We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“false advertising, rude staff, total con!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Reviewed July 4, 2011

we were so disapointed by this hotel, we belived because of the website and brochure that we would be staying inside cranage hall, this is not the case as their are no bedrooms in the hall but a relitivly new building next door that looks like premier inn from the outside and the in. poor service was told we could have a refund then told would have to wait till the general manager was in. the operations manager mark france was aggressive in manner and felt like he couldnt care less, was told we could reach our room by using the fire exit stairs( not very four star). we left the hotel as could not bare to stay their another minute!! waiting response from the complaints department. please do not book this hotel!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont book one at all !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hepburn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations when you arrived but our website clearly states our great product and services. There are ample pictures to ensure customers are not misled. Mark France passes on his sincere applogies it was certainly not his intention to appear rude and we always try to meet the needs of all our customers however on this occasion you would not stay. The refund was declined on the day as you had purchased your room via a third party website. Any customers concerned about this review contact me direct and I will ensure your complete satisfaction 01477 536666 Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here with a great offer seen on Travelzoo - £99 each for 2 nights b&b with 2-course dinner (from a la carte menu) on the first night , a bottle of wine in our room and tickets for Chester Zoo (£17.50 each). We enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, the hall makes up just the frontage of the hotel but the rooms are spacious, spotless with modern, tastefully decor. I cannot bear whinges about trivial matters such as no biscuits on the coffee tray or hotels being overrun with conference delegates or wedding parties. How do they expect them to survive? There were several business events during our stay but it was so nice to be on holiday and not one of the delegates.

Nothing was too much for the knowledgeable staff (how to access the free wifi; recommendations for outside eateries), we were handed a welcome pack on arrival and the grounds were fabulous. The hotel is easy to find, just off the motorway and we would definitely stay again. We used the tickets for the zoo - about 25 miles away - and the second day visited Jodrell Bank which has a new visitor centre as well as being home for the 3rd biggest telescope in the world (biggest when first working in the late 50s).

I'm glad I learnt about the close proximity of Jodrell Bank and Peover Hall (open Tuesdays and Thursday afternoons only) when I googled directions for the hotel as there were no leaflets about either in the hotel. This is the fault of the local tourist board/council who distribute visitor information, not the hotel.

The breakfast buffet (hot and cold) was very good and the restaurant manageress very friendly. Dinner would have been expensive (standard price for each course whetehr you chose steak or pasta) had it not been included on the first evening. Food was good but we dined in a nearby pub on the second night.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to explore north Cheshire and Derbyshire. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We booked this hotel (through a site that specialises in amazing exclusive 4+ star hotels) as a relaxing COUNTRY HOUSE retreat for a 2 night break. This was badly misrepresented/mis-sold to us as this is not an old country house as the photos/information described. The photos of the old hall-where you would expect to sit in front of roaring log fires with oak beamed ceilings and antique furniture etc-does not actually exist to guests! The hall as shown in the pictures is for admin offices only and your actual room is hidden, approx 4 minutes walk from reception, in a travelodge style annexe built in recent years right at the back. This could not be seen on any photos we looked at. The hotel is firstly a conference hotel and secondly a wedding/party venue, not a relaxing getaway! On arrival at 5.10pm we had to plough through a wedding party having photos taken on a red carpet at the hotel entrance. Massive queue at reception so took 15 minutes to check in, but the staff were very friendly. We walked through the large corridors, with it becoming more "huge London hotel style" by the second. We could not find our room as the numbered signs suddenly disappeared. A man asked if we needed help-he was a wedding guest who said their party had been moved so many times they knew where rooms were! He led us outside, across a courtyard area, up steps, up and down corridors that was just like a travelodge or airport hotel. The room was a good size, very clean but very clinical. Every noise could be heard from corridors/other rooms, including toilet habits! Our view was of a car park and also a square of grass that overlooked the opposite side of the "travelodge" annexe. None of this can be seen on photos and is not what we were looking forward to. We always stay in country house retreats where our view is of landscaped gardens, lakes, countryside. We rang the operator whom we booked with, to say this was not as described. They said to email, so we did. In the meantime we asked to speak to the duty manager. She came within 20 minutes and was very sympathetic, saying many guests came here expecting an old country house only to discover it is business rooms in a conference hotel. We expressed our concerns about noise as it was already noisy with party revellers at 5.40pm. She said she could only see it getting noisier as the night went on as there were 2 weddings going on plus lots of other parties that had gone out. She asked what we wanted to do. We said we would leave and get a refund. She totally understood and not only said she would assist us getting money back from agent if there was a problem, but she also rang another hotel 30 minutes down the road, that is the style of old country house we like, to ask about any rooms available for us. She got us the most amazing "feature" room at Crewe Hall for a great rate on dinner, B & B. This lady could not have been more helpful in what could have been a disastrous weekend for us after a 3 hour drive. Please be under no illusions- this is a great hotel if you want a place for conference meetings, weddings or parties but it is NOT a luxury old country house for a quiet relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay and the delay to check in but your review is most disappointing
as we do not advertise on our website a country retreat or log fires!!
Without trying to sound confrontational its unfair to compare us with a Travelodge?
when we offer so much more and sometimes at a cheaper price.
e.g. Modern Bar and Restaurant concept with one million pound refurbishment,
leisure club with a large swimming pool, room service, nine acres of Cheshire countryside
complementary parking ........................................................... Richard Morrell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good value Hotel for the relaxing weekend.
Good food, nice comfortable rooms.
Set in well maintained grounds.
One complaint: duvets a little small on the twin beds!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjoriepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the duvets and so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. Richard Morrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We wanted somewhere to stay on route to Liverpool, and thought we would spent a little more than the usual Premier Inn or Travel Lodge. The cost was £69 with no breakfast. Arrived about 19:30. The room had peeling wallpaper, and the tiling in the bathroom was cracked and dirty, but we couldn't be bothered to ask fora change of room, probably something to do with the fact that the room was about a 5 mins walk from reception and we were tired.
Went to the bar to get something to eat, place was heaving with all the Conference delegates. After waiting 20 mins to get served, gave up, and went out to a local pub instead, not something we really wanted to do.
All in all, not a place for the independent traveler, I guess it is geared up to the Conference business, and we got given the crappiest room, as we didn't count!
Never Again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbanker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

I am so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the room quality. On reading your review I checked the room and rectified the small tear to the wallpaper and scratched tile. I am so sorry for this shortfall but would have changed your room if you had brought this to our attention.
All guests are welcome to Cranage Hall
Many apologies
Richard Morrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

To say we were disappointed with Cranage Hall is an understatement.We stayed with a family group for a wedding in the area for 3 nights. On arrival the reception staff were welcoming and pleasant, the hotel is very spacious and clean but our bedroom was quite a walk past several conference rooms and this I think is a problem.The room was clean but quite basic, tea and coffee facilities but no biscuits!
Having to complain about a noisy party along our corridor going on until 6 in the morning, the receptionist took our details and said she would give them to the manager. We never saw a manager or supervisor the whole time we were there and the staff seemed to be very young,inexperienced and at times rude.
On the plus side breakfast was ok although as the morning went on they ran out of fruit and when I asked for some the answer was they were busy.
On arriving home we received a letter from the manager offering us a night stay for £30 as way of an apology. As we live 150 miles away we won't be taking him up on the offer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dempa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Sorry you were disturbed by the poor behaviour of a couple of guests. I was pleased
the team reacted so fast to stop the disturbance. Noting this incident was out
of our control the offer made for a return visit at a reduced rate was a fair offer.
So I am really disappointed you have posted a poor review due to not receiving a discount.
Any future guests concerned please contact me direct 01477536666 and will I oversee your complete satisfaction. Richard Morrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My partner and I booked a two night stay at Cranage Hall in May, basically for a relaxing 'get away from it all' weekend.
We upgraded to an executive room and booked two evening meals through the website for £15 per person per night - an online special offer.
Our room was absolutely spotless, furnished to a high standard and the bathroom was modern and ultra clean.
Our room upgrade provided dressing gowns, slippers and a bottle of fizz!
The room had a large bed, ironing board, trouser press, tea and coffee facilities, safe, tv and dvd player. There were a couple of conferences and weddings taking place but we never heard a thing - it was perfectly quiet and peaceful at all times.
Food was good, lunchtime offers a variety of sandwiches, burgers etc. Breakfast was excellent, all served buffet style. All piping hot and fresh and something for everyone.
The two course pre booked evening meal was excellent value for money with a choice of five different dishes per course which included fish and vegetarian options.
Only quibble would be the price of their house wine in the restaurant - starting at £19 per bottle was a tad steep but the one we did have was very good.
We took advantage of the leisure facilities during our stay and had an enjoyable afternoon in the pool, sauna etc.
We also booked treatments with Essence , which included a professional make up lesson for my partner and a hot stone massage for myself.
All in all I would recommend this hotel for couples who either want a weekend of total relaxation or for using the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding area.
Station facilities in Holme Chapel so Manchester is only 20 mins away.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to
Cranage Hall
Richard Morrell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,050 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range: $99 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing