We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B that is forever inbed in our mind - unreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I wish to agree 120% with NicolaSem.
I've never been to a place where all the boxes are all ticked. Terry, Cheryl and Jaco go out of there way to make sure that you are, 100% happy with you stay. Food very made with a loving heart behind the scene and yes just don't be on a diet with a 3 course dinner. We had a wonderful 2 night stay and only wish where not on time frame. To Shamrock Arms Staff we love your place.
I have spoke to other friends from Australia who will travell next year to get in contact with you guys. Kerry and Pat - Australia

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I believe that the majority of the Shamrock Arms guests usually stay for one night, as a stopover, however a friend and I made this fabulous little guesthouse our holiday over the long weekend. After an easy drive from Joburg we arrived to this wonderful young man (Jaco) coming down the stairs to welcome us. He is such a refreshing burst of fun and laughter. Both Jaco and Terry are very knowledgeable about the area and its history and they had great suggestions of where to go and how to get there.
The rooms are fabulous, clean and very comfortable and I find it odd that some people have reviewed the rooms as small. The rooms are more than big enough and normal for a South African guest house.
The food is fantastic and ensure that you are not on a diet when you visit, as that will be blown out of the water. Breakfast is excellent with a self service buffet for cold stuff and made to order hot breakfast which caters to the most fussiest of eaters and those with a huge appetite.
Dinner is fabulous with 3 courses, and again with choices and made to your liking.
The service provided by the staff and owners alike is outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble for them and you even get lent a jacket if you pack like an idiot without checking the weather forecast.
The trip, with Jaco, to the waterfall and the old tunnel is an absolute must. He makes the whole outing an adventure and a history lesson with a little excitement thrown in, take the chance and I assure you that you will probably do something that you have never done before in your life.

I could rattle on for ages about this fabulous little gem with all the gems that make up the service team, just go, relax, drink far too much wine, eat fabulous meals and meet stunning people that will inevitably become friends.

A BIG thank you to the team at the Shamrock Arms, we had a fantastic time.
Nicola and Evelyn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaSem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

A great place to start a Mpumalanga holiday with great hospitality, friendly owner management who attended to anything asked of them. Rooms are fantastic and clean and the food, bar and restaurant immaculate - well priced and very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Summing up this weekend only four words are needed: "Home away from home"

It was my eighteenth birthday, my mom took me and my sister to Shamrock arms for girl bonding time. Little did i know , our bonding would extend to Jaco, Terry and Cheryl. The nicest, kind hearted down to earth people i have ever met, and not to forget Archi the four legged friend who was always present especially when there was food or a warm heater.

Jaco played a great part in making this Waterval Boven experience unforgettable . He played Masterchef, entertainer, friend and also tour guide. This made hiking very insightful also funny. We rushed to dinner because we know Jaco would entertain us, making all these memories unforgettable.

Terry or as we called him "Oom Terry" was always in on every joke, greeting us with friendly warm smiles. His omelettes are divine, and the Don Pedro's and Irish coffee he made was better than any resaturant. He always had our interest at heart which made for a well planned schedule every day.

Auntie Cheryl's lamb curry is a dish not to miss , my sister think she is a sweetheart with a big love for children. With this status i agree. Cheryl is always ready with a compliment.

The rooms were spotless, comfortable and well organized. The house is antique which gives it a homey feel. Beautifully decorated , the area is beautiful, clean air. amazing views and I just feel that the weekend was way to short. There is a lot of activities to do and Jaco is the number one guide around.

Thank you for an amazing weekend, you guys feel like family and I hope we will come back soon. Thank you for letting us play that one song on the piano.

Nadia, Tessa, Sarita

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked a family weekend for my Father's 64th Birthday at Waterval Boven as we are all keen hikers and wanted to experience that part of the Highland meander. We booked 5 rooms initially and had to change to 4 due to family illness and Terry & Cheryl were more than accommodating. We were greeted by the notorious Jaco and Cheryl who made us feel welcome immediately. Arriving on my Dad's birthday we asked Jaco for his help to decorate the table for dinner, and him and his assistant Nonnie really went the extra mile to make it a special dinner. The food was wholesome country fair, the host Terry who we met before dinner certainly allowed us to take over the house and we felt quite at home. Terry accompanied us on an informative hike the following day along with two local friends and the four legged friends. The entire weekend was all the more special with the help of Terry & Cheryl and the wonderful team.
Thank you
Kevin , Wendy & Family

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived early. This appeared to be no problem for Jaco and we checked in immediatly. The Room was spotless and comfortable. We requested points of interest and he gave us a fantastic list of venues in the area in a very friendly manner.
After our excursion we arrived back at our room to a friendly greeting and the menu for Dinner.
The evening meal was very tasty and service excellent. We had a peaceful night as the area is very quiet. Breakfast had a full spread of cereals with hot food made to order. After Breakfast we were treated to a short hike to the waterfalls by Jaco as our guide. His knowledge and history of the area was very good. All in all it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBenoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed last night at Shamrock Arms. This is our second visit and definitely won't be our last.
This was the highlight on a lovely Easter Weekend traveling through Limpopo then to Mpumulanga.
Owners Terry and Cheryl are the perfect hosts. They made us feel at home, made a lovely dinner for us and then served up a breakfast to remember. We were in room 3. The big double bed is really comfortable and we slept well. The shower was great too.

Highly recommended for a weekend to unwind and relax.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
8 mi away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
Fortis Hotel Malaga
#1 of 1 in Waterval Boven
93 reviews
21 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
33 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge

Address: 68 Josiah Mathebula Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range: $69 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm embrace of The Shamrock Arms – a 4 Star Guest Lodge offering good value, tranquil surroundings and wholesome food. Superbly situated on the Mpumalanga Highlands Meander Route – a mere two and a half hour drive from Johannesburg – and clasped by the picturesque and historic village of Waterval Boven / Emgwenya – gateway to the world-famous Kruger national park – you are guaranteed a country-village ambience that will soothe your soul. Shamrock Arms is also the perfect base from which to explore many places of interest and scenic beauty in Mpumalanga. Your host, Terry, an accredited and registered tourist guide can offer guidance on any tourist related matters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing