We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meals”

Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Chauvigny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Meals”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate here on 2 occasions and were very pleased on each visit. We ate outside the first time .The food was creative, innovative, full of flavours and all freshly prepared. We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    58
    8
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“what a waste of a decent chef”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Don't be deceived by the 4* rating as that is for the cooking which was very good indeed, on a Sunday evening when the restaurant - no prizes for decor and charm - was surprisingly busy.

If you think the staff hygiene was defective - I first thought it was the cheeseboard! - you obviously did not venture into the courtyard where there was outside seating.
To the left of that is the kitchen and the overpowering stench of rotting rubbish was truly appalling and at least potentially a health hazard - and yes, I did complain about it. Our opinion was that it was from the large collection bin that had not been disinfected for far too long.

Incidentally, breakfast was absolute rubbish with a poor selection from the so-called buffet and supermarket style bread and croissants - quite frankly, a disgrace for France

The owners have clearly lost interest in the place, and the management hired should be fired before the public closes the place for them

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smelly waitress”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food was ok here, but our experience was totally spoiled by the fact that the waitress had a bad case of BO. She was pleasant and smartly dressed, but smelling strongly of sweat.

Not nice, as the whole restaurant was overlaid with the bad odour and the smell was very apparent every time she came to the table.

The management would be well advised to give this lady some guidance on personal hygiene!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smelly waitress”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We did not stay here, but ate an evening meal in the restaurant on 26.8.13. The food was ok.

However, after our order was taken I commented to my wife that I wished I'd changed clothes, since I appeared to be suffering from a touch of 'BO". But it soon became apparent that it was the waitress, not I, who was the pongy one! She was friendly and smart, but frankly in serious need of guidance on personal hygiene. It was surprising, since she was middle-aged rather than young.

The bad odour hung around the whole restaurant, totally spoiling the dining experience on our last night in France.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best meal in Chauvigny!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Food was very good, though not a lot of English spoken by the staff (not a problem). Service was very good and server was very pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dougie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Lion d'Or also viewed

 
Chauvigny, Vienne
Chauvigny, Vienne
 

Been to Restaurant Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing