We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice romantic escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is on a hilltop overlooking the Somme bay. Having been there three years ago on business, I had a very romantic duplex room, with a single bed, TV, table, etc, on one level, and a double bed in a mezzanine under the rafters. This time, on holiday with my wife, I was first assigned a plain room which I turned down, requesting the same room I had before. This I got, and we liked it so much that we decided to stay an extra night. The view is spectacular, the staff are helpful, the breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful. No dobt we'll go again, but this time, we will request in advance a room with a mezzanine. (it is also a perfect place to organize business meetings, there are well appointed meeting rooms). Wi-fi is available and free, but coverage is spotty. Pets are allowed for a nominal charge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

Nice hotel in a fantastic environment. Great for walks along the coast and in nature.
Hotel is very quiet (in februari), have nice rooms with bathroom. All very clean. Staff is very helpfull

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Groevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

location:
Far enough outside the small (very pretty) town of Saint-Valery-sur-Somme to get the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere. Just you, the wind, the trees, the water and nature (and some other people who also thought they might like that kind of thing). It is a great base for exploring, walking and cycling. We stayed for a one-night stop-over on our way further South and chose this hotel from the Parc de Marquenterre bird sanctuary website. (Incidentally this sanctuary is a nice visit for a morning or afternoon if the weather's nice and you like Nature / birds / walking).
BEWARE! The GPS coordinates for this hotel on the bottom of the email we received from them were wrong so we went half an hour in the wrong direction. The correct location is lat 50.18894 long 1.61113

Rooms:
At first glance the outbuilding where our room was located made me a bit worried but actually the room was lovely (see photo). Features were simple and basic but with modern decoration and it was very clean. Ours was on the 1st floor so had a sloping roof and a great additional single bed up on a mezzanine. Kids would love this but parents of younger children will probably worry that the kids will fall down the steep stairs in the night if they decide to go downstairs.

Reception:
Very efficient and helpful. Times of the tides are displayed and you can hire bikes.

Bar:
Friendly staff. You can have bar food here or eat in the restaurant.

We didn't try the restaurant.

To summarise: a perfectly nice place to stay if you're in the area and like to 'get back to nature'.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We were a family of 4 staying 1/2 board. It worked out at GBP195 per night. Plus points are the feeling of space and openness; tennis courts and pool [that could be a bit bigger]. Room was ok; meals ok in the main, but not the gastronomic experience the website might lead you to believe. I think it is owned by the municipality as there was no 'manager' in evidence and the website was the same as for the region. On the downside, us Brits do not like dogs in restaurants [they were indulged more than children - ghastly!] Service in the evening was hit and miss and fell apart if the main man was absent. Would we return? Maybe, but on b&b basis, and take the meals in St Valery.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valueseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je ne conseille pas les chambres standards aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evelyne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank genevievek140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: attention a l humidité peinture qui s écaille autour des fenetres !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
1.2 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#5 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Hotel du Port et des Bains
#7 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Picardia
Hotel Picardia
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
211 reviews
9.7 mi away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu

Address: 1350 chaussee du Cap Hornu, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Price Range: $107 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Cap Hornu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing