We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A very warm welcome from Holger and four-legged hosts!! Beautiful views from the verandah, a very comfortable room, excellent dinner (on request) and a magnificent breakfast. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

Very pretty view, nice food, enjoyable stay!!
The host was very friendly and can cook very nice food.

Room Tip: No tip the rooms are very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Accomodation was great, hospitality was amazing and i would recomend it to anyone for a relaxing time away

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danieldelarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

if you looking for a place to stay where you can hear the bushveld birds and have an awesome view of the Elands Valley gorge, complete with peace, serenity and solitude then this is the place to be. Situated one kilometer away from the town center of Waterval Boven, you will be abstracted from the reality of business and time and thrust into the twilight zone of leisure. I will definitely come here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger Secret Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleAxion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is an ideal place for a stop over on your way to Kruger Park, or as a location for hiking in the local terrain. Norma is an excellent host, the accommodation is very attractive and comfortable, the views stunning and the breakfasts are yummy. Sitting out on the deck listening to the birds and enjoying the dramatic scenery of the Elandsriver gorge and cliffs was a highlight of our trip. The hospitality we were shown was highly appreciated. We were given helpful advice and information for our journey onwards as well as excellent breakfasts to sustain us in our travels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Spent an art getaway week at Acra Retreat - easy to locate, only a few km from town but away from noise, except for birdsong and occasional baboon gruntings. Huge informal garden merging into the indigenous bush, a great variety of plant species, an overwhelming choice of subjects to paint. Norma, Holger and the staff were sincerely friendly and made me feel really comfortable and at home. Luxury cosy rooms, each with its own quiet section of the verandah, open central living area but the rooms are private, festive breakfast on the spacious verandah, breathtaking view, the best drinking water, fresh air, gym, hiking, in short: a tonic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliseNelspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

What a wonderful relaxing weekend! Beautiful rooms,Wonderful breakfasts and evening cocktails on the deck with a fabulous veiw! Hospitality was superb. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
7.6 mi away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
Fortis Hotel Malaga
#1 of 1 in Waterval Boven
90 reviews
21.7 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel
23.5 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 31 in Dullstroom
98 reviews
5.9 mi away
Absolute Leisure Cottages
Absolute Leisure Cottages
#1 of 9 in Machadodorp
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven

Address: Farm 88 Doornhoek Street | P.O.Box 91, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range: $59 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acra Retreat **Mountain View Lodge** is THE PERFECT STOPOVER POINT BETWEEN JOHANNESBURG AND THE KRUGER NATIONAL PARK, after a long flight or for a relaxed & stress free return back home. Positioned on the edge of a cliff, Acra-Retreat is situated on the border of the Elands Krans Nature Reserve which gives you a soothing and most amazing Mountain Panorama. We feature an outdoor pool & children's pool and a Hot-Tub, a trampoline, a basic fitness section, sheltered barbecue facilities and a beautifully manicured garden. We also have a small sheltered, outdoor fitness section, for the basic exercises. Massages and Beauty treatments are possible in the room, at the pool or on the deck. We also have a tranquil massage room. All individually decorated rooms offer a 'private' entrance to the decks / gardens with Mountain Views. Each room is fitted with a TV and satellite/DStv channels. Tea/coffee facilities, heater, safe, hairdryer and (ceiling-) fan(s) are standard. Toiletries, towels and additional pool towels are provided. Of course we also supply the linen, bedding, additional blankets and everything else necessary for a relaxing good night sleep. The rooms are serviced daily! Acra-Retreat Mountain View Lodge has a fully licensed and very well stocked pub. Sundowners & cocktails can be enjoyed on the deck or at the pool. Relax and enjoy in the peace and tranquillity that Acra Retreat offers. A beautiful, scrumptious Three-Course Dinner is served every evening if requested. We will send you our menu after the reservation is confirmed. But we can always also just make you a quick toasted sandwich and side salad for the smaller appetite. And surely you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will support the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal or briquettes, firestarters,... Scrumptious dinners are served in the evening but you can also use one of our braai (BBQ) facilities. We will provide the cutlery, condiments, wood, charcoal,.... • Amazing Mountain Panorama • Outdoor pool, children's pool & trampoline, small fitness area • Beautiful sheltered braai area (BBQ area) • Wi-Fi available (surcharge) • *NEW*: Guided Quad-Bike Trails! Enjoy one of our breathtaking routes for beginners and experienced drivers. • Koi pond • Own borehole with regularly tested, clean water • Safe Parking on the property (free) • Malaria Free • English, German, Dutch and Afrikaans spoken • German / South African Management • "Nature Drives" in an open SUV around Waterval Boven with amazing views, historic sites, picnic break,.... Horse riding, mountain climbing, abseiling and spa treatments and more can be arranged. We can send you a list or link with the close by activities and attractions. The hotel is located on the way to the Kruger Park, 2.5 hour's drive from Johannesburg and approximately 2,15 hours from Malelane Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven Hotel Waterval Boven
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing