We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Boven Villa”
Review of Boven Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boven Villa
Reviewed February 11, 2013

All communication prior to arrival was dealt with professionally and very accommodating. The guest house is situated in Waterval Boven and is set in a peaceful and tastefully planted garden. The thatched accommodation was clean, beautifully furnished with Oregon pine, and was extremely comfortable. Sean, our host, was very hospitable and served our every need even going the extra mile. Included in all this was a scrumptious home cooked dinner and appetizing breakfast. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with bathroom en suite has its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorna_gibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Good afternoon to the Gibbons Family. Thank you for the kind words. Glad that you had such a relaxing weekend, away from the madding crowd. Regards Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived a day late and " no sweat, I've made a plan " Sean, proved to be an excellent host with great skills in the kitchen. "Elephant" room was extremely comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Boven Villa to any traveler looking for convenient, peaceful and that "little bit extra" in accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIKE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our party of three spent three nights (7, 8 and 9 September 2012) at Boven Villa. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. The setting at the end of a cul-de-sac in a large garden is beautifully tranquil with lovely views towards the mountains. The rooms (“Elephant” and “Lion”) were elegantly furnished, and the beds inviting and comfortable. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful “feasts”, and Sean even made some delicious lemon curd specially for us with lemons out the garden. Sean is very knowledgeable about the area and was always available to help and make suggestions (we were particularly interested in bird-watching). Our emails received prompt replies. We thank him for going out of his way to make our stay a memorable one and would not hesitate to recommend a stop-over here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our room was lovely and cosy and our host was very welcoming and cooked us a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nabsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I highly recommend Boven Villa at Waterval Boven. Sean, the host, could not be more charming, helpful and accomodating. He is also a fantastic chef. The home is a lovely thatch with great views and conviniently located, and small extras like the nicely stocked bookshelf made all the difference.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solo_traveller422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I've been there twice now for the weekend, and it makes a great break from the busy roads of JHB. Perfect place to chill and do absolutely nothing. Shaun is a great host, and an even better cook. Keep it up!

Room Tip: Elephant room is great with its huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We found Boven Villa a charming and comfortable place to overnight en route to the Kruger Park. Sean , the owner and host, is every bit as charming and accommodating. He catered for our special needs and cooked a delicious vegetarian meal for dinner.
We stayed in the Elephant room with a ballroom size and well appointed bathroom en-suite.
When in the area, we will definitely make use of his hospitality again.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for a room down stairs. The Elephant room is gorgeous and has a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterval Boven hotels
7.9 mi away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
Fortis Hotel Malaga
#1 of 1 in Waterval Boven
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
8.5 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
140 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Boven Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Address: 8 End Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range: $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Boven Villa Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing