We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow"”
Review of Bergwaters Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bergwaters Lodge
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for our aniversary and we had a wonderfull experience. I would take my kids with me if I go nect time. We were received warmly by Chantel. Our room was great, you do not need anything more for 2 people. I loved al the facilities and activities available. I also love the fact that the lodge has been running for so many years, but it was modified to be comfortable and homely and not to modern. We felt at home and so relaxed. The open Honest bar is for me a awsome idea. Thanx for a great experiance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Henriette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for the review Henriette, would love to have you guys back any time. Such a lovely couple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this establishment in July this year. We stayed for 3 days and had a fantastic break. Ivan & Chantel, The owners, who run and managed the lodge, are fantastic hosts.
I couldn’t disagree with pervious reviewers more. We were well received by Ivan as we arrived before being helped to our room. The rooms are quaint and perfect for 2. Our room had DSTV, and air conditioned and en suit bath room. Granted the lodge has been around for 35 years and this is evident in the style. Also evident is that they had been well maintained over the years.
We had all our meals at the Five Owls restaurant on site. All I can say is, we really enjoyed our meals, they were tasty and generous portions. There’s a good selection of South African wines at the bar which operates on an Honest Bar principle which I really appreciated. We felt right at home.
The lodge is located in a valley surrounded by mountains so it’s pretty cold in July. There are 2 fire paces in the lodge which is real cosy so take an extra jersey for when you go out.
All in all - Bergwaters has my vote, and I definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank for the review Mary, looking forward to having you guys back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room needs attention - the wash basin is cracked and therefore unhygienic. An old cracked bin is very unsightly. The dinner was tasty but portions were very minimal. When we asked for seconds of dessert, it was clearly a problem, and we were charged for them! We were also charged for another item which we did not have. The dining room is connected to the lounge in which the owners' family were lying around watching TV at loud volume while we were having our dinner very close by. We felt most uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 747Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for the review Jane, and thanks for bring our shortcomings to our attention. We sort those out. I'm sorry my boys made you uncomfortable, we still love them to bits and will not get rid of them not for any money in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had the misfortune of staying at this establishment recently-

Just a few of the issues I have:

We had to check ourselves in

Management made all of us feel like we were an inconvenience. They were rude throughout the weekend

The rates are way to high. I paid R450 per night and that excludes any meals. The TV did not work (DSTV was off). When we asked management about this, we got annoyed answers. I normally do not worry about a TV, but considdering the price per night, I think this should not have been a problem.

We received a group dinner on the Friday night....had no options or menu to choose from....It was more than R100 pp and the food was cold. Saturday breakfast was the same story...people were not allowed to order from the menu. And the food was overprced. The problem is, that the prices were not communicated before hand. We only saw it once we received our bills the Sundya. Had anybody known what these people were charged for the food, nobody would have eaten there.

Would not recommend this place to anybody!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

It is interesting to note that the reviewer was MC at the wedding referred to in the review above - "Wonderful Experience" If one reads the 2 reviews it would seem the two guest were at 2 different establishments.

We believe that the reviewer is out to discredit us and this review has nothing to do with informing you as a potential guest, but everything to do with having had inappropriate advances turned down, especially when one considers his chosen title.

All I can tell you is that all our staff were running around the whole weekend setting up for the wedding and making certain all went according to plan. The family were ware that this would be the case when they made their reservations to arrive the day before the wedding.

We believe we are on a par with similar establishments. The guest accepted our detailed quote.

The TV was off for a total of 4 hours on the afternoon of arrival due to a technical problem on the part of the DSTV broadcaster.

At the family's request we were to serve a set menu. All prices were quoted to the Bride and Groom who made the reservation and booking for the wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been here last November and was the second night of our trip. We really liked the place it zelf, nicely distributed with private cottages, als dinner was nice. What we didn't like was the darkness at night, we needed our own lamps to see where we were walking; it was too far from any kind of entertainment and the road to reach it was like a trial path: if you want to reach it please rent a jeep!
We were glad we spent only one night and we are sorry that they do not seem to see the potential of the accommodation they have.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatamarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Being an Eco lodge we have tried to minimize the effect of light pollution on our environment. In other words we are situated in unspoiled bush and unnatural light has a negative impact on the night life in our area. However, we have since switched on more lights and provided a small torch on all our room keys.

The suggestion that you should rent a Jeep is an exaggeration and misinforming. There is a 1.5km gravel road from the main road to the lodge. Most of our guests successfully traverse this road. Be prepared to travel at 50km/hour not 120km/h. The total time to traverse the gravel road at a reasonable speed will take no more than 10 minutes. A small price to pay to get away from the noisy main road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stopped here for a night on a long trip of the country - this was the place that looked the nicest of our trip when we booked, but we were sorely disappointed. We arrived a little late, around 7pm, and felt like we were an inconvenience. The road was terrible in the dark, lots of big rocks and you have to drive over a working train track with no lights or markings to get there. The owners made us very aware that they had waited for us.

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast, but the hostess had no record of this, insisting we had booked self catering. We asked for dinner and were told to sit down immediately, without being shown to our room. We spent nearly half an hour looking for our room in the dark!

The dinner was good, and the gentleman waiting on the tables was friendly. Twice during our meal I witnessed the owner uncomfortably reprimanding the waiter in front of the guests. There were also 2 or 3 dogs begging at the tables during dinner and breakfast.

Our room was not what we thought it would be. The e-mail to ask for the dinner, bed and breakfast in the lodge was not correctly understood, so we were put in a run down cottage at the bottom of the garden. Everything was decorated by Mr Price Home - poor quality, and cheap. The toilet is in the shower (literally - you have to take the toilet paper out first, else it gets wet). The fridge was noisy, the room was dirty and the bed was small and full of assorted bugs. One of the beds had large holes in the sheets, and the bed lamps were not working!

Overall, this was poor value for money. The location is lovely, and there is a lot of potential to make this into a great getaway, but the hosts are not people people, and don't seem to take much pride or personal interest in their lodge.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm the details of your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. Clearly this was just one big misunderstanding. Cant get right all the time, fortunately we do get it some most of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nestled in the escarpment between Waterval Boven and Waterval Onder, this is an ideal stop-over for nature lovers who enjoy walks along a bubbling mountain stream or a more strenuous walk up the escarpment. For dog lovers like we are, it's fantastic having the dogs accompany on the walks. And for bird lovers, we saw a few lowveld specials. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and for the price, it was very good value. There are a lot of amenities to keep the family busy (squash court, swimming pool, table tennis, comfortable lounge, etc.) and the food was good. The rooms are comfortable, but basic. The DSTV connection was not working in our room.

Room Tip: If you enjoy sleeping to the sound of running water, ask for a room closest to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InkySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergwaters, Owner at Bergwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for the review. Please bear in mind we are situated in the mountains which tends to have a negative impact on the quality of the TV signal in our area. We make a point of switch on the TV when guests are checked in to ensure that its working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterval Boven hotels
2.1 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
6.0 mi away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
Fortis Hotel Malaga
#1 of 1 in Waterval Boven
90 reviews
6.5 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
138 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bergwaters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergwaters Lodge

Address: PO Box 71 | Waterval Onder, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergwaters Eco Lodge & Spa is a beautiful - peaceful retreat offering affordable upmarket bed and breakfast accommodation, conference facilities, and an on site Spa conveniently located at Waterval Onder, just down the road from Waterval Boven (Emgwenya) and Machadodorp in Mpumalanga, a 2.5 hour drive from Gauteng and 40 minutes from Mbombela (Nelspruit).Just 1.5km off the N4, Bergwaters is secretly tucked away in a quiet secluded valley, flanked by sheer cliffs where eagles nest and crystal streams trickle by. Family owned and managed, Bergwaters not only offers luxury accommodation and epicure meals - Supreme Personalised Service, is guaranteed.Bergwaters, renowned for it's tranquil atmosphere, promises the perfect escape for couples, families and groups. We're much more than just a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bergwaters Lodge Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing