We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HPTDC The Chail Palace
Nearby Hotels
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
OYO 9673 Panorama Homestay(Chail)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ekant(Chail)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Vue Magique Resorts & Camps(Chail)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grand Sunset(Chail)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
151
220
78
36
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
220
78
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog hutsmain buildingchail palacehimneel blockmaharaja suitehimachal tourismentry feeantique furnitureroyal experienceroyal touchthe cottageswarm watermaharaja patialafirst floorhuge lawnthe ground floorpine forest
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 506 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were on our way from Mashobra to Kandaghat and decided to stop at Chail Palace for Lunch. This is the place my wife and I stayed on our honeymoon some 34 years ago !
Little has changed in Chail Palace and its environs since then. Chail Palace, built in 1891 is a place where on can find peace and even do a bit of Vipassana. The rooms are big , and the Maharaja suite has now become a family room . Although called a Palace, it is a magnificent mansion of sorts.
There is a charge of Rs 100 per head for casual visitors and there is no grudging about it. If Chail Palace has to maintain its splendour and peace , then this charge is justified. Of Course, for those staying at the hotel I guess the charges are waived or adjusted with the final bill.

This is truly a heritage property . The main building where the suites are located face the big lawn. One feels like a Maharaja staying in this hotel. The HP Tourism has done a decent job maintaining this hotel although some modern chrome furniture here and there is out of place in such a heritage set up. The restaurant has a good fare and the food is good. Special mention ought to be made of Ms Sarla Chopra who looks after this hotel. She tries to make the guests welcome and at home. The hotel is in a vast property and is a delight to walk around the grounds surrounded by pine and deodar trees. .

Unfortunately, we could not see any portrait of Maharaja Bhupinder Singh of Patiala who had commissioned its construction after he was banned from entering Shimla. I hope the HP Tourism would place a suitable portrait of the late Maharaja as a tribute to him and to evoke the history of the place.

Room Tip: The Maharaja , Maharani and Princes suites are the best. These rooms make you feel like a royalty
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurenKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hello,
I stayed in deluxe log hut during Feb last week and the stay was just perfect. Its far from daily chaos and one hardly encounters noise. Only concern is that the food was on a bit expensive side. I had the opportunity to see snow fall during my stay. Heaters are not upto the mark and I will suggest to carry electric blankets of own. Will visit again for sure!

Room Tip: Choose normal log hut as they are wooden floored(carpetless) and provide cozy setup.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is a little away from main Chail market. The Palace has different stay options like rooms in main palace complex, log huts and Rajgarh cottage. We stayed at the Rajgarh Cottage. Had taken up one of the rooms in it, the room is spacious. Interiors are color schemed. The Bathrooms are large as if made for prince and princess. The main Palace building is a 5 minutes trek from Rajgarh. It can be also driven too.
The staff is courteous and polite. There is a decent walk uphill to the famous and highest cricket pitch. Chail has good trek tracks to explore.
The rooms are rustic and have old age feel. Would recommend travelers who are sensitive to damp wood or dust should carry own pillows and quilts.
Over all a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank payal_lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my second visit to Chail Palace.I enjoyed the greenery when visited in July,12.But this time in Feb,14 it was all white around.What a change !.I was unlucky as snow fall stopped just 4/5 hours before my arrival but too lucky to walk and play with my grand children on the fresh one foot snow.I experienced the taste of snow just 5 km from the Palace and i found white Palace on arrival and having 0 degree temp.What a scene!The green lawns have turned into white surface.Next day sun shine added more pleasure to the stay.

Room Tip: feel good when you stay in the main palace building
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinay-dhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were on the way to Sangla & Kalpa and decided not to go to Simla on the way back & naturally the option was Chail & the Chail palace. I think that's the only place at Chail where you can stay with excellent facility & satisfaction. The rooms are quite big even in minimum tariff. The resort has big lawn & garden with children recreation facilities. All sorts of leisure arrangement for adults. Food is excellent. The decor of room & common areas are of of palace. i think you will not get a such luxury of palace at this price anywhere in india. Overall, a great place to stay in a family vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyamankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews