We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Cheshire's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not Cheshire's best”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is basically a business/conference/function hotel and not really geared for families especially those who like to swim.

Most of the rooms are in extensions to the old part of the hotel. They are a bit tired compared to most hotels in this price range and lacking in some aspects. For example, the room did not have a full-length mirror which we ladies need when getting ready for a function. Also the hotel was mean with its toiletries and hospitality tray. There were no de-caf, biscuits or hot chocolate.

I attended a charity function which was well-organized by the charity and the sponsor but the service provided by the banquetting staff was poor. The tables were not cleared after the dessert and when they were finally cleared towards the end of the evening, everything was cleared including our drinks!. The food itself was not remarkable: the main was blade of beef in a red wine jus but it tasted and looked like poor quality braising steak. I can't believe that this was served at a function dinner. The dessert was no better. It was a damson mess and indeed it was because the fruit should have been left on the tree to ripen instead of being hidden beneath a mound of sweet cream. Where was the meringue? Things didn't improve with the coffee: cold, weak insipid. When someone asked the waiter for some hot coffee she was given a jug of lukewarm water.

Breakfast fared no better. Too few and inxeperienced staff who didn't know what they were doing. Ours couldn't remember one tea and one coffee. She came back four times before she got it right but there were no lemons to be had in the whole hotel to go with the Earl Grey tea. It was a serve-yourself buffet with lukewarm, dried-up bacon and sausage. There were no scrambled eggs and it took 20 minutes before they were replenished. There was a huge queue at the toasting machine. A 4 star hotel should not be making you wait in a queue for toast. Again coffee was undrinkable.

This is an attractive looking hotel in beautiful grounds but for the money they charge it should be much better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincerre applogies. I do thougth find your comments not a true reflection of the event and service received.

I do accept one complaint about the beef and service from 300 guests attending is still one too many and I will share with the team.

I was thougth pleased last week to receive praise from the commitee having spoken to many guests who commented that the vast majority of the 299 guests attending gave great feedback about the meal and service had as a result pleased the organising commitee have chosen again Cranage Hall for their next event.

Richard Morrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    409
    204
    103
    58
See reviews for
160
498
17
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Have stayed here previously and had a good stay. This occasion had the misfortune to be staying on the weekend a wedding was taking place. All ok until 3am when loud and rowdy guests in the room next door arrive back from the function, they are still loudly partying in the room at 6am, despite a call to reception at 430am.
I was later informed that the said guest was charged a disturbance fee, and there had been several complaints.
The walls are paper thin and people can be heard using the toilet.

Well equipped gym and large swimming pool. Poor cleanliness of floors in wet areas of pool and changing rooms.

Overall the staff are friendly and do their best to make your stay pleasant. Unfortunately poor soundproofing and behaviour of other guests can have a negative impact.
Set in beautiful grounds with lovely views from the rooms over prime cheshire countryside.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the fields at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArabianRose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle england
Level Contributor
226 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The receptionists were not brillliant, but the floor staff made up for it with their pleasant efficiency. The place is well placed and clearly constucted to a budget, not necessarily reflected in the price. The leisure centre is fine: public spaces ok, Breakfast was disappointing, not enough fruit and the cheapest sort of rubbish bread and rubbery fried eggs. The internet was supposed to be free and indeed it was, but one had to acquire an access code and then activate it by calling reception: what is that all about? It is not as though people would come in off the street and steal their bandwidth given that the drive to the hotel is a mile long!

Room Tip: Get one away from corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

After a trip to a similar style London hotel the week before, this hotel was infinitely better and felt more homely. We stayed here as a family for three nights and had on the whole a lovely stay. The staff are their biggest asset as we found them all to be knowledgable, friendly and helpful.

The rooms and indeed the hotel was very clean and well cared for. You can't escape the fact that it is a hotel focused predominantly on business travellers and the rooms are housed, as others have stated in purpose built blocks rather than the lovely old house. However, we had a young child with us and he was made very welcome. Staff were great in procuring ping pong balls, table football balls etc to keep him entertained whilst we finished eating. The cleaning staff were also lovely. Our rooms were always cleaned well and it was lovely to not feel overly concerned about leaving belongings in your room.

Breakfast is a buffet and again a nicely relaxed affair. There is plenty of choice and staff are happy to replenish anything and cook fresh eggs when asked. (So no need for hard fried eggs here!) Bar food is nice but too expensive.

The only downside is the health-spa. It is a great facility and well maintained (tennis court is a bit tired) and was one of the main reasons that my mum had booked our break here. However, they really need to make it more transparent that under 16s are EXTREMELY limited in their use of both the pool and the tennis court.

We were there mid-week and my son was only allowed to use either between 3 and 4pm. A) obviously he couldn't use both at once and B) this time-slot is useless when you're on holiday and usually out for the day. I understand that the spa has private members, but well behaved and parent supervised children shouldn't really offend swimming adults that much should they? Anyway, I had quite rightly a most unhappy child who we ended up taking to the pool in Knutsford..

The tennis court was not used at all that we noted and thankfully, the lovely staff made an exception and let us use it for a bit outside of the hour slot.

All in all - a romantic break hotel? wouldn't be top of my list. A clean, well run and friendly establishment it is. Extremely well located for the M6 (no you can't hear it) and lovely countryside nearby. We would go back and stay at others in the chain. Just don't attempt going for a run outside in the country-lanes as the Cheshire drivers will use you as target practice.. and please do something about loosening up leisure restrictions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out onto the countryside, rather than one in a courtyard with a view of me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Before I start everything I am about to mention in this review has been put in writing to the general manager.

We were booked in fas part of a group booking for our friends wedding (the wedding was not held at this hotel, but one locally)
We decided to extend our stay bu an additional night, to include the night prior to the wedding so we could use the leasure facilities and the idea was to have a couple of treatments in the leisure club to relax and prepare for the wedding we were photographing and attending.

We called the hotel reservation line 2 months prior to the arrival date to extend the reservation. Nobody could find our booking initially - it took 3 calls to the hotel before they eventually found the booking. We were quoted a price higher than what is advertised on the website.....so beware - check the price before you book!! Anyhow, they finally extended our stay by an additional night.....

We arrived at the hotel at 4pm on the check in day and was given the usual information by a rather surly young lady who was the "reception shift supervisor" She then informed us we could only use the swimming pool between 3 & 4pm because we had a child under 16!!!! WHAT!!!!!! When asked why she said "its our policy - it does say on the website" .....no further explination. Would I have known this prior to booking we would not have even contemplated staying at the hotel for an additional night. On the website it does state children swimming times.....however NO TIMES ARE STATED. We were extremely annoyed about this was the main reason for booking an additional night.

We were then given a room key....baring in mind we had booked a family room cos we have an 21 month old daughter needing a cot....we arrived at the room to find out we had been given a standard double room......back to reception & we were given another room.....another trek through the hotel took us to ANOTHER DOUBLE ROOM!!!! The housekeeper was there and explained to us that this was a family room and she would make up another bed! The room was no larger than a standard double room and there was literally no room to put up a cot - never mind a single bed. We found this totally unacceptable. We were eventually given another room, number 164. It was a family room/disabled room which looked & felt like something from an old peoples home! We accepted this room as we were told there was nothing else available.

We only had breakfast in the hotel which was an OK buffet type breakfast. & the restaurant staff were friendly enough....maybe the reception staff should take lessons from them!

SYNOPSIS:
The hotel website is misleading....none of the bedrooms are in the lovely building pictured...they are in "motel" like blocks attached
NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY AT ALL.....UNDER 16'S ARE LIMITED TO 1 HOUR PER DAY IN THE POOL (2 HRS ON A WEEKEND 3-5PM) FAMILY ROOMS YOU CAN SWING A CAT AND IF YOUR LUCKY ENOUGH TO GET A DISABLED ROOM ITS POOR STANDARD AND IN DESPERATE NEED OF A REFURM

STAY AT THE CROWNE PLAZA IN CHESTER - MUCH BETTER VALUE & MORE FAMILY FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: Dont bother booking a family room - there poor standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
I am so sorry about the breakdown in communication and will contact you direct to restore your faith. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a two day training session here recently The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly.

We had free projecter and internet and there are excellent services for breaks with coffee with fruit coffee and snack available all day.

Lunch was a buffet with three or four hot option and a cold buffet, plenty of choice.

Evening meals were very good although if you have a big appitiite you may be disapointed and will eat all your courses.

Rooms were a bit travel lodge but were fine and very clean and tidy.

Pool can be busy in the mornings and is not very big for a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teemoretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Great feedback and so pleased you had a great stay. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived on Saturday to a rather full car park due to 2 weddings being on in the main building. Still, went through reception and booked in quickly enough.

We walked through the very plush hallways and down the stairs, bar and restaurant to the right and rooms to the left......it really was like a Travelodge!

The room was nice, a slightly smaller than standard double mattress on a larger than average base! (The mattress also dipped in the middle like a Travelodge!). There was also a bottle of sparkling wine Brut left on the desk, we didn't know if it was for us or whether we would get charged for it as there was no note or anything saying as much so we left it in fear of getting charged excessive amounts of money.

Nice bathroom but with the extractor on a trickle system it didn't suck out the steam from the shower when it was run.

It was almost great.....until the herd of elephants upstairs (we were on the ground floor), next door and opposite arrived! We could hear EVERYTHING and I mean everything. The walls were paper thin. It's never nice when you are just about to fall asleep and you hear someone else going to the toilet. I think the water pumps were next to us aswell as everytime the tap was turned on it sounded like a motorbike starting up.

We enquired in the restaurant on the Sunday night to find out what was on the menu as nothing was advertised. We were told that we would have to wait another 15 minutes as the menu was still being decided. Little strange to have a different menu every night of the week. Phoned up a little later and asked what the vegetarian options were for that night to be told of tomato soup to start and for mains it was either mushroom stroganov or salmon (the last time I looked a salmon was an animal!) so we didn't eat in the restaurant and went down to a pub down the road.

We enjoyed the leisure facilities although make sure you register at the reception desk which is at the far end of the building past the changing rooms and gyms so you get your complementary towel!

Pool was nice, jacuzzi was very relaxing and the sauna and steam rooms were nice.

Breakfasts were good, not huge amounts of fruit on offer and the fried eggs were like rubber.

All in all, a lovely venue from the outside (the main house) but the rooms are a bit of let down.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevem1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
I have got rid of the elephants!! No excuse for the poor communication of our menu
from reception, we have great vegetarian choice every night in our newly refurbished Tempus Restaurant. This clearly lost us a sale.
So pleased overall you had a good stay and promise to be brilliant on your return.
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing