We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***Amazing***”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltcoats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochwood Farm Steading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the log cabin for one night in May.

It has to be the most romantic thing we have ever done. The log cabin is set on the farm and has breath taking views of the Ayrshire coast.

The log cabin its self really deserves its 5*s every home comfort you can ask for with the biggest bed you may ever sleep in.

With the log cabin you also get a private hot tub which we spent most of our time in with champagne and strawberries.

The log cabin is beside the cow shed but you totally forget its there and there is NO smell at all from it. You wouldn't even think it was a working farm its so peaceful.

Elaine the owner is so lovely and helpful and her breakfasts are wonderful (you have to try the black pudding still makes my mouth water thinking about it)

My only complaint is.......we had to leave and come home :(

I don't think we will ever book into a hotel again if we are getting away without the kids I would not even look around I would just book the log cabin without a shadow of doubt. I cant wait to go back again and I will book 2 nights next time.

Its worth every penny and then some

the most amazing second honeymoon you will ever have.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkjacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed all the little extras like the complimentary Cava, the sweets, chocolates, nuts etc that we put into the suite. The views from the outdoor jacuzzi hot tub are amazing and it is such a great place to sit and relax (despite the terrible weather that we have been having this year !). We do hope that you will come back soon for another visit and of course please feel free to book the Log Cabin. Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review, it is very much appreciated. Best wishes, Elaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 100 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2008

We really enjoyed our night at this farm. Elaine was very welcoming and helpful with our ferry booking for the next day. The breakfast was probably the best we had in our two weeks in the UK. Every was charming and clean and relaxing. I highly recommend it, even if it is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jmjarmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Myself and my partner have visited Lochwood Farm twice now in Oct 2007 and Valentines 2008 both times for 3 nights. We stayed in the log cabin and it is stunning!! It has everything you could want and a spa jacuzzi outside which is perfect for a cold night!! The decor is beautiful, every room is designed to the highest standard and it is spotlessly clean. The bed is amazing, a beautiful hand crafted wooden bed and it is huge. Could not fault a single thing about this place and the owners are extremely nice and are really helpful and make you feel at home. You can go on a B&B basis or self catering if you stay 3 or more nights. This place is really special to us now and we will be going back Oct/Nov time this year again as it is such a lovely place. Just perfect!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scotschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed as a family in Lochview Farm Steading for 2 nights and cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you could need and there are excellent public areas with comfortable sofas and full SKY on the televisions.
The attention to detail is just superb from the toilet holders matching the bathroom tiles to the lovely Marks and Spencers bedlinen to the borders biscuit selection...
And they are actually improving the whole stay experience by offering very romantic spacious suites , titled bed of roses and champagne and chocolate etc I imagine that these are going to be seriously good places to bring a loved one.
I have left the best to last- THE BREAKFAST - this breakfast deserved every award- and there are many - that it has won. From the brillant porridge to the specials to the scottish breakfast it was just superb- try it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fibiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

If you are looking for a luxuary romantic getaway then this is the place for you.
Lochwood farm is a working farm that has bed and breakfast or self catering.
We stayed for a week self catering in the log cabin and did not want to come home.
Its everything that you could wish for. Beautiful setting, lovely owners that will be there for you as much or as little as you want them to be.
As we stayed in the log cabin I can only comment on that aspect of Lochwood Farm but if the rest of the accomodation is anything to go by you will not be dissapointed.
The Log Cabin is set away from the farm so its lovely and privite, beautifully decorated with everything you need. Fabulous hot tub!
Elaine and her husband have big plans for future developments so be sure to check out their website for new apartments.
There are loads of pics and full details on their website so be sure to check it out. Just put Lochwood farm steading in the search engine and it will find it for you!
Any questions please email me, I would be happy to help.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherrydrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vero_vacher2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lochwood Farm Steading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochwood Farm Steading

Address: Saltcoats KA21 6NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Saltcoats
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saltcoats
Hotel Class:5 star — Lochwood Farm Steading 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, romantic five star Scottish Bed and Breakfast. Perfect for a relaxing and peaceful getaway in the countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochwood Farm Steading Saltcoats, Scotland - Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing