We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not somewhere for a romantic break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Feel a little bit like we were mis-sold the hotel, you don't get to stay in the building shown in the pictures, rather a 1990s complex that feels like Butlins. See the picture (the view from the room) or check out the site on google maps first to see.

Soft beds = bad back in the morning, if you've managed to sleep - the walls must be made of paper; you hear everything from the adjoining rooms, and when people walk down the corridor it sounds like they're in the room.

The bath is also very small, and they were having water supply issues so didn't actually get a hot shower in the room.

Friendly staff though and decent food, so if it was a business trip I can see how it'd be liked. But definitely not a great place for a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just got home from spending a night at Cranage Hall on their £99 special deal through Travelzoo. I don't understand why the place wasn't packed full, because it really is a super good deal. The evening meal was delicious, I had the chicken over wild mushroom risotto. Breakfast had all the options, fresh fruit, cereals, full English cooked breakfast and the coffee was good too. There was a pretty good bottle of wine waiting for us In the room on arrival. We were given tickets for a stately home, but unfortunately, this was not open until the end of the month, though we could have used the tickets and visited the gardens, it was too cold to do that... The tickets can be used later In the year.
The bed was a standard double size, but, it was really comfortable, and though usually I find hotel beds hard to get used to, I slept we'll In this bed. The hotel was quiet, the pool a decent size and all in all very elegant and the staff were very nice. Definitely have no hesitation in recommending this place and will go back. It's a place to unwind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed some great Cheshire hospitality.
Hope to see you again soon.
Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was running an event for around 50 colleagues and the staff made my life so much easier. Half my time is usually spent running around chasing for small things to be fixed, changed, sorted etc, but at Cranage the team were exceptionally professional, pre-empted small requests (no big ones were required!) and from house keeping and reception to the events and ops teams, all were very very friendly. I have booked our next event without hesitation.
The only reason not to mark this review with a 5 is simply as other reviewers have mentioned some of the accomm is a little tired but the team on site definitely make up for this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay at this hotel on business a couple of times per month because of its location. The reception staff are always extremely welcoming and professional. Because of its layout all the bedrooms seem miles from reception and of course you always get allocated a room that is the furthest away! The rooms are clean but I cannot understand why the bathrooms have no heating and you simply freeze when using them. Some rooms require an update and appear a little tired. perhaps this is the time to put in heating? The bar area is not what I and my colleagues call welcoming. It does not appear to have any character and is purely functional. We are never surprised when we ask to purchase nibbles that quote 'we are awaiting a delivery'. As this has happened every time in a row I am sure there must be a reason. The bar staff themselves do not appear over concerned and give the impression that it is 'only a job'! The breakfast is good if you get in early as 'hot buffet counters' never improve cooked foods. The choice is varied and will satisfy most. As a seasoned business hotel user it falls into the fair + category.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, we aim to be more then reasonable but the very best. I am so sorry to read about some of your comments and will call you direct to discuss and restore your confidence in the services which we let you down.

All rooms and bathrooms are fully heated and over one million pounds was recently spent on our new Tempus Bar and Restaurant concept. Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went there for a training course from The Caravan club. The hotel is set in its own grounds with ample parking. There is a leisure centre and indoor heated pool, all free for guests. Also there is free wifi. Staff were very friendly and efficient. There was an abundance of food, great choice, although drinks were a bit pricy. Free coffee and tea all day. Rooms were satisfactory and housekeeping good, although it was a little on the chilly side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Susan So pleased you enjoyed and had a great training course see you all again in March Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a big hotel which is set in the Cheshire countryside but only 5 minutes from the motorway. It would be an ideal hotel for conferences and residential courses and is close to Tatton Park. Good facilities, clean, and has a nice bar and lovely restaurant. The staff are very polite and professional too. In general this is a hotel which can be recommended
The only complaint I had (which I asked reception to report to the housekeeper) concerned our bedding. The duvet had a 3cm hole in it, and the top cover had several unpleasant looking stains on it. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask if you can stay in the main building, rather than the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WILIIAM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and sorry for the shortfall with housekeeping. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lookin forward to our romantic stay ,lookin forward to the rest! But not to be as our bed was very very soft. Had to sleep on the floor. what a waste money! Never in all our extensive travel have we come across this and staff could not be bothered. Shame as hotel and food was good . So if u like sleepin on a waterbed then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj4v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear JJ4V,

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your recent review. I am happy to read you found the hotel and food very good. I would however like to point out that if you had made anyone at the hotel aware of your issue whilst here I have absolutely no doubt this could have been resolved quickly and with little disruption to you. I can assure you that Crange Hall desires all guests to have a comfortable and relaxing stay and would not expect anyone to sleep on the floor under any circumstances. I have written to you personally as I would like the opportunity to discuss this further. Anyone reading this review that has concerns please feel free to contact me directly on 01477 536666.

Regards

Matt

Matthew Brierley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
992 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,714 reviews
24 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range: $98 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing