We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Dont listen to other reviews i stayed here as i attended a wedding on the 29th october and it was great from check in to rooms and the wedding was wonderful with the staff and manger making it a very memerable day ,the way you are looked after is amazing well done to you all !!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

The main accommodation is in a huge extension from the main hall so be prepared for a significant stroll to your bedroom- might not be suitable for someone with a mobility challenge. Food was ok with shop bought meringue for desert a little dissapointing.
There was an exhibition taking place on the morning I left with the main thoroughfare thronged with visitors and stalls so getting out with a case was difficult.
Good basic business travel facilitated for.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thankyou for your review and I willl redouble my efforts to ensure that all are guests find the food to be excellent Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We booked 2 nights to celebrate a family christening and get together,positives great facilities size wise function room but it is a function hotel.When we arrived we were greeted by family outside on the lawn starting to celebrate weekend,our host made 3 or 4 trips into the bar for jugs of pims and various drinks all the empty glasses built up outside with no one collecting empties we collected and left in one place out of reach of many children running about.Wedding party there at same time empty beer bottles in plant pots at entrance,cigarette dumps all lying around outside reception (manager says i qoute he will not have proper cigarette bin there as it will encourage people to smoke in that area !Evening meal was ok but struggled to find staff to get your wine that was pre paid for in package with meal ,some people had finished meal when they turned up.First night got no sleep until the wedding party who were having great fun and why not dispersed about 3am from area in quadrant which all internal rooms looked out onto.!Day we checked out we left by mistake £500 on top of safe we realised up the m6 and rang up room had not been cleaned but cash stolen!told police and when we spoke to manager he said this is the first time we have had theft of this ammount ! Did not want to accept liability and no goodwill,when i suggested trip advisor report he said in that case he would not try to hard to find culprit,that speaks for itself,lots of staff very nice and helpfull but if you want a break and peace NOT the place for you,functions manager very helpfull did ring back told me staff had been questioned etc ,first negative i have done on trip advisor but people need to know.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

The team treated this matter very seriously and noting we have never had a reported theft from a room of this scale we called the police not the reviewer. They found are securty to be a very high standard. The money was lost not stolen and more than likely not at Cranage Hall.
No exuse for the poor standards but these were exaggerated by the reviewer when I refused to refund £500. Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We booked the £200 Travelzoo deal (2 nights, dinner 1 night, breakfast both mornings, chester zoo tickets and a bottle of wine)

We were expecting grand things however we left thinking the staff could have done a bit more.

As per the other reviews, don't expect to be staying in the hall in the photos, all accomodation is in an annexe style building that on the outside looks like a budget range hotel.

We arrived quite late (9pm) on the first night so we declined to take our dinner on the first night. As per the other reviews too, the signage in this place was somewhat confusing and lacking - please do review our feedback and overhaul the signage!

The room itself was fine, we overlooked the fields at the back and it was relatively modern. The walls that seperate the rooms must be made of paper! We could hear everything in the room next door, what tv channel they were watching, when they frequented the bathroom and other nocturnal activities!

It's a shame however that the free bottle of wine in the room as part of the deal on arrival was missing - I would have loved a glass after 6 hours of driving!

We ordered room service that evening and the club sandwich was delicous and good value.

Small bit of feedback, but we both found the pillows were too small and uncomfy!

Breakfast was a buffet style affair, food itself was good however it was a shame that the restaurant was half full and had plenty of staff but not once in the 30 minutes we were there did any of them ask us if we wanted a tea or coffee - never mind.

We left for a day trip by 10am and upon our return at 5.30pm we were surprised to see the maid hadn't been - no fresh towels, room service tray still there etc. To be fair, a call to reception did result in a maid bringing fresh towels and removing the rubbish but come on, the room should have been cleaned hours ago!

We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner as part of the deal and one of us ordered their room service again (we were charged £28 for a burger, chips, pint of coke, eton mess and tray charge) seemed a lot on reflection but served us right for not checking/keeping the receipt properly.

There was also a murder mystery weekend going on, and this hotel is very corporate and event focussed - didn't affect us too much, but as one of their leisure visitors, perhaps that's why staff attention wasn't up to scratch.

I would go back again, just a shame it wasn't perfect this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Sorry we let you down in some places with our great value chester zoo two night package, pleased you still enjoyed and would return.
I will ensure that your next visit you experience are normal high level of quality and service. Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Overall, the staff, facilities and food were lovely. The let down is the rooms.

We had a lovely night here. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Sky Sports and free wi-fi were also a nice touch. The downside is the rooms. They lack character, are boxy and a little tired in places but are still very clean and not uncomfortable. But overall for the price I expected a little more hence the average mark above.

I'd suggest as a place to stay it is probably better for a business traveller rather than a weekend break for couples given the price of a room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar but ask for one near either the reception or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunobensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Attended a wedding here. Food was excellent. Rooms were very nice. Drinks prices were ridiculous. £5.95 for a small glass of wine. £3.70 for a coca cola. Staff were very nice. Surroundings and gardens to Cranage Hall were beautiful. A lovely place for a one off experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived at around 4pm to meet up with my daughter and her finace to 'acknowledge' my dad's birthday (he had died the year before). My daughter and her finace were already there and had taken advantage of the lovely pool and jacuzzi. Although our room was on the lower ground floor (room 149) it was a decent size and clean. However, the bed was rather small for a double with only two pillows although we found two more pillows in the wardrobe which we used. My daughter's room was similar (room 148) but her bed and general furnishings were more modern looking. Ours were in need of a bit of updating.

As mentioned by another reviewer, we also had to walk through a wedding reception - rather a strange set up - to get to the leisure club and when we had drinks in the bar downstairs before dinner, the far end of the room was set up for the wedding guests with sandwiches and cakes etc. Not my idea of the best wedding reception but hey ... not my choice. There were two or three other couples in the bar while the wedding guests were milling around at the far end.

We had dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised that the prices were reasonable - £5 for starters, £15 for main course and £5 for puddings. Simple! I'm a vegetarian and so is my partner but we found the choice to be okay (although I had a salad starter as a main with added side dishes of potatoes and vegetables). The wine was also reasonably priced at around £15 for a decent bottle of Shiraz. Following dinner, we had drinks in the bar (a bit pricey).

Breakfast was good - buffet style served in the restaurant, with plenty of choice even for veggies - cereal, fruit, toast, bread, scrambled and fried eggs, beans, mushroom and tomatoes plus the usual bacon and sausages. Coffee, tea and fruit juices.

All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful and had obviously been trained (sometimes this is unusual in UK hotels!) We did mention the small bed as we checked out and the receptionist said it had been mentioned a number of times by various guests. Let's hope they remember that when they refurbish.

We live in Oxfordshire now but I was born and brought up in the Sandbach area. Cranage Hall was a psychiatric hospital when I was a teenager and my dad used to do some work there. Quite an iconic place for me and my daughter because we both remembered what dad had to say about it. It was a nostalgic visit and we were happy with what we encountered during our stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a twin room next time because the double bed was rather narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIchardmorrell, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for your constuctive review so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,036 reviews
24 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
14 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range: $97 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing