We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the Chairman ordered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just what the Chairman ordered!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

First time at this hotel, didn't realise it was located in Holmes Chapel and really great access from the m6 motorway. Set its own grounds with good car parking. Attended a two day work event with an overnight stay. The First thing to note is the refreshment bars - superb a good selection of beverages with snacks and not your normal one cup per delegate. Breakout facilities are superb everything well thought through. Seminar rooms are air conditioned, uncluttered and well laid out. The only challenge is noisy neighbours with only a partition between you and your neighbours. If all parties behave not a problem. Hotel rooms just amazing everything for an overnight stay. Iron, trouser press, great showers and a spacious room probably the best conference bedroom I have experienced. Leisure facilities great and worth using. Food is what you would expect variety, plenty of it and of a good quality. I understand delegate rate was competitive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank swimmeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So pleased your meeting went so well, Thanks for the review Richad Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    406
    204
    101
    57
See reviews for
158
494
16
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent a week here with colleagues on a training course. Really enjoyed my stay.

Nice efficient check-in with wi-fi connection details provided without me having to ask. The rooms are average, has everything you need but could do with sprucing up a bit as they are looking a bit tired. The noise from adjacent rooms was a bit of a problem during the night as I was frequently woken up by toilets being flushed. The bed was fairly comfortable and sleep quality wasn't too bad....apart from the toilet noise! Room size was ok and were kept clean by housekeeping.

Used the restaurant for breakfast and lunch and can't complain about the food. I'm not too keen on buffet style restaurants but this one was well above average.

Food and drink in the bar was a different story. They frequently ran out of beer, bottled and draught. The food always took forever to arrive, and some members of our group ended up getting their meals for free due to the length of time it took. It was also very expensive. I've never known a burger cost £14 - not in the UK anyway!

The other facilities such as the pool, steam room and sauna were really good.

All in all, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonComer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for the review Glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the beer issue. Cheese Burger (100%BEEF) is large and comes with fries and salad and no more expensive then high steeet restaurants and hotels. So pleased you found food quality to a high standard. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Cranage Hall had been a mental asylum before its current hotel incarnation & the institutional feel remains. It's best as a Conference Centre, having excellent facilites for large groups. The wi-fi is obtained through a complex sign-in system with a scratch card, which you have to ask for at Reception. There is a first-class Gym & Swimming Pool, 18 m. which is clean & well-run. The restaurant is excellent, with good staff, and a tasty buffet at breakfast & lunch. But the rooms, esp. those in the Annexe are very minimal. The insulation between the rooms is poor; your neighbours seem to be IN your room, something I hate. It's a maze of corridoors & staircases,
and you can have a very long walk to get to the main hotel. Grounds are lovely, the staff efficient & the car parking is excellent but I shan't be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you get into the main old house, not in the adjoining Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Without sounding confrontational Cranage Hall was not a mental asylum it was a fine NHS Hospital for people with learning difficulties. The hotel was built on the site from new and intetgrated tastefully with the manor house which is now the reception.
So pleased you enjoyed first class service and great food all with complimentary parking in great grounds (Surely worth the small walk to your room) Hope to see you soon Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed overnight following our son's wedding nearby. Impressive facade and grounds; the hotel is large and slightly impersonal. The rooms are large and very well equipped and immaculately presented. We had a good bath and a quiet night’s sleep after an exciting day. Breakfast comprised a huge range of dishes with the traditional options well cooked and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and there were no unpleasant surprises with the bill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Great review and typical of what 99.9% of our guests experience, thank you so much and hope to see you soon Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently spent a week here along with a number of colleagues on a management traing course. The facilities for this type of event are excellent, very large rooms, very well equiped and excellent staff to assist with extras that are required and nothing is too much trouble.
The Gym and swimming pool are excellent and the gym is very well equiped.
The rooms are OK but it's like sleeping in an office, it has everything but lacks any nice touches or atmosphere, it's just a box a very drab box. The sleep quality was not good, this was due to other guests making a noise either by letting doors slam, talking in the corridors, talking in their rooms or by going to the toilet. The sleeping part of the hotel is just like a cheap budget hotel with no noise insulation at all, I could hear very clearly the people either side of me and above going to the toilet, it sounded like they were in the room with me.
It's also worth noting the rooms had no air conditioning so if you were staying here in the summer it could get very warm as the road noise was too high to leave the window open all night.
The breakfast in the morning is a buffet style and has everything you could possibly want, cannot fault this at all.
The service in the general hotel is auwful and mainly provided by very young inexperienced staff.
House keeping, my room had been cleaned but no soap or shampoo in the room so I had to ask, next day same problem again, others in my group had the same experience.
The bar was a disaster, they kept running out of beer even on the day they had a delivery, the food service in bar has to be one of the worst I have ever experienced and please look at my Trip Advisor name so I have been doing this for a while, A number of us ended up not paying for the food becuse it took so long to arrive. The quality of the food was average at best, £14 for a dry bun with chicken a couple of pieces of lettuce, a slice of tomato and cue with a few chips and a coleslaw, nobody asks if you want any sauces etc.
If your looking to plan an event then this place is good, if your looking for a nice country hotel for a weekend away then I would not. In the room was a survey to complete with a free stay as a prize, I did not complete this as I was worried I might win.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsince1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have no need for air con in the rooms noting fully ventilated. (we would ove a hot summer!!!)
We clearly were not at our best but the evening meal was not the fault of the team as you already know. Please can I clarify only one beer run out and the issue was resolved straight away. I will contact you and restore your faith in all aspects of our service at Cranage Hall. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very pleased with my experience here, really nice hotel, friendly staff as well. The rooms are good however the best features are the great gym and fantastic swimming pool facilities.
This is a really nice place for a getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duststorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this hotel from photographs thinking we would have a superb experience in a beautiful old building. The main building is lovely but the block where the bedrooms are, and I agree with other views, is no more than Travel Inn quality. We booked an executive room - it had one chair! The room was small and we could barely walk around the bed. Room was badly lit even with lights - very small window which hardly let light in at all. We were in a room built in a square which overlooked the outside overflow area from the bar which was noisy. We had no view at all although there are acres of fields. A wedding had been held with sreaming children running amoke the entire evening and next morning but not a word from managment although the staff knew these children were ruining the enjoyment of other guests. When will management learn to keep loud drunk wedding guests separate from others. Only good point was breakfast which could not be faulted with a large choice. Dinner ok although nothing above the ordinary. This was certainly not an executive experience.

Room Tip: If you are staying here ask for a room overlooking the fields if you want a view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyld0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback and sorry we did not meet your expectations I will contact you direct to discuss how we can restore your faith in Cranage Hall. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing