We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a 3 star Point of view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Certificate of Excellence
johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“From a 3 star Point of view”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I found this b&b to have a superb view probably the best in the area. The mountains are spectacular. The pool area is also well thought out. A big well done to the chef and a great dinner was had, way better than what you would expect at a 3 star b&b. The pub was well stocked and a very pro bar lady/customer pa made the difference. The owner is a special person and she made us feel welcome.

The only negatives I have is the racket the breakfast staff made during set up, early in the morning, and possibly some of the rooms could be a bit better decorated.

But over all, this has to be thee choice in this area.

Room Tip: Take the most expensive room they have, and definitely order their dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xrhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    41
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, warm, cozy location enroute from Jo'Burg to Kruger. The staff is more than friendly, the rooms are large, comfortable and relaxing. The koi at the entrance set the stage and the local dogs share the love when you stop and look out over the valley. "Dude" the cockatiel is ready for a lively conversation as you pass through the common room to the veranda. I recommend the zebra room. Just off the dining area but large and airy. The compound is protected by an electrified fence for those that worry about security, but you would never know it once inside.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice lodge with great mountain view, exactly like the name indicates already.
Great hospitality by Norma and Holge, we felt like coming home after some stressful working days in JoBurg. Thanks for the lovely time! Marcel & Chris PS: regards to Jan Pierewiet the singing bird

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchrunville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughters and I stopped here while rock climbing in Waterval Boven after spending several days in Kruger. It was a real treat to spend time with the owners and staff. The accommodations are impeccable and their hospitality is top notch. We are very grateful to have spent time with Norma. She is absolutely lovely and made my children feel at home. The food was fresh and plentiful. Our experience here makes me want to head back to SA for our next holiday and spend it at ACRA. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Acra Retreat is in a quite and beautiful location, it offers nice, very clean, and ample rooms. The service is perfect, nothing is missing. The food is delicious and owners and personnel are very nice and friendly, making you feel like at home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italobale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

the best b and b iv stayed in, you guys make your guests feel at home and enjoyed your company most amongst the great service and breathtaking views will be seeing you again soon Norma - from john, chrissy and our little ones

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnchrissy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were looking for a stopover along the N4 enroute to Hazyview. There didn't seem to be a great deal of choice so we choose the Acra Retreat. Waterval Boven has little to offer the general tourist but for archaeologists, the ancient stone walls in the area will be very interesting and there is good rock climbing nearby. We'd asked for a twin bed room but as none was available we were offered adjacent rooms, each with a double bed. A thoughtful offer but we choose the larger of the two rooms. The bathroom was external to both rooms but because no other rooms in that area were occupied there was no conflict with anyone else. The lodge does have great views and both dinner and breakfast were very good meals. The lady laying out breakfast made no attempt to communicate with us, not even a good morning greeting? There is a small bar with a standard range of drinks. The Acra Mountain Retreat sounds rather grand but, by South African standards, this is a middle range lodge and so we find difficulty understanding the 5 star ratings given by other reporters. It is convenient, econonical, clean (albeit cluttered, with some odd collections of memorabilia) and the catering was excellent. I would recommend it for stopovers but it did not seem to me to have anything that would attract me to stay for longer. I have no critcisms of the Acra but in reality it is a middle range lodge and does not merit 5 stars.

Room Tip: Insufficient time there to make a valued judgement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
21.7 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
439 reviews
21.6 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
129 reviews
8.2 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlumu Lodge
Hlumu Lodge
#2 of 2 in Badplaas
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven

Property: Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Address: Farm 88 Doornhoek Street | P.O.Box 91, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acra Retreat **Mountain View Lodge** is THE PERFECT STOPOVER POINT BETWEEN JOHANNESBURG AND THE KRUGER NATIONAL PARK, after a long flight or for a relaxed & stress free return back home. Positioned on the edge of a cliff, Acra-Retreat is situated on the border of the Elands Krans Nature Reserve which gives you a soothing and most amazing Mountain Panorama. We feature an outdoor pool & children's pool and a Hot-Tub, a trampoline, a basic fitness section, sheltered barbecue facilities and a beautifully manicured garden. We also have a small sheltered, outdoor fitness section, for the basic exercises. Massages and Beauty treatments are possible in the room, at the pool or on the deck. We also have a tranquil massage room. All individually decorated rooms offer a 'private' entrance to the decks / gardens with Mountain Views. Each room is fitted with a TV and satellite/DStv channels. Tea/coffee facilities, heater, safe, hairdryer and (ceiling-) fan(s) are standard. Toiletries, towels and additional pool towels are provided. Of course we also supply the linen, bedding, additional blankets and everything else necessary for a relaxing good night sleep. The rooms are serviced daily! Acra-Retreat Mountain View Lodge has a fully licensed and very well stocked pub. Sundowners & cocktails can be enjoyed on the deck or at the pool. Relax and enjoy in the peace and tranquillity that Acra Retreat offers. A beautiful, scrumptious Three-Course Dinner is served every evening if requested. We will send you our menu after the reservation is confirmed. But we can always also just make you a quick toasted sandwich and side salad for the smaller appetite. And surely you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will support the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal or briquettes, firestarters,... Scrumptious dinners are served in the evening but you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will provide the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal,.... • Amazing Mountain Panorama • Outdoor pool, children's pool & trampoline, small fitness area • Beautiful sheltered braai area (BBQ area) • Wi-Fi available (surcharge) • *NEW*: Guided Quad-Bike Trails! Enjoy one of our breathtaking routes for beginners and experienced drivers. • Koi pond • Own borehole with regularly tested, clean water • Safe Parking on the property (free) • Malaria Free • English, German, Dutch and Afrikaans spoken • German / South African Management • "Nature Drives" in an open SUV around Waterval Boven with amazing views, historic sites, picnic break,.... Horse riding, mountain climbing, abseiling and spa treatments and more can be arranged. We can send you a list or link with the close by activities and attractions. The hotel is located on the way to the Kruger Park, 2.5 hour's drive from Johannesburg and approximately 2,15 hours from Malelane Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven Hotel Waterval Boven
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing