We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The following review will explain the title.
We arrived on a Sunday to be greeted by a very nice and helpful receptionist. Having booked in we went to our room which was situated on the ground floor of the rear of a new accommodation block. The room was spacious and clean and was better than any Premier Inn we have stayed at.
In the room was a bottle of wine which was part of our package. With the wine, was a note stating that if we wished to change it then all we needed to do was ring the bar and it would be exchanged.
We went down in the early evening and had dinner in the restaurant. We ordered drinks and food at the same time. Our starter duly arrived before the drinks. We asked where the drinks were and it would appear that they had been forgotten. The food was of excellent quality and the service was very good. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
In respect of our room there were several issues the first being that the walls appeared to be paper thin. We could hear everything in the adjoining rooms and some noise from rooms further down. The main issue was that when someone used the bathroom, either to run a bath, shower or use the toilet, the noise was so loud that it sounded as though they were in your own.
We were woken shortly after 6am, when the occupants of an adjoining room woke up and started to get ready. Not only were we disturbed by the bathroom noise but also the shutting of drawers and wardrobe doors.
We could hear some road noise but this was in no way obtrusive.
Having been woken early we were looking forward to our breakfast. At 8.45am we went to the restaurant where we shown to a table. We were told that it was a buffet breakfast and to go and help ourselves. We went and got a bowl of fruit from an excellent selection at the buffet. We had only just started eating our fruit when the lady who had shown us to our table came and asked us for our breakfast order as the buffet was closing. It was queried as to whether due to the fact that we had booked through Groupon that we were not eligible for the buffet breakfast. The lady stated that this was not the case, but the General Manager had issued instructions that the buffet would close at 9am and all breakfasts would be cooked fresh. We duly ordered our breakfast. When the breakfast arrived it was clear that some of the items had not been cooked fresh. It was disappointing and we certainly put on the spot when asked what we wanted. The main issue around this was why were we not told on arrival that the breakfast stopped at 9am and why was it offered to us when we were shown to our table.
A very good packed lunch was provided by the hotel, which was again part of our package.
To summarise the hotel offered a lot but unfortunately failed to deliver as a whole.

Room Tip: Difficult, as it would appear all the rooms are of a similar construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandgtravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for you review and so sorry you were disturbed by other residents. Breakfast during the week is open until 9.30am. When we are quieter the Restaurant Manager or supervisor at a time of their choosing will move to plated service to ensure all our guests receive a freshly cooked breakfast.

Kind Regards
Richard Morrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    414
    208
    104
    58
See reviews for
164
503
16
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for a weekend to celebrate a family occasion. We found the hotel to be really good, clean with nice reception areas. The rooms are a decent size and although not particularly luxurious, they provide everything you need.

Really liked the little touches of free fruit, biscuits and coffee machines for hotel guests to take / use.

The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and evening meal was also good considering the mass serving arranagement.

Be aware that this is very much a wedding / big group style place; I'm not sure it would be right for a romantic couples break but suited our trip perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for a good review. Guests please dont be put off if romance is "in the air." Our Byley suite is magnificent and over looks are beautiful grounds plus you can visit are spa, leisure facilities and our great Tempus Restaurant. Kind Regards Richard Morrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Usually when I stay in this area I opt for the Travelodge, but I was tempted by a 56 pound nightly rate at Cranage Hall.

It looks great. Impressive entrance; imposing driveway; lovely building. The reception staff were fine. As I walked to my room passing the lounge area and conference rooms I was pretty pleased with myself.

But then I got to my room and found I'd been magically transported to a travelodge. There was simply no difference - mouldy grout on the tiles, pokey bathroom. At least the travelodge has double beds.

Things were sure to improve at breakfast, right? Ah, but I'd foolishly not checked that breakfast was included. That cost another 20 pounds.

While I walked around I saw a couple of rooms in the process of being cleaned. They looked much nicer than mine. The omen as always seems to be 'You get what you pay for'.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squarebear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and many apologies to hear about the accomodation. I will personally check the room and rectify any faults.
I would question politely theTravelodge comparison? - All rooms are of simliar high standard we do have a modern Bar and Restaurant, first class leisure with large swimming pool, grand lounge, complimentry parking. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks
Level Contributor
256 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is set in its own grounds and is very private, you get a little road noise if you are at the back of the hotel but it is not too intrusive.
We were welcomed by very pleasant and friendly staff who guided us to our room, which was a bit of a trek as the hotel has a number of extensions to the main house.
We had an executive room which was a nice size with a large bed and small sitting area with desk, the room had tea and coffee making facilities and bathrobes.
The bathroom was also a good size with toiletries and plenty of towels, the shower screen leaked which left a large puddle on the floor, and should be corrected.
We used the gym which was full of equipment, both aerobic and weights, it was amusing that they also had a Mars bar machine outside the gym entrance.
The food was good and there are plenty of bar areas for you to relax, typical hotel prices for the bar but this is normal.
Breakfast was good with lots of choice of either hot or cold.
My only complaint aside from the shower screen, would be no air-conditioning, I can imagine in summer that the room would become very hot.
Yes the hotel does need some TLC as parts of it did feel worn, but overall it is well worth a try

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry about the TLC. The team daily work and walk the hotel using detailed checklists to avoid any shortfalls. Please be reassured we will redouble or efforts to present our hotel to our normal very high standards.
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at Cranage Hall for two nights for a corporate event. Staff all very friendly especially at the reception. Organised a very early morning taxi for a colleague who was flying at 7.30 on the Sunday. Bedrooms clean and functional as would be expected at a business hotel, but as someone else said you can hear noises from other rooms. Bar snack took about 30 mins for a burger, but was fine when it came. Bar has pool table and plenty of seating space. Breakfast was cooked to order so fresh. Management of the conference was very good - lunch varied and the evening meal was better than you sometimes get at large catering events. Overall good experience and would recommend as a conference venue, but its not really a luxury small intimate type place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my daughter's birthday. After mixed reviews we were a bit apprehensive. We needn't have been as from start to finish it was perfect. When we arrived a wedding party was just arriving and we were worried that they might takeover. We didn't need to worry as the hotel is so big and well designed it didn't affect us. On check in the staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and spacious and a card and chocolates had been left for my daughter which was a lovely touch. My daughter and her friend went swimming in the spa which is now between 2 - 4 which was fine. We then went to the Tempus bar which was really good as they had games for the kids and a nice sitting area for adults. We had afternoon tea which was lovely. We then had a walk around the gardens and the hotel. They have plenty of nice seating areas, a lovely snooker room and it was much better than our original expectations. We had a really nice meal in the restaurant in the evening and once again the staff were amazing,especially Lucy who was great with the kids and organised the birthday cake we had bought with us. The bed was very comfortable but the walls are a little thin so we did have a little noise when people were returning to their room, but wasn't a big problem. Breakfast the next morning was lovely even though it was very busy. It was very well organised with plenty of choice. We were very sorry to leave and just wished we had a longer stay. The hotel is perfect for couples and families and I for one would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for a great review so pleased it was a perfect stay. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The frontage of the hotel is spectacular which may have raised my expectations a little. I thought the rooms were pretty much standard as you would get in a Premier Inn, though very clean. Our room overlooked the bin yard, with no view to speak of(if you like bins that's fine), the room was fairly dark. I heard next door go to the toilet several times...hmmmmm. Enquired about a move/upgrade but was told that there were no other rooms available. Rooms are in the several newer wings amongst the corporate presentation facilities.

Food was excellent and beautifully presented. For the evening meal there was a great variety with a morning buffet catering for all tastes. Bar staff tried to pass off a small glass of wine for a large which was corrected.

The leisure facilities were fine with very helpful staff in the leisure reception.

Generally Cranage appears geared up to the corporate guest, difficult to fully chill out and relax in a busy environment. Numerous signs warning that the complimentary cakes\ coffee etc were for delegates only.

Room Tip: Not sure i could
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeBeeShrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the review and sorry we were only "ok" in some areas. I will course try and call you direct to apologise and receive furthur feedback. Future guests please note no bedrooms over look the binn area. This area is fenced off.
Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,120 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
949 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing