We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay as a base to explore further afield”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltcoats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Oxon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay as a base to explore further afield”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in August and to be fair the actual caravan was fine. Nothing special but after all it is a caravan you are booking so what do you expect. It was very clean and tidy and well equipped and spacious enough, could have done with some drawer space or shelves in the wardrobe rather than just hanging space. Also on arrival 2 light bulbs were not working so the bedroom and hall area were in complete darkness at night, this should have been checked before arrivals I feel. The boiler did break down 3 times in our 5 day stay but the staff came out and fixed it right away and were very friendly. The actual park is not very pretty and I feel that a lot could be done to improve the approach to the park and the general areas to make it look a lot more appealing it was like driving into an industrial estate and just looked run down. The beach is reached by going over a rusty railway bridge, the first part of the beach you first hit is very dirty (strewn with rubbish) and needs a very big clean up, which if they did it could be quite pleasant as there are some fantastic views out to sea and across to the islands and down by the seafront over the first block of stones/rock pools is nice if you ignore the rubbish higher up the beach. There is a pool onsite which is clean but basic and looking a bit tired, but they do run some interesting extras like water zorbing etc that the kids enjoyed. Dissapointing that there is no restaurant on site and the bar and arcade area felt grubby and needed some updating. We used it mainly as a base and that was fine as there are some lovely areas of Scotland to explore within a short drive.

Room Tip: I would not book anything below gold plus as a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    138
    96
    77
    102
See reviews for
419
76
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wouldn't have put an animal in the caravan we were sent to. No nets, no draught excluders, no gas initially, the rooms were filthy, no space in wardrobe for clothes, one bedroom absolutely wreaked of sweat. THE WHOLE CARAVAN PARK IS ON AN INDUSTRIAL SITE AT THE SIDE OF A WORKING THROUGH HE NIGHT TRAIN LINE.
Only received bad service in the form of an argument from a stroppy know it all junior member of staff who's words were ' well you will book basic ! Never again with Scotland, never again with this company. POOR POOR POOR !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clio2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I’d like to ascertain when you stayed with us and where you were located on park, in order to look at this thoroughly? Were you based in one of our caravans or a private let? Do you know who it was you spoke to regarding your stay? We don’t have any ‘Junior’ members of staff, so would like to ascertain who this was. We aren’t located on or near an industrial site so are a bit confused by this. We’re located on the coast road close by to the town of Saltcoats with the beach on one side and a golf course on the other. If you would like to contact me directly on 01294 469411 we can discuss in more detail. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saltcoats hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

just returned home from a weeks holiday at Sandylands Caravan Park and must say it was fantastic. The site was very clean and well kept as was the caravan 358 that we stayed in. Swimming pool was great. Best of all was the entertainment staff Rick, Tasha, Becca, Joanne, Paul they were just brilliant with kids and adults. They performed some great shows and were working every night these guys are a credit to Park Resorts and deserve a medal. Many Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday and will be back next year.
From
Barry, Gail, Brandon Wedgwood and Judy the dog.
P.S. Sparky, Sparkle and Naarky were so funny
Thanks again everyone at Sandylands

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked a weeks stay at this resort it was run down as was the town of Saltcoates. We stayed in the touring section our first problem was a broken beer bottle which we asked to be removed before we could set up, the pitches were really close together and the back of the caravan was against the 8foot metal fence where the train line ran all hours of the day and night not only were we woken by sounds of trains but the whole caravan shook when a train passed. Not many families on the site considering it was school holidays mainly single men who were working at the nearby power plant which was the view from the grotty beach. Not to mention the approach to the park which was past a slaughter house. The hi light
of the week was packing up and leaving.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay at this horrific site. I should have been staying 4 nights but couldn't bare it a moment longer.
No facilities at all for children.
No restaurant.
The staff have no personality and the whole place needs knocking down. It's disgusting that it's allowed to call itself a holiday park. This is one sure way to reduce the countries overcrowding issue in Her Majesty prisons.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am so sorry to read this, particularly that you believe the team at Sandylands have no personality. :o( We receive great feedback about our team on the S Factor forms completed by other holidaymakers during their visit.

We have long been established as an extremely popular and busy holiday park. Among the facilities for children are: the swimming pool, the toddlers pool, a full children’s activity sports programme including snorkelling, aqua tots, blading and water walkers. We have a full children’s entertainment programme including the Sparky & Sparkle kids club, pool competitions, the 11 o’clock challenge, Triple A afternoons and a full evening events programme for the whole family. We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from a week at Sandylands, booked a bargain deal with a bronze caravan so wasnt expecting much but the caravan was immaculate, had everything we needed, great pitch near the entertainment . The site wasnt amazing but it doesnt claim to be and is great as a base for getting out and exploring. Saltcoats itself was a bit disappointing, especially the market which we looked forward to to find was a few gazebos in a car park but to its credit Morrison's, Aldi, Lidl, Asda and Sainsburys all within 5 minutes in the car, lots of takeouts and a huge local wetherspoons although we never managed to stop for a pint.
People commented on the trainline, although we live next to one at home so are used to this we werent disturbed at all by the noise. The beach wasnt what we are used to at home but then we are spoilt by the beaches in Northumberland but was clean enough and just typically scottish with lots of seaweed and pebbles but still plenty of places to settle in the sand and go for a plodge. The bridge to the beach is rusty and basic but its a shortcut so does it matter? not easy with a pushchair though but we managed. The abbatoir next door was never an issue, its just a big building where people work, i bet those who complained dont have a problem eating the products from it.
The entertainment is not as good as Haven in fact it was dead this week as the scottish children are back to school but the staff persevered, were always friendly and good with the kids trying to get them involved. The pool is small but fine for a splash about with the kids especially if you head there early for opening!
We found a lovely park and cliff top if you head towards Stevenston when you come out the park and head right along the coast rather than through the houses. Great for flying our kite, running round with the kids and the park to ourselves.
We had a lovely trip out to Eglinton Country Park, has a great park for the kids, some nice walks but better when the sun is shining.
I can recommend a pub called The Keys in nearby Irvine, all meals are £5 and although not an extensive menu the food is lovely, the specials are all included and you can get 3 courses for £10. Staff were lovely and lovely views over the harbour.
Even when it chucked it down we utilised good old Google and found a local soft play in Irvine called Creepy Crawlies, super clean, great food and snacks, not very expensive and even better quiet with all the children in school.
We spent a day up at loch lomond and loch long, only an hours drive away and although we didnt go Glasgow is only 30 mins away in the car.
All in all had a lovely time, the site might not be a haven or full of activities but there was enough to keep us and the kids entertained, friendly staff and great place to explore the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeygrenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The caravan was of an average standard. It was quite mix and match with the accessories in the caravan. The pull out bed couldn't be used as it smelt damp. We took our two small dogs with us but had to pay quite a lot extra for this privalige which I think was wrong. There is no way it cost the amount that we paid extra to clean the caravan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltcoats
4.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
14.6 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: James Miller Crescent | Auchenharvie Park, Saltcoats KA21 5JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Saltcoats
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saltcoats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Saltcoats
Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts Saltcoats, Scotland - Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing