We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to write a review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochwood Farm Steading

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltcoats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochwood Farm Steading
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Had to write a review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful B&B in 2005, tripadvisor was not so popular then so all I could do was to recommend it to all my friends and hope that one day I would return.
Recommend it I did, return is still a dream and hopefully will come true.
Was iving in Inverness at the time, and it was such a wonderful getaway, went to eat at Braidswoods restaurant, the owner of the B&B even gave us a lift and I remember seeing plenty of lambs running aounr the car.
The log cabin was not built at the time, but the outdoor spa was there and our room was really well apponted.
Breakfast was excellent, had the best porridge ever!
I really hope that one day we can go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We too hope that you will manage to make a return visit. In the meantime, thank you once again. We really appreciate what you have written.

thanks
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent a fantastic weekend at this beautifully situated place where all your needs are thought of before you think of them yourself! Breakfast a must, especially the porridge and the black pudding! Hot tub looking out toward Arran is a wonderful way to while away time in this great place to unwind and relax!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russell_baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
First of all my sincere apologies for taking so long to reply. It has taken me a long time to work out how to do it ! Secondly, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your comments and we are so glad that you had a nice time here.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you again one day.
thanks again
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights after our sons wedding.Accomodation/food and Elaine the owner were all first class.The hot tub was amazing with the stunning views over the countryside.
We stayed in the bed of roses suite and there were lots of little extras that were a lovely surprise.
We would recommend staying for any occasion and will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: All accommodation available dependant on your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Let me apologize for taking so long to reply. It took me a long time to work out how to do it ! Thank you for your lovely comment, it is greatly appreciated and for taking the time to make it. We do hope that you will stay here with us again.
thanks
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a wonderful B& B this is. We stayed in the Log cabin which was a great retreat for when we returned from being drowned in Scotlands recent bad weather spell. Elaine goes out of her way to make all her guests welcome and the little touches such as sweets and biscuits in the room and always having a "special" on for breakfast utilising her undoubted cooking skillls. Of course the Hot tub helps as well! We didn't see the other rooms but are sure they will be just as good. Great place for romantic couples and of course being a working farm for the kids too.

Room Tip: Just talk your need through with Elaine when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and my sincere apologies for taking so long to reply. We are delighted that you had a great stay here with us and we hope that you will return one day. Thank you once again, we really do appreciate your comments. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Only found this as it was on a link at Braidwoods Restaurant - the primary reason for our visit. However, glad we choose to stay here. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the standard rooms - think it was the sheep pen! Although small it had a very comfortable bed and linen plus an ensuite with a shower.

The 1st night we ate in. My wife had a lovely chicken dish and I had pork. Both were extremely well cooked and presented. You can tell Elaine has paid attention at the many cook schools she has attended!! There is no licence for alchohol sales but Elaine chilled the wine that we had brought. The following night we ate at Braidwoods and Elaine kindly drove us there. The taxi trip back is only about £10.

Breakfast - nothing I can add to earlier reviews other than to say it is fantastic. Whether you choose the 'Pig Out' option or one of the specials you will not be disappointed. All served with fresh juice, tea, coffee, home made bread, etc.

We spoke with other couples at breakfast and the lodges with hot tubs proved to be very popular. Perhaps next time....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and my sincere apologies for taking so long to reply. We are delighted that you had a great stay here. The Sheep Pen room is 'no more !'. It is on the list of rooms to be renovated into a suite. This is our plan of works for Lochwood Farm Steading, to only offer suites to our guests giving everyone a wonderful, relaxing time. Our suppers that you also enjoyed will begin again later on in the year so I do hope that you will come back and stay here and try one of the suites. Thanks again. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

The breakfast is fantastic, and Elaine is quite attentive in her work, the breakfast is in a sort of A La Carte! It is varied everyday...its not as the others always bacon eggs and sausages! The food is well presented and also if you want you can dine in the evening with a fraction of the price and believe me it looks and tastes good!.
Will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillerih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted that you had a great stay here and especially enjoyed the breakfast. We do try to be different from other B&Bs and offer lots of choice but more importantly, good quality local produce. Please do come and stay here with us again. Thanks again. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

From the minute I arrive at Lochwood all my cares melt away because I know I'm in for total rest, relaxation and the best breakfast this side of, well, EVER!

Elaine is the perfect hostess and greets you like a long lost friend from the outset. Elaine is the creator of the now legendary breakfasts. I tell you, you haven't eaten until you've had one. She should be Michelin starred for these babies. They're incredible.

But apart from the food, the accommodation is fantastic. The log cabin has everything you could wish for, including what Elaine describes as a fairytale bed. Can I tell you, it totally is! I feel like a princess sleeping in it. It's huge and comfortable and just downright special. And the bathroom, oh the bathroom! With the rolltop bath and the luxurious underfloor heating. You really couldn't ask for more.

When the hot-tub, that you can almost fall out of bed into, gets a bit too relaxing for you there are always DVDs and games to entertain yourself with and all the other comforts of home. That is, without any of the added stresses and strains.

We've been numerous times and I can't see that ever, ever changing. We absolutely adore this place (can you tell?) and Elaine. See you soon :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwoodfarm, Owner at Lochwood Farm Steading, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your comments and the fact that you come back time and time again ! Thank you once again and hope to see you soon. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltcoats
5.9 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
26.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
61.2 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.1 mi away
Redlands Country Lodge
Redlands Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladybank
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
89.2 mi away
The Hideaway Experience
79.2 mi away
Balmeadowside Country Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochwood Farm Steading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochwood Farm Steading

Property: Lochwood Farm Steading
Address: Saltcoats KA21 6NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Saltcoats
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saltcoats
Hotel Class:5 star — Lochwood Farm Steading 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, romantic five star Scottish Bed and Breakfast. Perfect for a relaxing and peaceful getaway in the countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochwood Farm Steading Saltcoats, Scotland - Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing