We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you have a caravan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Drancourt
Reviewed May 9, 2012

this site advertises 6 amp electricity with the caravan club which it does not have we arrived here on saturday last with a pre booking with the caravan club my wife has oxygen and needs proper electric supply i asked the receptionist if the site had the 10 amp supply as advertised on a web site and she stated that it did we then went to our pitch there was one caravan on the site he had had no electric supply for a week and was having to use his own gas supply despite various requests and promises by the site staff to fix the electricity supply for him nothing was ever done they promised an electrician would attend he did not we hooked up to the electric point and the supply was not sufficient to power the fridge or any part of the caravan it was 3 amp supply at maximum we made representation to the same receptionist now sat in the bar with her was a man working on a lap top and clearly overseeing the work of the staff it was explained that he was only a former director i asked to see the manager/owner and was met with no response this man gave instructions to the female staff there and having been advised that we needed a proper electric supply to operate our oxygen machine he made two telephone calls purporting to speak to an electrician he told us that an electrician would attend in 10 minutes this was at 6.30 p.m.
we waited and waited until 9.30 p.m. but no electrician attended this man ordered us free drinks from the bar and was again instructing the staff but allegedly had no role in the management of the site he then left i asked the female staff to ring the electrician again but they declined it was very apparent to us that no electrician had been contacted and it was just a ploy to get rid of us without any regard for our needs at that point i challenged the receptionist and told her that we had been lied to all evening and that we would leave and find an alternate site this we did with the help of the caravan club i am satisfied that the man in the bar was in fact the owner of the site fortunately the excellent site we went to at miannay had 16 amp electrics and we were able to use the oxygen machine without any further difficulty

Room Tip: can only report on the caravan site which is full of static homes and rented tents obstructing any v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay with Canvas holidays here. Our first drive into France after three children, and surprisingly easy. The campsite is lovely, a good manageable size without being a mini-city. Plenty to do in the campsite for our 5, 3, and 3 year olds. The children enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and made some friends. At less than an hour and a half away from Calais it is incredibly easy to get to. The Chateau is a nice centrepiece, with a bar and children's TV room inside. we had pony rides, crazy golf, swimming, and rides on bikes easily available. The payments system is via a card you 'charge' with money at reception: so it's worth putting a good amount on in case reception isn't open or is busy when you need to buy something (or use laundry, pay for rides, drinks etc etc)

Campus reps were very lovely, happy to help, and very happy to advise. The caravan we stayed in was very clean and well presented; the only downside being that the windows were single glazed, and the weather was unseasonably cold (make that very cold). the caravan stayed warm enough, but there was a lot of condensation because of the windows, so it remained damp. nothing anyone could have done, and the reps were very keen with the extra blankets. I'm sure that this isn't usually an issue as the weather was particularly cold and wet.

We really rated the town of St Valerie sur Somme. It had all our family was after: very attractive, mostly French residents and visitors. Great delis, restaurants, fresh fishmongers, and butchers selling the local Salt marsh reared Lamb. In particular the restaurant 'Au Vélocipède', which had a beautiful courtyard, and lovely food, in a very attractive restaurant at the top of the town next to the medieval gates. The old town is a little gem, with lovely streets to wander, and a great view of the unique tidal salt marshes. in particular the 'Rues Fleuries' should be stunning in May and June; the medieval walls and streets are planted and tended by the locals with a variety of local flora and herbs. Also unmissable if you are a gardener is the Herbarium', - adjacent to the Rues Fleuries - a hidden walled herb and vegetable garden with all sorts of lovely elements and ideas; the kids loved it too as there were little quirky things everywhere. We went on the narrow-gauge railway to Le Crotoy, which is well worth a day out, especially if you like wildlife as you go over the marshes and can see the birds nesting. You can have lunch there - and Moule Frités is a must, as this is where they harvest the mussels, so you can't get fresher. Also highly recommended for food or garden lovers is 'Les Jardins de Valloires' - a 30 minute drive, with a restaurant serving food from the garden; also the 'Parc du Marquenterre' - a world famous bird reserve a few minutes drive, good for kids as there are binoculars to use, and also a choice of long and short walks. a great place fro a bit of quiet too, only birdsong is in the air.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peckishpeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I wasn't planning a holiday this year, but a friend found a deal on the Keycamp website - 3 nights in a tent at the beginning of July for £93.
I was a bit dubious never having camped before but it was only 3 nights, so if it was awful it wouldn't have been too bad. But - it was great!
The tent itself had plenty of room for me and the 2 kids, but wasn't really big enough for 6 people, it's maximum capacity. With the 3 of us it was fine but with more there would be no spaces between beds and I imagine, a bit claustrophobic.
They were proper camp beds which were comfortable, and Keycamp provided pillows, duvets, and blankets, which we weren't expecting, but we needed as it was cold at night.
The kitchen area is well equiped, and has a proper size frigde and ice box, and 4 gas rings and a grill. Also a BBQ is provided which is fab.
The toilets seemed to be constantly being cleaned, and had toilet paper provided (!). The showers were clean but a bit of a pathetic dribble. Fine for washing but I have long hair and it would have been a bit of a rubbish rinse! I took dry shampoo which was fine. I think if we'd been there longer than 4 days I would have had to had a proper hairwash though!!
The kids loved the swimming pool. There are 2 outside pools which were freezing, but the one which had a retracting glass cover was really warm, and they spent hours in there.
Where the Keycamp tents are you can see over to the playground, and my oldest son took my youngest over there and I could easily keep an eye which was handy.
The 2 pitches opposite us were empty when we arrived but 2 French families came along and stayed the Friday and Saturday nights. They enjoyed singing quite loudly until it got dark but after 10pm it was quiet.
We were woken up on the last morning by children playing around the back of our tent, but it's just something to be aware of - you are in a tent, and you will hear things outside! It's not a negative, just don't go expecting silence, there are kids around.
The site has 3 Shetland ponies, and you pay 6Euro at reception and the pony is yours for half an hour. The guy that gave us the pony and issued the riding hat spoke no English and my French isn't great, but he waved us off and we weren't altogether sure where to go. We wandered around the site and returned the horse after a cheeky 45 minutes. My 3 year old loved it, and we got many envious looks from other children!
There is a takeaway on site selling pizza, burgers and chicken nuggets, which is a little pricey but hey, you're on holiday. It was actually a pretty good pizza, although the people in front of us had one that looked a bit crispy!
The campsite is an easy run from Calais, taking around 1 hour 15 minutes on a straight run, with 6Euro toll on the way.
There are 2 supermarkets less than a mile away which are great for all your shopping, as the shop on site is more expensive but is handy. You order your bread there and pick it up the next morning,
The kids club opened on 4th July, the day we left, so I don't know what that is like. They came to the tent and told us they were going to be teaching circus skills all week though, so it sounds like it's quite structured and they don't just let them get on with it.
The Keycamp couriers were friendly, and there's loads of lealets in their tent about local attractions.
The local town St Valery has a nice little beach and loads of decent restaurants and is less than 3 miles from the campsite.
The battlefields of the Somme are just over an hour away and we went there on our last day before heading up to Calais. They are worth a visit, although it is still 90 minutes to Calais so it doesn't save any time on the journey.
After being totally impressed we are planning on going back next year for a full week. For such a cheap price, and so easy to get to, this is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamesdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

me partner nana and 2 boys aged 9 and 5 with autism.stayed in a canvas maxi tent.was clean and well equipped if you needed anything the reps were ther or you could leave them a note and they saw to what you needed.site good for young children . shop has got basics but lidl and an intermarche 5 mins away and a carefour doem the hill from roundabout so plenty near by.REMEMBER IF IN FRANCE YOU HAVE TO PRE ORDER YOU BREAD /CROISSANTS/OR BAGUETTES THE DAY BEFORE IN THE SHOP AND YOU GET A TICKET TO HAND IN THE FOLLOWING DAY .staff really friendly and helpful.good toilet facilities.one block mixed toilets but not a problem. will be going back .a few sandy beaches around area at le crotoy and berck.cayeux sur mer is a pebble and with huts that you can hire for the day.we stayed for 2 weeks and all had a good holiday.i would suggest to take a kagool as there are showers and they come down but stop as soon as they start.
alan,michelle,,alistair and andrew.from glasgow and joyce from wakefield

Room Tip: maxi tents sleep up to 5 with two rooms with camp beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ziggyandflo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We came for a week and stayed in a chalet. The Keycamp staff were great. The chalet was very clean and more than adequate for us two (3 bedroomed) so we had plenty of space for our bags. It had a veranda so were shaded from the sun and a little rain whilst sitting outside. The campsite is just over an hour from Calais though don't rely on Keycamps directions - they are totally inaccurate. The site has large mainly wooded pitches mostly with mobiles on them, all the previously listed facilities and is a site particularly suited to families with young children. The ponies are very sweet. You need to order your next mornings baguette the evening before from the shop or they moan to themselves a bit if you are not on the list.

Nearby St Valery is a lovely little town, with the promenade, the old town, the mini-golf and the restaurants. A steam train goes around the bay to Le Cretoy,which I do not think is as nice as St Valery. We went to the Somme battlefield (Thiepval) an hour or so away and to Monet's garden which was well worth the two hours drive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyswatter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Good place to stay, with young familys as near to Calais, nice pool, small shop, supermarket very nearandthe town 5 mins away a delight, but if you have any problems as me and my family did with Key camps accomadation, dont expect it to be resolved by the key camp site supervisor Don who like Houdini vanished and we never saw all week. And be warned if they offer you caravan 120 (suposed top range) its in unacceptable condition and the smell from the sewer next to it takes your breath away, BE WARNED
Rest of site staff realy good and Chris was a star,

Room Tip: check out your location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 28Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We went at the end of Jun and left on 12 th July. This is a lovely green campsite that is perfect when the Picardy weather allows. The party consisted of 2 adults and 2 boys aged 7 and 6. The high point was the enjoyment my children got from the soccor station this was run 6 mornings a week and all the children enjoyed it. The dutch children prob didnt enjoy it the morning after the world cup.

The campsite is ideal for a relaxing time and we had a large green space around our caravan and deck area. We booked with keycamp as they have the soccor station, however that is the only plus thing i can say about keycamp the caravan was dirty as usual and it didnt have quite a few damages, the door to the twin room was off its hinges luckily we keep our childrens door open at night, the table was broke and there was a large punched hole in the wall and cigarette burns in some of the furniture. The caravan was dirty and we had to request the grill to be cleaned. Dont expect to actually see the reps as they never appeared to be in the reception area and there was a distinct lack of information of things to do in the area. The main campsite reception on the other hand was extremely helpful.

The pools are small i am glad that we were there at the start of the season so we managed to always get a seat but often ended up having to wait for 1 of the 4 umbrellas.

The mini golf is tired and the driving range is actually just a field with a few distance markers, the tennis net was also damaged.

The area is lovely we went out for dinner in St Valary and Le Crotoy the hotel Les Tourelles on Rue de Guerlain was an excellent meal and i thought it was a good value area. The market in Le Crotoy on the Sat was good lots of sampling of wine and cheeses.

The weather was excellent bar 1 day when the rain came but on average the temps were from a comfortable 25 to a one day high of 30 degrees.

I have outlined the main problems with the site but the actual park is pretty and it was peaceful and we enjoyed the holiday. We went up to Disney for a few days and it took about 2.5 hours to drive to and well worth the effort and the cost.

So overall if you can ignore the initial dirty caravan and the lack of rep support the area is great and it is a good holiday but you will need a car to explore the supermarkets are a good 2km walk and the site shop only stocks a limited amount of items.
Would stay here again but would need to pack the cleaning products.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PINKTULIPMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Valery-sur-Somme hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
505 reviews
6.2 mi away
Le Chateau des Lumieres de la Baie de Somme
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Hotel du Port et des Bains
#7 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Picardia
Hotel Picardia
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Drancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Drancourt

Address: St Valery sur Somme, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Also Known As:
Chateau De Drancourt Hotel Saint-Valery-Sur-Somme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing