We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here last week for my birthday as part of the travelzoo deal. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. We used the gym and swimming pool which are really great. We had a meal in the resturant which was very nice and great value for money as it was part of the deal. The breakfast was also just as good. The only thing that i would say is a negative is it is quite pricey on alcohol, but so is every other hotel i have been too. Recommend this travelzoo deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_mamfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
sam_mamfa,
Thank you for staying with us.
Glad you enjoyed our Explore Cheshire package and
enjoyed all the facilities at the venue.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    415
    208
    104
    58
See reviews for
164
503
16
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Booked overnight stay as a birthday treat for my wife. Staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Great room with country views, comfy bed, fluffy towels/robe and quality toiletries. Used the pool (warm water and very quiet - although gym was busy) and Jacuzzi. Excellent meal in restaurant (which again was quite quiet, being midweek) and lots of friendly service and attention from the 'engaged' staff. After a good night's sleep, took the opportunity to have another swim before tucking in to an excellent breakfast which really set us up for the day. No complaints whatsoever and will undoubtedly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Nigel& Barbara,
Thank you for staying at Cranage Hall.
I was delighted to see you had such a great time
and enjoyed all the facilities at our venue.
It is always especially when our guests highlight our
amazing team and I was thrilled to be able to share such
positive feedback with them - Such inspiration!!

Thank you for the support

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartley whintney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Attended my nieces wedding on 11th April 2014 the night before we checked in and looked forward to a much anticipated family get together only to find they closed the bar at 11pm. No joy either from room service as we were told we couldn't even buy a bottle of wine and charge it to our room. So unless you are T total this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
robertm. Thank you for sharing the feedback from your recent stay at our venue.
We have received great feedback regarding your nieces wedding and especially that we had provided genuine and sincere service throughout the whole celebratory weekend. Therefore I am sorry to see that the unfortunate incident you noted caused you such distress and I apologize that this tarnished your stay.

I thank you for staying with us and providing us with honest and sincere feedback.
This will assist us as we continue to improve and strive in our goal of creating
a truly unique conference and event venue
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd found a great deal and at a Principal Hayley Hotel. Pictures looked great in the web site. Unfortunately what they don't show is that you won't actually be staying in the hall-rather a brick block, similar to Travelodge. Rooms very poor-one easy chair for two people?? , dark n dreary. Food similar to Happy Eater pub chain complete with mind numbing Muzak. Not the best place and have come away feeling 'hoodwinked'

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHERYL190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
CHERYL190744,
Thank you for sharing your comments with the TA community.

We have received some amazing feedback from our guests recently
regarding our venue, especially after the recent refurbishments and
upgrades installed throughout the venue.

However, I am sorry to see that our unique hotel and conference venue did
not suit your needs and that our product offering was not to your liking.
We strive to make every effort in marketing the venue to show it’s full
definition and we have made strenuous efforts on both TA and other online forums
to ensure the correct and up to date information is available.

I appreciate you giving us the opportunity and thank you for your patronage

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Booked a couple of nights package from Travelzoo at Cranage Hall for my hubby & I.
We arrived Friday evening, swiftly checked in & booked our table for (included) dinner, and found room was as lovely as on pictures. After a lovely hot bath (toiletries, soft towels plentiful), we were shown to a table in the dining room where we enjoyed a wonderful meal each. A portion of mixed bread; starters of Pate', Spring Roll; followed by Steak Pie & Smoked Haddock - all beautifully served piping hot, by polite restaurant staff.
The complimentary wine (again part of the package) was happily upgraded to a pinot grigio rose for a couple of pounds in the bar after the meal, for us to enjoy.
After a good night sleep, we were met on both mornings with the most wonderful buffet breakfast with everything one could possibly ask for. All items plentiful & served .piping hot. TIP from day 1: Get toast first - then get breakfast. Tea & coffee brought to tables, & tables cleared of bowls etc swiftly & efficiently, again by polite serving staff.
Despite a wedding there on Sat, (apart from one noisy inconsiderate "lady") we had no noise at all from their guests.
The bedrooms, passageways, communal rooms, bar areas, restaurant, grounds - even the car park - in fact everywhere - was spotlessly clean - a credit to the staff.
The service was faultless - nothing was too much trouble.
We have stayed at what was regarded as a high class hotel recently & been very disppointed - not here - Cranage Hall has restored our faith in the hospitality industry. Thank you.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade - basic rooms are great. Handy access from outlying rooms via corridor doors to C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDogsDooDahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
TheDogsDooDahs,
Wow what an amazing review - sincere, genuine
and very informative.
We appreciate the feedback, but most of all I was
delighted to see you had such an amazing stay
and that our team totally nailed it with outstanding
customer service throughout your stay.

I am glad we restored your trust.......
Come back and see us again soon

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Cranage this weekend for a friends wedding. We have been there before a couple of years ago and were not disappointed. The front of the hall is beautiful with fabulous elegant reception rooms. The wedding was beautifully planned and organised. Plenty of room in the wide corridors for everyone to sit or chatter and children to play whilst photographs were taken. Easy access to outside areas for the smokers.
Lunch was perfect and stunning. Salmon roulade, then thyme chicken and finished by sticky toffee pud and ice cream. It amazed me that with such a large number of people to feed ( I think there were over hundred for lunch) each plate of food was served piping hot and tasted fresh.
The evening reception was equally well planned with again, plenty of space to dance or sit in the lobby and talk. Staff were professional and smooth from initial reception to waiting on and housekeeping.
Drinks particularly expensive though, £6.50 for a small glass of Pinot Grichio, bottled beer the same. Ouch.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Although warm, window opened easily so we were able to access fresh air easily. The bed was especially comfy with a thick mattress topper and lovely thick pillows. Curtains provided perfect blackout with no gaps. Plenty of tea/ coffee and a kettle that was empty - perfect.
Only slightly disappointing thing about our stay though was the breakfast. We were one of the first down at 8am to find food that looked as though it had been sat around for hours. Hard rubbery bacon, fried eggs you could have bounced on the floor, greasy soggy 'fried bread', dried unappealing powdered scrambled eggs. It was so bad, I had only a small amount. Still feeling hungry I went in search of fruit, but could only find melon that looked dried up and stale, croissants that were soggy under cover. Very disappointing after such a perfect meal the day before. Even my coffee tasted awful, not filter, tasted like re heated instant. Such a shame.
The lovely receptionist asked how we had found everything as we were leaving and I mentioned the awful breakfast. She apologised and said she would go and speak to the chef and check what was happening. She also asked if we had mentioned it to the waiting staff - we hadn't done. I would have been even more impressed though if she had taken something off our bill to recompense the awful breakfast!
All in all a lovely clean, spacious hotel, stunning luncheon and all set in a beautiful and charming building with fabulous professional staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
HelenO,
Thank you for posting such a genuine, comprehensive and enlightening review.
Such great information and I appreciate the feedback as this certainly allows
us to improve on the areas that were not up to standard.
I am delighted you had such a great time at the wedding and
I am sorry that breakfast was such a disappointing experience. As you will
know from previous postings on TA, our breakfast service is one, that is
consistently noted as being one of the highlights of our venue by our guests.
However on this occasion, it appears something went wrong and for that, I apologize.

Come back and see us again soon.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from brilliant stay at cranage hall, had to write a review on it.
Wife organised it for my birthday, she'd obviously mentioned it to hotel as they'd written me a card and left it in our room (103) which was a nice touch.
The staff were excellent, food was brilliant, gym and sauna were of high standard too, very clean.
Also booked into have a massage too which was very good


Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Just1MoreTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Ben F,
Great to see you had such a good time at Cranage Hall!
Thank youfor staying with us

We look forward to seeing you again
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,121 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
949 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing