We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Food!”
Review of Motherland Spice

Motherland Spice
Reserve with OpenTable
Motherland Spice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Saltcoats
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Motherland Spice is a family run restaurant started in 2012. Since opening we have been highly successful because of our unique, authentic Indian & Nepalese cuisine. Motherland Spice has brought expert chefs from India & Nepal to bring the real taste of authentic cuisne in Britain. We are famous in Scotland for our 'Chicken Tikka Baja' and 'Lamb Tawa' dishes and are proud to be the only restaurant in Scotland to serve these two dishes. We also specialise in our South-Indian cuisine. At Motherland Spice we like to think of our food as a journey, one during which we can take you places which will excite, places you might not have thought of going, but ones you will enjoy once you get there. Our menu takes you on a trip from the ultra-cool slopes of the Everest to the fiery plains of Madras, from the lush valleys of Swat to the bountiful Indian Ocean, with more than several stops along the way.
Blantyre, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited this Restaurant for the first time having read some good reviews here on tripadvisor. We ordered a takeaway which included a selection of pakora starters and a selection of lamb curries for our main meal. The food was very enjoyable, fresh ingredients, generous portions. The service was friendly and although we were only in the area for a short visit we'd recommend this restaurant and hope to visit it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastWest37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    27
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and hospitality”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited last night for the first time with the kids, We were greeted with a smile by the owner and found him to be very friendly and welcoming,
We ordered a range of food from the menu and as a self proclaimed curry expert !! i was very impressed by the quality, the food tasted excellent and very well prestented and above all it tasted fresh.
We would recommend the Motherland Spice to anyone, please give it a try you will not be disapointed.
10/10

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ok but not great”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

had my first meal from here and sorry to say but not like the old punjab at all, which i frequented alot over the years,
i would go back but would not be my first choice,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cath c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited this restaurant tonight, very friendly helpful staff, couldn't do enough to make experience enjoyable food served in warm plates!! very reasonably priced, quality of food fantastic - chicken melts in your mouth, fresh ingredients ( no limp salad) good portion sizes, service second to none, will definitely be returning keep up the great work, compliments to the chef, without a doubt the best place to eat, already planning our next visit!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0xy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Used to be a regular at this restaurant many years ago when it was known as The Punjab until it changed hands. Sadly it went rapidly downhill. However it has been relaunched as the Motherland Spice and honestly the transformation has been tremendous. I have been four times now with friends and family and all have agreed that the food on offer is the best Indian cuisine we have ever had. I think it surpasses even the highest rated Indian restaurants in Glasgow.. An earlier reviewer apparently linked Motherland Spice with the Taj in Prestwick. Whether there is a connection or not, comparing the food in the two restaurants is like comparing chalk and cheese, The Taj simply comes nowhere near what is on offer at Motherland Spice. Give it a go. I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motherland Spice also viewed

Saltcoats, North Ayrshire
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire
 
Saltcoats, North Ayrshire
Kilwinning, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Motherland Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing