We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly refurbished and fab”
Review of Hotel Les Pilotes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Pilotes
London...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Newly refurbished and fab”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Yes, ignore the old reviews, this hotel was refurbished this year and opened its doors in July this year. Some of the rooms were completed only 3 weeks ago.!! The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of different pastries, yogurts from a local farm, locally made jams, ham, cheese and good coffee. We had a problem with the room( my husband broke a light fixture) and they immediately moved us to another room (where, thankfully he did'nt break anything else. We did'nt try the restaurant as had already made reservations at other places.
Get a rom facing the bay as the views are spectacular and fun watching people wading across the estuary!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Limehouse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    126
    74
    26
    12
See reviews for
51
226
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After a mix-up in our booking at a nearby hotel we found ourselves at Les Pilotes. The welcome we received was first class despite the fact that we were probably inconveniencing the owners who were putting the finishing touches to an extensive refurbishment.
Firstly, the decor - I would call it ironic-retro and it's fun! Clearly, a lot of money has been spent and the result is what we in the UK call a boutique hotel. The bed was comfortable with great linen. The shower-room was a wet-room - which is a pet-hate of mine - but it was all very tastefully done that it didn't trouble me too much. They could prevent the water from the shower sloshing around - and perhaps this is something for them to look at.
The hotel is very well positioned - the view across the estuary from our room was stunning! The free car park is quite a distance using the town's one-way system but only a few-minute walk using the short-cuts.
Continental breakfast was excellent and coffee was produced specially to meet our exacting taste. The staff could not have been more hospitable.
It's not a cheap hotel but you would expect to pay more for the boutique-hotel experience in the UK and this is what you're getting at here. We may have arrived at Les Pilotes by chance but we were glad we did - they saved our holiday.

Room Tip: It would be a shame to stay here and not have an estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Friendly couple, great views and lovely food, but, the rooms are in need of a revamp and soundproofing while you're at it!
Had a very sleepless night, at one point I could hear the man in the room next door and one across the corridor snoring.... and every time someone used the bathroom... you get the picture. Partly due to the age of the building, but for €105 room only, there are definitely better alternatives until the rooms have been refreshed.
We checked out the next day and moved to the hotel down the road. The lady did offer to move us to a different room, but sadly the walls are all equally thin and she then charged us the full €105 for the night, as we had negotiated a lower rate for a 3 night stay, which added insult to sleepless injury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, noise can only come from a limited number of directions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTFTMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hotel was recently purchased by a young energetic group of 5 from Paris. The location captures the essence of the estuary with gorgeous views and a juxtaposition to the water. The hotel has started to remodel. The restaurant has a new fresh and regional menu which echoes the way of life in St. Valery. By the way, this is a great area for older children- a living example of littoral environment, walks, fun diversions, and medieval village

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buchsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Due to heavy traffic during a 6 hour drive we arrived at the hotel very late and tired. We have 2 young children that were tired and hungry. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were cooked a lovely steak even tho the restaurant was closed and served a delicious bottle of wine. The views to the harbor are stunning too. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burtonboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel claims that it serves 44 different mussel dishes and while it does I found this restaurant to be the biggest dissapointment of my holiday because the food was just not up to scratch. They charge 14+ euros per dish, plus another 2.50 for fries when most other places charge no more than 12 (most 10) for the complete meal. The bread they served was totally stale & while I appreciate that there may not be a bakery nearby there's no excuse for a restaurant not to bake their own bread or rolls as the customers trickle in of an evening....they probably have the ovens running, so this purely comes down to being plain lazy.

So based on just price alone you'd expect the food to be much better but this was not the case; the whole place was very dreary, nothing looked clean, the staff we wearing creased grey/white blouses and nobody cracked a smile while we were in there, I actually considered doing a runner after ordering but didn't (big mistae!). We never got a thank you or goodbye as we left either and then after leaving the restaurant we stunk of chip fat!!

Why do these places even bother opening out of season if they're not going to bother making an effort always amazes me.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A1anJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Parking difficult - pay in street,if you can find a place! Rooms are very expensive _ 105 Euros for a single room. Dining room was old-fashioned, and I chose a menu at 32 Euros which was one of the poorest I've had,tho the dishes sounded good on paper. All the waiters,of course,were in flashy uniform,and whipped off the tureens in unison!
An absolute disaster!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
0.4 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#6 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Hotel du Port et des Bains
#7 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
#2 of 5 in Le Crotoy
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel les Saules
Hotel les Saules
#1 of 1 in Favieres
229 reviews
2.2 mi away
L'Auberge de la Marine
L'Auberge de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Le Crotoy
199 reviews
5.6 mi away
Logis Auberge de la Dune
Logis Auberge de la Dune
#5 of 5 in Le Crotoy
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Pilotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Pilotes

Property: Hotel Les Pilotes
Address: 62 rue de la Ferte | 37 Quai Blavet, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New style and decoration for the "Hotel Les Pilotes" and its 25 new rooms. See you in June! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Pilotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing