We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stopover en route to Kruger” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boven Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boven Villa
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stopover en route to Kruger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My friends from New Zealand and I arrived late into Boven Villa after flying into OR Tambo and having the frantic drive getting out of the airport chaos and endless roadworks. We were starving hungry and tired and were given a warm welcome by Sean and a fabulous hot meal was awaiting us which we had pre-arranged. Even being 2 hours late didn't throw him. It was the ideal stopover for us and we were comfortable and slept like logs. Thanks Sean for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Marie_Breen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sabie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My colleague and I stayed at Boven Villa for 6 weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were extremely comfortable and peaceful. Sean went out of his way to make our stay away from home a happy one. Every night we had dinner and the wide variety of food on offer was just what a hardworking man looks for after a long days work. Boven Villa is an excellent home away from home if you need to stay for an extended period in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabieMorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Good morning Morne
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated.
I am glad that your stay in ourv lovely town was a good one and that your stay at Boven Villa felt like'home'.
Best regards and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We spend a weekend at Boven Villa in Janaury 2011 in the master bedroom (ask for this room!). Sean (the owner) made every effort to make us feel at home. He arranged a fantastic braai, prepared a very nice breakfast, the rooms were excellent. We had a perfect stay. Probably the best place to stay between Jo'burg and Kruger.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ant00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Hi Guys
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I am so pleased to hear that you had a good in the area and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards from a sunny Waterval Boven
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

I loved my stay so much! The "elephant room", which is equivalent to standard room (not the biggest in the villa), is still spacious, and the thatched villa is very chic, comfortable, and cheap, which is exactly what I needed.

The room has its own veranda, the wood used smells nice, the bath tub is great, there is tv in the room, and bigger tv in the villa lounge, and there is nice green landscape all around. I enjoyed my stay in it more than any other place during a 5 day visit in which I visited Sun city, Kruger Park, and Johannesburg (Sandton)!

Moreover, Sean, the owner, is an extra-friendly Person. He recommended and driven in-front to a restaurant in town when I arrived late, and he got me a birthday cake at no extra charge!

I recommend it without reservation. It is an ideal stay on the way between Gauteng (Pretoria/Johannesburg) and Kruger Park or Nelspruit. And since Wasservall (Boven villa) is not itself a tourist destination, it has more than compensated that with being extra lovely!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omarmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Good afternoon Omar
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of Boven Villa.
I am glad that you had such a relaxing stopover and have taken such excellent memories. The room keys can be posted at any time.
Best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Stayed at the sumptuos Boven Villa with family and friends for an anniversay gathering. It was perfect. The rooms were large and very comfortably decorated. The food )Sean cooked dinner for us all) was tasty and better than any other B and B that we have stayed in.
Wenty hiking in the mountains, which Sean guided us halfway, ended at a lovely pool at thye bottom of a hidden waterfall. Fun fun fun for everyone. We were made to feel like VIPs, the hospitality at this establishment is stunning!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank room15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillegom, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

After a long journey, we received a warm welcome by Sean, the host, where we have several times by e-mail had contact. The village is actually not much, but Bovenvilla is actually one of the finest guest house in the area. as I said the welcome, the scenic location, the house with beautiful rooms and the silence was wonderful. breakfast excellent.
So a very good place to explore the area. we regret that we only stayed for one day.
Sean, thanks for your hospitality and for your effort to enjoy our stay.
Fam. Paardekooper, Duivenvoorden and Lut

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Greetings to the families
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Boven Villa. It was a pleasure looking after the 12 of you on your trip across our gorgeous country.
Waterval Boven may be a small town, but it is a beautiful one. The waterfalls, tracks and trails in the mountains are a sight to behold.
Regards from Sunny South Africa
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

My friends and I had the fortune of staying at the Boven Villa while traveling to and from Kruger Park. The accommodation was absolutely charming and the proprietor, Sean, went to great lengths to make us all feel welcome. He had some wonderful suggestions of things to do in the area (check out the waterfall) and also made a delicious breakfast in the morning. It was a great place to begin our South African journey and I would have no reservations recommending the Boven Villa to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
0.7 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
0.2 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 10 in Waterval Boven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
21.2 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 11 in Dullstroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boven Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Property: Boven Villa
Address: 8 End Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Boven Villa Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing