We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Psmpered Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Cranage Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Psmpered Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Both the hotel and its setting were delightful. The staff were friendly and very attentive, making us feel important guests but at home. The evening meal was a real treat - recommend the lamb! - and there was a wide selection of breakfast choice, both hot and cold buffet. The spa facilities were excellent and again most helpful staff were there to greet us. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnsward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your great review. The team and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay
and hope to welcome you back soon.
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    395
    202
    100
    57
See reviews for
153
482
16
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

I have not stayed at the hotel but attended a wedding there.As a guest it was a very pleasant experience.The food was very nice for a wedding i.e. well cooked,well presented and inoffensive(not expecting michelin star at large events),the day seemed well organised and the dining rooms spacious and nicely furnished.The big plus as a guest was that there was plenty of room to sit with friends and relatives in beautifully decorated public spaces with a drink whilst the long long process of photos being taken was completed.This is an enormous plus to anyone (i.e. most of us) who has stood huddled in a cramped anteroom with nothing to drink for 1-2 hours whilst the interminable photos are taken.The grounds were very nice and ideal for wedding guests as children could let off steam and others take a break from proceedings.

The reviews of hotel guests seem to paint a very clear picture of who the hotel is suitable for and on the whole seem well balanced and fair.Those that are critical seem to be clear about the reasons for their discontent and in their shoes I think I would feel the same way.It does not seem an ideal venue for a quiet country house weekend retreat .On the other hand if you go knowing this and get a well priced all inclusive package or are a wedding/conference guest then this is a lovely hotel.Horses for courses.

I must say that I find the comments from the hotel to guests who have expressed disappointments both over defensive and even rather churlish

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pandamacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your constructive review and pointing out we are not a country hotel retreat.
(We certainley dont advertise we are!! ) We are a great leisure venue offering great value for money at weekends.
So pleased you had a great day at the wedding in perfect surroundings.

Richard Morrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Have just returned from a weekend and I thought that the hotel was absolutely lovely. Rooms are slightly on the small side and, as others have mentioned, they are in a building adjacent to the main building which is most impressive. A couple of people mentioned to me that they thought they were going to have a room in the main building and were disappointed. I found the staff really polite and helpful and when I requested a hairdryer that worked I only had to wait a few minutes before a member of staff appeared at my door. We decided to have dinner on the Friday evening in the restaurant which has a pleasant appearance. We were on an early booking and did not expect to have to wait the length of time for our meal that we did! It took 30 minutes between each course and, in the end, we decided that we would be better off having a coffee elsewhere so left. Needless to say we did not eat there the following evening. Breakfast was adequate but not up to four star standard. There is no fruit and only a few cereals to choose from and the full english only just qualifies!
The leisure facilities are great however and we really enjoyed using the pool and steam room and sauna.
My real problem with the place however is the fact that on both evenings there was constant noise from parties that were there and it was impossible to get any sleep until about 3/4 o'clock in the morning! I realise that cranage cater for lots of different parties, weddings etc and I can only assume that they are serving drinks until this time because the noise really was unacceptable. If you are thinking of going there check whether there are any functions going on and, if so, go elsewhere or be warned!!!.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy2010Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel to take part in an event. On arrival found that inspite of contacting the hotel in advance of our stay - reception had a note of my requests - we were allocated a room which in no way reflected the request we had made. I must mention that my advance email was never replied to, which is poor administration. This resulted in a telephone call from me to the hotel not only to ask why, but to be advised we could be offered suitable accommodation, which I was assured would happen on arrival.
The allocated room was on the ground floor, when I had requested high floor! It was noisy from the nearby M6 motorway, after I had requested a quiet position. Finally this room had an unpleasant smell of body odour from a previous guest. Also, only one bedside table in a double bedded room! Not a good start to our stay.
Reception offered an alternative first floor room, so why did they not do this in the first place. This time the key would not work correctly as it was bent and (possibly) broken and we were locked out after leaving luggage inside the room. Housekeepting came and reset the door code, but access was difficult and we had to get new keys for the room.
All this took time, patience and effort on our part with repeat visits to reception, so the start of the event we attended was rushed and I have to say stress levels were not at there best by then.
Breakfast could just about be described as full english, but do not expect any 'extras' or 'frills' as these are not offered. Some of the china and cutlery was dirty and needed replacing and this happened at each mealtime. Service in the restaurant was quiet good, replacing self service food and clearing tables, with friendly, polite staff, so it's a pity the rest of the hotels operation cannot rise to this level. Apart from breakfast, the rest of our meals were served to our event group inside a conference room and again the service was good, with hot plates, food and speedy service.
Rooms are basic and as a previous member has mentioned, rather 'travelodge' in style. Without going into great detail, bathroom noise can be heard from adjacent rooms. The bedrooms are in a large complex attached to the main old building which is shown on the hotel's web page. It takes some time to find your way around and signs could be improved. It was quicker to leave the hotel via the main entrance and walk outside to the room, than to find the way through the corridors internally. Also note, if you have difficulty walking, there are miles passages and lifts are in short supply, leaving the stairs as the only option!
Be aware that the hotel is busy with weddings and functions - a school 'prom' on Friday evening, with two weddings on Saturday during our stay - and noise goes on late.
My lasting impression is that this is a suitable business/conference venue as there are many rooms fit for this purpose and the bedrooms reflect this use, but it is definately not a quiet hotel for the cosy weekend away from it all type stay. Cannot comment on the leisure facilities as these were not used by us.
I have reflected concerns in the marks I have given the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoudiccaIceniQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

we were so disapointed by this hotel, we belived because of the website and brochure that we would be staying inside cranage hall, this is not the case as their are no bedrooms in the hall but a relitivly new building next door that looks like premier inn from the outside and the in. poor service was told we could have a refund then told would have to wait till the general manager was in. the operations manager mark france was aggressive in manner and felt like he couldnt care less, was told we could reach our room by using the fire exit stairs( not very four star). we left the hotel as could not bare to stay their another minute!! waiting response from the complaints department. please do not book this hotel!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont book one at all !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hepburn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations when you arrived but our website clearly states our great product and services. There are ample pictures to ensure customers are not misled. Mark France passes on his sincere applogies it was certainly not his intention to appear rude and we always try to meet the needs of all our customers however on this occasion you would not stay. The refund was declined on the day as you had purchased your room via a third party website. Any customers concerned about this review contact me direct and I will ensure your complete satisfaction 01477 536666 Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here with a great offer seen on Travelzoo - £99 each for 2 nights b&b with 2-course dinner (from a la carte menu) on the first night , a bottle of wine in our room and tickets for Chester Zoo (£17.50 each). We enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, the hall makes up just the frontage of the hotel but the rooms are spacious, spotless with modern, tastefully decor. I cannot bear whinges about trivial matters such as no biscuits on the coffee tray or hotels being overrun with conference delegates or wedding parties. How do they expect them to survive? There were several business events during our stay but it was so nice to be on holiday and not one of the delegates.

Nothing was too much for the knowledgeable staff (how to access the free wifi; recommendations for outside eateries), we were handed a welcome pack on arrival and the grounds were fabulous. The hotel is easy to find, just off the motorway and we would definitely stay again. We used the tickets for the zoo - about 25 miles away - and the second day visited Jodrell Bank which has a new visitor centre as well as being home for the 3rd biggest telescope in the world (biggest when first working in the late 50s).

I'm glad I learnt about the close proximity of Jodrell Bank and Peover Hall (open Tuesdays and Thursday afternoons only) when I googled directions for the hotel as there were no leaflets about either in the hotel. This is the fault of the local tourist board/council who distribute visitor information, not the hotel.

The breakfast buffet (hot and cold) was very good and the restaurant manageress very friendly. Dinner would have been expensive (standard price for each course whetehr you chose steak or pasta) had it not been included on the first evening. Food was good but we dined in a nearby pub on the second night.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to explore north Cheshire and Derbyshire. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,063 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We booked this hotel (through a site that specialises in amazing exclusive 4+ star hotels) as a relaxing COUNTRY HOUSE retreat for a 2 night break. This was badly misrepresented/mis-sold to us as this is not an old country house as the photos/information described. The photos of the old hall-where you would expect to sit in front of roaring log fires with oak beamed ceilings and antique furniture etc-does not actually exist to guests! The hall as shown in the pictures is for admin offices only and your actual room is hidden, approx 4 minutes walk from reception, in a travelodge style annexe built in recent years right at the back. This could not be seen on any photos we looked at. The hotel is firstly a conference hotel and secondly a wedding/party venue, not a relaxing getaway! On arrival at 5.10pm we had to plough through a wedding party having photos taken on a red carpet at the hotel entrance. Massive queue at reception so took 15 minutes to check in, but the staff were very friendly. We walked through the large corridors, with it becoming more "huge London hotel style" by the second. We could not find our room as the numbered signs suddenly disappeared. A man asked if we needed help-he was a wedding guest who said their party had been moved so many times they knew where rooms were! He led us outside, across a courtyard area, up steps, up and down corridors that was just like a travelodge or airport hotel. The room was a good size, very clean but very clinical. Every noise could be heard from corridors/other rooms, including toilet habits! Our view was of a car park and also a square of grass that overlooked the opposite side of the "travelodge" annexe. None of this can be seen on photos and is not what we were looking forward to. We always stay in country house retreats where our view is of landscaped gardens, lakes, countryside. We rang the operator whom we booked with, to say this was not as described. They said to email, so we did. In the meantime we asked to speak to the duty manager. She came within 20 minutes and was very sympathetic, saying many guests came here expecting an old country house only to discover it is business rooms in a conference hotel. We expressed our concerns about noise as it was already noisy with party revellers at 5.40pm. She said she could only see it getting noisier as the night went on as there were 2 weddings going on plus lots of other parties that had gone out. She asked what we wanted to do. We said we would leave and get a refund. She totally understood and not only said she would assist us getting money back from agent if there was a problem, but she also rang another hotel 30 minutes down the road, that is the style of old country house we like, to ask about any rooms available for us. She got us the most amazing "feature" room at Crewe Hall for a great rate on dinner, B & B. This lady could not have been more helpful in what could have been a disastrous weekend for us after a 3 hour drive. Please be under no illusions- this is a great hotel if you want a place for conference meetings, weddings or parties but it is NOT a luxury old country house for a quiet relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay and the delay to check in but your review is most disappointing
as we do not advertise on our website a country retreat or log fires!!
Without trying to sound confrontational its unfair to compare us with a Travelodge?
when we offer so much more and sometimes at a cheaper price.
e.g. Modern Bar and Restaurant concept with one million pound refurbishment,
leisure club with a large swimming pool, room service, nine acres of Cheshire countryside
complementary parking ........................................................... Richard Morrell GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
9.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
13.9 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing