We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of potential let down by poor execution!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plenty of potential let down by poor execution!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The conference part of the hotel is modern and feels completely different from the nursing home feel, bar doesn't suit the Country hall aesthetic and let's itself down massively with food that doesn't meet the budget standards of somewhere like Premier Inn. Plenty of potential, seriously questionable execution!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and will call you direct for more detail feedback. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    405
    204
    101
    57
See reviews for
157
493
16
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We returned to Cranage Hall for a second visit at a discounted price as our first stay for a special occasion was a total disaster, we found the customer service was not good at all, we booked in the restaurant and we got to the restaurant to find an evening party was being held in there, not then clear were to go ? we got escorted to a conference room to eat our meal!!! and also to find our table was not ready, yet we booked this 4 hours before. We had to ask reception staff alot of information - not helpful at all!!

SECOND VISIT: Was much better than the first time however we would not return. We used the spa facilities which needs a make over as it looks a communal swimming pool, on going back to changing room there was a man mopping the showers and i was told to use the end shower while he mopped, this is totally unacceptable as he stayed in the female changing rooms while i got dressed and i had to go and shower in my room! Our room also had a strong smell of drains.

You are also in contact with the wedding functions as the bar area seems to be in a corridor so you seem to be constantly walking through the wedding guests this has happened on both occasions, not something i feel comfortable with when coming back from the spa!

Breakfast was very good although very crowded. Parking isnt very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a two night break at this hotel;Food was very tasty,Tiny bath ,TV was of poor quality,no teletex.
There was a wedding on both days, this did not disturb our stay.
Plenty of choice at breakfast.All staff very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Had a quiet room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We cannot thank the staff of Cranage Hall enough for the superb job they made of organising this weekend for us. The wedding could not have gone better and I'm beginning to wonder if they also arranged the amazing weather we had too! The food was delicious and we felt totally looked after.The staff are kind and caring and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.The bride and groom still haven't returned from cloud 9 and that is, in part thanks, to all at Cranage Hall. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_ewing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at Cranage Hall as part of a BSI lead auditor course on a residential basis. For this purpose, this hotel is ideal, there are plenty of meeting rooms of different sizes on both floors and all have everything required including flip charts, projectors and even a rail around the room to hold flip chart pages.
The room I stayed in was in the rear extension and had everything I required for my stay. The bathroom was clean and well fitted out and the bed had just the right comfort factor.
The TV was of a very poor quality. It was an early flatscreen design and could not adjust to widescreen format. There was a shadow burnt into the screen which proved to be somewhat annoying. There are only a few channels to choose from, but evenings were pretty much used up with studying so this wasn't an issue.
There is free WIFI, but you have to log back in every 30 minutes or pay for extended use to stop this happening.
Breakfast was good with a varied selection including a special each day. Lunch is a buffet selection with a good choice and varied throughout the week. During my 5 night stay I managed to sample several items from the evening dinner menu and can recommend the chicken tikka masala on curry night as my favourite. The burgers are also very good, but don't have a starter if you want to finish one!
The leisure club has pool, jacuzzi, a good gym, snooker and table tennis. The snooker table was in a pretty sorry state. One cue was damaged and we had to take it in turns because whoever used it was severly disadvantaged. There was no white ball although there were two yellows so we just used the paler yellow one as the white!
This hotel is aimed towards meetings and conferences for which it serves well, but not really a first choice for couples or families.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the courtyard as people tend to gather here to smoke in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damasinnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

First time at this hotel, didn't realise it was located in Holmes Chapel and really great access from the m6 motorway. Set its own grounds with good car parking. Attended a two day work event with an overnight stay. The First thing to note is the refreshment bars - superb a good selection of beverages with snacks and not your normal one cup per delegate. Breakout facilities are superb everything well thought through. Seminar rooms are air conditioned, uncluttered and well laid out. The only challenge is noisy neighbours with only a partition between you and your neighbours. If all parties behave not a problem. Hotel rooms just amazing everything for an overnight stay. Iron, trouser press, great showers and a spacious room probably the best conference bedroom I have experienced. Leisure facilities great and worth using. Food is what you would expect variety, plenty of it and of a good quality. I understand delegate rate was competitive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank swimmeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So pleased your meeting went so well, Thanks for the review Richad Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent a week here with colleagues on a training course. Really enjoyed my stay.

Nice efficient check-in with wi-fi connection details provided without me having to ask. The rooms are average, has everything you need but could do with sprucing up a bit as they are looking a bit tired. The noise from adjacent rooms was a bit of a problem during the night as I was frequently woken up by toilets being flushed. The bed was fairly comfortable and sleep quality wasn't too bad....apart from the toilet noise! Room size was ok and were kept clean by housekeeping.

Used the restaurant for breakfast and lunch and can't complain about the food. I'm not too keen on buffet style restaurants but this one was well above average.

Food and drink in the bar was a different story. They frequently ran out of beer, bottled and draught. The food always took forever to arrive, and some members of our group ended up getting their meals for free due to the length of time it took. It was also very expensive. I've never known a burger cost £14 - not in the UK anyway!

The other facilities such as the pool, steam room and sauna were really good.

All in all, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonComer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the review Glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the beer issue. Cheese Burger (100%BEEF) is large and comes with fries and salad and no more expensive then high steeet restaurants and hotels. So pleased you found food quality to a high standard. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,076 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,445 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing