We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Last Minute Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Certificate of Excellence
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Last Minute Hospitality!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were looking for a stay over on our way back to Johannesburg and phoned Holger at 4pm on Saturday requesting to check in. The view of the lodge is great and the we really enjoyed the view from the deck outside our room and the lovely ambience in the lodge. Breakfast was great. We recommend this lodge - lots of outdoor activities in Boven as well!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    41
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Acra Retreat for one night in mid-August. As we arrived on a Sunday, we were the only guests with our 6 year old daughter and Norma made us feel like coming home. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery, the huge African style decor in our room and all the pets Norma has (dogs, bird, horse Lucy!). We totally relaxed on our first night in South Africa and had a fabulous dinner followed by yummy drinks afterwards. During the night, the rain came with heavy thunderstorms (after a dry period of over 6 months), so everyone was happy that we brought it with us from Europe :-)
It was sad to have to leave already the next day, and we can definitely recommend this place! However, you might wanna go during a warmer season when you can enjoy a drink on the verandah, make use of the pool and admire the lush vegetation. Although we have seen many places during our 4 weeks stay in South Africa, this truly remains special - we'd love to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We visited Waterval Boven to learn more about the "Stone Circles" & based ourselves at this Retreat. We had a truly wonderful stay. Norma went out of her way to welcome us, provide a convivial atmosphere & feed us with perfect food. We really enjoyed the view from the deck & the quirky bar!
She organised a tour for us to view the stone circles & the museum which was truly amazing & well worth the visit.
Definitely the best place to stay in Waterval Boven!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We only stayed one night in our way to Blyde River Canyon, but it was a pefect decision. Norma, the owner, and Marti who helps Norma, are very charming and friendly. She gave us great recommendations for our weekend trip and made our stay in her Lodge just relaxing and enjoyable. The place has unique views, and although we only stayed one night, we sure keep it on mind for another weekend because it looked with great potential for different weekend activities. It is a very familiar place. A nice familiar bar, great terrace and perfect dinning hall to have a chat with your group or other travellers. Dinner was FANTASTIC, and so was breakfast in the morning. Although I am a bit lazy to upload recommendations, I had to share this place as it is in a non typical stop area but for us completely exceeded expextations.

Room Tip: African room has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amartinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

After a long day on the road it was getting dark and it was big relief that a number of good signs guided us from Waterval Boven up the mountain to Acra Retreat, making it very easy to find. Acra Retreat is located with picturesque views of the mountains and the valley below. The house itself is beautiful, cosy and of high standard. Our room was spacious with our own little terrace overlooking the mountains. Acra Retreat is owned by Norma and her love for the place shines through in many ways. She has done what many people dream to do – given up a busy career in Europe in favor of living where she loves to be. We arrived late and even though we had not ordered dinner in advance Norma was so kind as to make us a delicious 2 course meal with vegetables and fruit from her own garden. Before she started cooking we where given sherry and books about the area that we could read in front of the fireplace, excellent on a cold night after a long drive. After dinner Norma told us stories about the area and how the she had become the foster mother of the lucky animals she takes care of. This was the perfect last night of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dittefradanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We spent the most fantastic weekend at Arca, which was full of wondeful site seeing, amazing food and Norma is an excellent hostess.
This is a true gem and we will definitely be back in the Summer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolherbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed,Leics
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked this as a one night overnight stay driving from johannesburg to sabi-sands, however, we now wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were excellent,furnished with a traditional feel and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was huge and served on the balcony which has a beautiful view.
The owner is a lovely lady who goes out of her way to make your stay pleasant and memorable. She even took us, in her own car, to waterfalls that we wanted to see. The property is set on a hillside, with lovely views, and has a beautiful garden with a pool. Evening meals are available on request, and for a very reasonable price we enjoyed a 3 course, home cooked meal which was delicious. There is also a small, well stocked bar.
The atmosphere is very friendly and informal and very welcoming. Waterval boven and surrounding area is very interesting, so more than 1 night stay would have been perfect. Oh, and there are 3 gorgeous, very friendly dogs, that are extremly well behaved and do not approach guests. They wait patiently for the guests to stroke them!! We have already recomended this superb establishment to our friends & travel advisors. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
21.7 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
439 reviews
21.6 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
129 reviews
8.2 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlumu Lodge
Hlumu Lodge
#2 of 2 in Badplaas
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven

Property: Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Address: Farm 88 Doornhoek Street | P.O.Box 91, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acra Retreat **Mountain View Lodge** is THE PERFECT STOPOVER POINT BETWEEN JOHANNESBURG AND THE KRUGER NATIONAL PARK, after a long flight or for a relaxed & stress free return back home. Positioned on the edge of a cliff, Acra-Retreat is situated on the border of the Elands Krans Nature Reserve which gives you a soothing and most amazing Mountain Panorama. We feature an outdoor pool & children's pool and a Hot-Tub, a trampoline, a basic fitness section, sheltered barbecue facilities and a beautifully manicured garden. We also have a small sheltered, outdoor fitness section, for the basic exercises. Massages and Beauty treatments are possible in the room, at the pool or on the deck. We also have a tranquil massage room. All individually decorated rooms offer a 'private' entrance to the decks / gardens with Mountain Views. Each room is fitted with a TV and satellite/DStv channels. Tea/coffee facilities, heater, safe, hairdryer and (ceiling-) fan(s) are standard. Toiletries, towels and additional pool towels are provided. Of course we also supply the linen, bedding, additional blankets and everything else necessary for a relaxing good night sleep. The rooms are serviced daily! Acra-Retreat Mountain View Lodge has a fully licensed and very well stocked pub. Sundowners & cocktails can be enjoyed on the deck or at the pool. Relax and enjoy in the peace and tranquillity that Acra Retreat offers. A beautiful, scrumptious Three-Course Dinner is served every evening if requested. We will send you our menu after the reservation is confirmed. But we can always also just make you a quick toasted sandwich and side salad for the smaller appetite. And surely you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will support the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal or briquettes, firestarters,... Scrumptious dinners are served in the evening but you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will provide the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal,.... • Amazing Mountain Panorama • Outdoor pool, children's pool & trampoline, small fitness area • Beautiful sheltered braai area (BBQ area) • Wi-Fi available (surcharge) • *NEW*: Guided Quad-Bike Trails! Enjoy one of our breathtaking routes for beginners and experienced drivers. • Koi pond • Own borehole with regularly tested, clean water • Safe Parking on the property (free) • Malaria Free • English, German, Dutch and Afrikaans spoken • German / South African Management • "Nature Drives" in an open SUV around Waterval Boven with amazing views, historic sites, picnic break,.... Horse riding, mountain climbing, abseiling and spa treatments and more can be arranged. We can send you a list or link with the close by activities and attractions. The hotel is located on the way to the Kruger Park, 2.5 hour's drive from Johannesburg and approximately 2,15 hours from Malelane Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven Hotel Waterval Boven
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing