge TV (sky plus) for guests and the most breathtaking views across county Waterford.
We were lucky enough to be around for the Cork -v- Waterford hurling match and went into the village of Ballyduff to one of the pubs, An Sibin, where the atmosphere was electric - and everyone was so friendly and the Guinness was silky smooth.
A great place to explore the south of Ireland - so many places within a relatively short drive including the old favourite, the Blarney Stone!
I could go on (and on and on) but then I did kiss the old Blarney Stone....
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed here on the May bank holiday as we wanted to check out Lismore and the surrounding area. I don't usually review B&B's in Ireland as they are all pretty much the same. However this one is different:

1. They email you directions and info when you make a booking (and have free wi-fi during your stay)
2. Tourist info pack in each room with spare copies of each page you can take with you
3. Breakfast is optional so if you want a lie-in or are on a tight budget you can keep your costs down
4. Comfortable for hanging out - great lounge area (log fire, sky+) and excellent beds
5. Outdoor hot tub and indoor pool - pay as you go so don't use them if you don't want to


Trevor and Lynn are the perfect hosts for running a B&B and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. We fully enjoyed our stay and hope to go back again later this summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugster2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Trevor, Lynnette and their B&B, Ard Na Ciuin.Their kindness and hospitality were exemplary, the breakfast was huge and delicious with home-baked muffins every morning, and the room was large, modern, and spotless. We were greeted with a hearty welcome and fantastic homemade"Oatie" cookies and tea when we arrived in the afternoon. They love taking care of people and it shows. Their farm is on top of a hillside with beautiful vistas and walks right out the front door. It is incredibly quiet and restful. The town of Ballyduff down the hill has four pubs, all very welcoming to new folks with traditional music jam sessions often. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixieBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyduff
8.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
105 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lismore House Hotel
Lismore House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lismore
186 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ballyvolane House
Ballyvolane House
#1 of 2 in Fermoy
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#1 of 3 in Cappoquin
108 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyville House
Abbeyville House
#1 of 8 in Fermoy
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Na Ciuin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Ciuin

Property: Ard Na Ciuin
Address: Toornageeha, Ballyduff ROI 123, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ballyduff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyduff
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Ciuin is an idyllic rural retreat with facilities unique to the region. Learn to swim, find new direction, or just relax and recover in peaceful, holistic surroundings. Enjoy our warm welcome and our first class service. After the perfect night's sleep, far from traffic noise and away from the 'rat race' wake up to incredible views across the Blackwater valley and beyond. Savour delicious home cooking made with fresh seasonal ingredients produced right here on our organically run 15 acre homestead. Take time to explore the area or stay close to home and develop new life skills, safe in the hands of our experts. With forest trails and mountain views right on our doorstep you won't need to walk far to find inspiration and nature at its best. Family run, we know the true meaning of hospitality and we'll ensure your stay feels like a "home from home without having to lift a finger!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing