We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Domaine de Drancourt
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked a mobile home with Eurocamp from 15 June to spend a week with our daughter, her partner, toddler and baby. Having read your previous reviews, we were anxious about the condition of the site.

The mobile home was excellent and the site is spacious and quiet. The Eurocamp couriers were friendly and efficient and there was a toddler club session morning and afternoon. The covered pool was lovely for the children, and although the outside pool with flume was unheated, it was well attended.

There wasn't much open on the site - the takeaway opened around midday and the restaurant from 7.30 pm - which was very pleasant. Two local supermarkets were excellent and so near. Wifi was available from 6.00 pm next to the Chateau bar and there was evening entertainment in the Cinema bar on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday - bingo, magician and a singer.

This is a beautiful spot for a quiet break, but offers little for teenagers or those wanting a lot of evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family and I have just come back from a week on this park (Whitsun). We booked this place in panic as I was given my works holidays late. Then reading the mixed reviews for this site we were terrified. The horror stories on here about the place really put us down. Well we got there no problems, very easy to get to from the tunnel.
We were stopping with keycamps in a caravan. We went to reception and we were guided to our caravan. We went in side and there were no problems. It was clean, we had a great pitch. The caravan was a little tired in places but everything worked as was clean.

You cannot use cash on this site and have to get a payment card. We ordered breakfast 6.80 euros for 2 bauguettes, two pain du chocolat and 2 croissants, The next day we found that if you goto the supermarket on the island before you enter the grounds, the cost of the same breakfast is 3.20 euros. So its upto you on what you want to spend.

The grounds were OK and the kids clubs were excellent. My one son learnt to ride his bike in one of the clubs.

So people just because we use this site does not make us the worlds best critics. You pay for what you get. The holiday is what you make of it. Some people just love to complain. The site was clean pleasant and the staff were just French. Complaining that there was too many British there or the weather was like at home is not really constructive for people to get an idea.

I would recommend this site for a 3 night stay over to prepare you for the trip down further into France.

This is the 6th French campsite I have stopped on, so I can give a constructive account. It was not as nice as some (scenary) but it does what it says on the tin. I will happily stop there again.

John

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Domaine du Drancourt, St Valery is set in the beautiful grounds of an old Chateau. The canvas holiday reps were helpful and pleasent and our caravan was good. The pools were good. However there the similarity to the Canvas brochure ends! We were there at half term; and the site was full but very little was open.The takeaway opened for two hours and even the first in the queue waited 30 minutes for their order. The shop had very little in it and opened at 4 pm. Nowhere could the many children buy an ice cream. Indeed bread had to be ordered and paid for the previous day. The chateau bar never opened and the other bar opened late and was never available even on wet days. Our worst nightmare was yet to come. Be prepared to only spend money by loading money onto their card system.DO NOT use a credit card which they scan. If you load more money on later in the week, your bank, as ours did, may block your card. Fortunately we had other sources of money both to pay the bill and to buy petrol to travel home. The staff are miserable and unhelpful and seem to have rules for everything. The canvas reps are aware of this situation - we and many others told them, but say they can do nothing. This is a 4 star site which in our considerable camping experience is actually 2 star quality. It could, with improvements be a 5 star site.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from our 5th visit and once again already wanting to re-book. Its not a place for you if you want all singing all dancing wall to wall disco, football and drinking but what it is is a friendly family site and perfect for lazy days around the pool or site. We booked direct with the site for the first time the price was £220 for a week in June school hols in a two bed mobile home. The check in was smooth and we were shown the sparkling mobile home by a very friendly chap. The change this time was the site does not take cash and you get a card to pay at the end your stay its ok but the kids like to have abit if change for the site shop which they now can't spend.

Poney rides are 6 euro for half an hour and this is great our little girl had a great time being lead by dad around the site. Go karts are 5euro for half an hour and there are many styles to choose from. The pool basic but clean and always somewhere to sit. For the first time we had evening entertainement which was run by the site staff the magician was amazing and everyone raved about him. The site is safe enough to let the kids take their bikes are spend the week biking around. There is a lack of play equiptment for older children though and be warned the pool does close at 6pm.

Places to eat we would recommend the place by the Carrefour supermarket ( not the one by the mcdonalds the other one down the road) they do a 12.50 euro menu three courses of the best food and for kids three courses 9.50 euro its one not to be missed. St Val market is sunday morning its big and busy good cooked chicken and pots to buy for 7euro makes a good sunday lunch.
We love it here and already looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This campsite is below average, saved by its location and some good facilities. In this review I'm going to tell you about the site's location, it's facilities, and the customer service. The location is great. The facilities are good. But the service (and upkeep) is poor.

It's just 65 miles from Calais - so an easy long-weekend break. It's also a good base for those interested in the Great War, and it's only about 30-odd miles from Dieppe which is a nice day out.

We went on the Diamond Jubilee long weekend. No exaggeration I think every single car we saw was British. There were no French visitors and I think we saw one family from Holland. Sounds terrible but the British we did see had a high percentage of the 'overweight shaven headed with tattoos' contingent. And that was the women. ;-) OK i exaggerate slightly but this is no middle-class haven.

The facilities on the site are pretty good - it has an indoor- and outdoor- swimming pool, side-by-side. The indoor pool was lovely and warm and included a toddlers pool. The outdoor pool has a good water slide. But the water was very, very cold. There are no changing rooms/lockers - its very much get changed in your tent/chalet and then show up.

it also has a very good outdoor Tennis court, although it's not bookable. You just turn up and hang around until the people playing get bored and give you a turn.

Behind the Tennis Court then is a neat 'outdoor gym' - kind of a cross between outdoor play equipment and gym equipment which cleverly uses your own body as a weight.

There is a small play area covered with sand, and swings etc. Its for under-12s only.

Although there are some good facilities then, they are let down by the poor upkeep. The grass was very overgrown. There were lots of weeds. And this set the tone for the whole site. It's all rather shabby - which is a shame because it is a beautiful location set in the grounds of a Chateau. It all feels rather down-market when in fact it could be so much more with a little tender-loving-care.

And this is the nub of what lets it down. The staff don't seem happy to work there and it really needs more people with some enthusiasm to make it a great little site. We were there for 4 days and we did not see a cleaner at all in that time. In fact we hardly saw any staff. Apart from in the shop and reception. None wandering the site. And those we did see just didn't seem very engaged or friendly.

On the second night my son was sick in the night. We cleared up and stripped the bed, and next morning told reception. Although promised, they did not come to collect the soiled bedding, nor replace it (luckily we were able to make-do with what we had).

Even when we checked out there were no smiley goodbyes or thank yous. All very 'next please' I'm afraid.

Overall then, this site is OK and had some good points ,but its a huge shame its not making MUCH more of its huge potential. For a contrast (for the better) try Siblu.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyd_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a brilliant family holiday staying in a 3 room Villagrand Deluxe with Keycamps. We had been a bit worried by the reviews but had a brilliant time. Admittedly the weather was unusually good for this time of year so not sure if it would have been as good had it been very drizzly and cold.

The keycamp staff were incredibly helpful and kind sorting out a few initial problems with absent towels and booster seats that had been ordered when the holiday was booked. Keycamp had not provided the campsite with enough booster seats and need to solve this, however the lovely rep managed to borrow one from another company. The staff were also good providing an icepack when I hurt my foot.

The children (3 and 7 months) loved the kids club and made lots of creations with all the art equipment. Sadly only one of the pools were open in May and I think Keycamp should communicate this more clearly to its customers. We had seen this in the smallprint somewhere after booking so had adjusted our expectations prior to arrival but we met several people who had been quite disappointed about the lack of outside pool and waterslide.

We did have a powercut one night but it was fixed before dark so didn't cause us a problem really.

On the campsite the children loved swimming and riding round on bikes the best but my older son also had a pony ride and played minigolf which were fun.

The local area was lovely. We had fun on the steam train and boat rides in St Valery. We loved the moules frite (my 3 year old says mussels are now his favourite food). The market in St Valery was fun but most things seemed quite expensive (although I guess everything is more expensive in Euro). The aquarium in Boulogne Sure Mer was also worth visiting.

Sadly this will probably be our last keycamp holiday for a while (as I am returning to full time teaching and the prices seem to sky rocket in school holidays). However if we do get the opportunity we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We chose this site because it is used by Eurocamp which is usually a good benchmark for good, quality campsites. However, after we checked in and chose our pitch, a tour of the facilities soon dampened our enthusiasm. Very few facilities were open - the one shower/toilet block open was filthy and obviously hand;t been cleaned for several hours. Because the site was quiet, the ladies' section was closed and the men's shower / wc had to be used by both sexes.
Limited opening hours and high prices put us off eating in the restaurant or from the takeaway.
The grounds were not well tended for and the whole site generally looked run down and tired. We had a motorhome and the chemical waste disposal area (one and only) was a ridiculous distance away. Needless to say we did not stay the full intended period we had hoped and checked out after two nights.

Room Tip: Try "Le Walric" on the outskirts of St. Valery Sur Somme for a much better camping experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel6855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Valery-sur-Somme hotels
2.3 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
510 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Chateau des Lumieres de la Baie de Somme
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
370 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Picardia
Hotel Picardia
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
210 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#5 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Domaine de Drancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Domaine de Drancourt

Address: B.p. 80022, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt Hotel Saint-Valery-Sur-Somme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing