We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arsonval
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a conveniently situated 3* hotel set back from the main road (noise was not a problem). We used it as a stopover on route from the south coast of France to Calais. The rooms are adequately sized and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent value and we had a very enjoyable evening meal. We would certainly use it again for a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannelie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for sightseeing. The part of the hotel has lots of character. Susan's Hotel has 8 rooms in it. They are cosy and comfortable. Had the usual equipment such as hair dryer and coffe making facilities. But the best bit is the restaurant we had evening meal which was excellent. Breakfast had lovely croissants, coffee and the usual cereal. Would definitely use this as a base for exploring this lovely area.

Room Tip: Have evening meal in the restaurant if you love French food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday_addict40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A pleasant hotel run by an English lady which is an attraction for non-French speaking English on the way to the south of France / Italy etc. Not too far from the motorway and easy to find. Food is ok but nothing too special, rooms are fine; clean and quite well appointed. Breakfast ok. In fact the whole experience is....ok! Not really a place to stay for any length of time but a good stop-over venue and quite good value. I have used it on more than one occasion and could do so again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshmanabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Lovely location. Main road wasn't a problem. The owners, Susan and Bernard, made us and our old car feel very welcome. We enjoyed their hospitality, wonderful food and wine. Being nosey we had a look at the Suite accommodation. Beautiful! We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara066England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Found this charming hotel on the way from Calais going down towards Italy.
Bright and cheerful in a lovely garden, comfortable and quiet rooms, wonderful restaurant and good food.
Also it had a closed parking area so it was a great find Will deffinitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

+ nice room, good breakfast (very good bread)
- the dinner was not good at all...

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tololo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Found this hotel on trip advisor with good reviews. Sent an email off and got a very quick response from Susan, with several options of Bed only half board or B&B. We took two days of bed and half board.

We were greeted by Susan's husband and immediatlely offered a drink. He suggested a local champagne which were not disapointed with. Enjoyed our evening meals out on the terrace.

Great location and would go back anytime. Many champagne houses close by ,one of our favourites being Drappier.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PennyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arsonval
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
11.7 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
469 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
#1 of 3 in Bar Sur Aube
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Clairvaux-sur-Aujon
30 reviews
11.7 mi away
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restau...
#1 of 2 in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Pirates
Hotel des Pirates
#1 of 2 in Dolancourt
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan

Address: 81 route Nationale | D619 Aube, 10200 Arsonval, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Arsonval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arsonval
Price Range: $98 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gourmet's haven on the Champagne route. A charming stone country house in a large garden boarded by a river. In the grounds the coach house has been cleverly converted into modern ensuite bedrooms with views of the river. A panoramic restaurant and terrace over look the garden. You will receive a warm welcome from Bernard and Susan, a franco british couple. Logis de France. Three star hotel. Private closed car park. Short breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing