We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse & great service”
Review of Boven Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boven Villa
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at Boven Villa on our way to Kruger, to break up the journey. I can only re-iterate the other positive reviews, which we agree with and which led us to choose to stay with Sean at Boven Villa! Charming and beautifully refurbished house, great service and lovely food that Sean prepared for us for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobilelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

I can only echo what the other reviewers have said about Sean. He welcomed us like old friends, cooked us a wonderful meal and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. For example, we wanted to stretch our legs after the journey, so he drove us to a lake, showing us the route back on the way and then checked that we were OK by waiting for us at 3 points on the way home! The rooms are well appointed, very clean, the food is excellent and the whole ambiance welcoming and friendly. I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We turned up unannounced one day to this wonderful place and were warmly greeted by the owner Sean Larkin as though we were old friends. Despite the lack of notice he quickly rustled up an excellent dinner for the two of us and then left us to enjoy the Elephant Room with all its amenities.We were travelling on to Kruger the next day and wished we had left more time to explore this property and its surroundings which are in a lovely part of Mpumalanga,the first reached after a dreary trek across the High Veld from Jo'burg. Highly recommended.
Andrew and Ruth Price

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppuddleducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed 2 nights with Sean. The rooms are in a villa that has very warm character, personality and space. You feel immediately at home, grap a book, look, what you can do in Mpumalanga.
And then Sean has made the stay comfortable and cozy like in a 5 star hotel with a perfect steak in the evening, lots of infos and suggestions for trips in the area; he gave us a lift to walk through the hills behind Waterval Boven and he showed us the waterfall itself after a trip through the local village.
With Sean it was not like with a hotel owner, but like being with a friend. And I am sure that everyone will feel the same having read all the other evaluations.
You can feel that Sean is a professional and a passionate hotel manager.
You feel that he really enjoys being with people and making them share his passion for the country.
Top on the list for us among all the places we stayed in South Africa in Febuary 2009 during 3 weeks vaccation.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We arrived at Boven Villa on 25 January 2009 at about 14:30 after a long road trip from a game lodge just outside Komatiepoort.

we were warmly greeted by the owner of Boven Villa - Sean Larkin. We were shown to our rooms and Sean then asked us about our Dinner arrangements for the Sunday night. As this was our first time to the area, Sean explained the options to us - either he prepare a light meal for us or we drive the 15km to Milly's. We asked Sean to prepare a very light dinner for us. In about 3 hours he prepared the most amazing meal for us!! just showing what a great host he is, he gave up his Sunday afternoon to look after his tired guests.

Our last night at the lodge we had a lovely 4 course meal Sean Prepared for us!! What a meal it was!!!

Sean is most definately a host and a half and go the extra mile for this guests!!! Well worth a visit to the lovely Boven Villa - a little bit of paradise in Waterval Boven!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lusinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Our time at BovenVilla felt like a home away from home. We arrived on Christmas Day a little exhausted from a 30-hour flight and were welcomed so warmly that we ended up staying two weeks! Sean, the owner, was kind to invite us to Christmas dinner with his family! He is friendly and knowledgeable about South African culture, and the local activities.

The house is a beautiful two story thatched-roof home with cozy, clean and cutely decorated rooms. We stayed in the Elephant room which had it's own deck and bathroom with a 2-person jacuzzi. Breakfast is a full home-cooked meal that filled us up for the day. The view from the yard is spectacular and the garden makes it nice to spend a day just laying under the lemon tree reading a book.

Boven Villa is a perfect stop on your way to Kruger National Park and if you are a rock-climber it is the best accommodation you can find in Waterval Boven, minutes away from all the truly beautiful rock faces.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

As we arrived, the host welcomed us with such warmth that we felt like visiting friends or family. The tranquility and peacefulness feeded our souls and bodies. Our room with the lovely views on the mountains was absolutely perfect as was the food. The 5 Star treatment we experienced can be highly recommended to weary travellers and birdwatchers alike.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterval Boven hotels
7.9 mi away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
Fortis Hotel Malaga
#1 of 1 in Waterval Boven
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
8.5 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
145 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Boven Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Address: 8 End Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range: $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Boven Villa Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing