We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible”
Review of Fernhill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernhill Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Chail
Reviewed August 11, 2013

At the first hand its a totally mismanaged facility. We had booked for 2 couples well in advance. Despite this when we reached there(a day before long weekend 9-11 Aug 2013), they provided us cottages which were not at all cleaned. The lights in bathroom were not working. The cottage itself was all unhygienic with spider webs which seems to have not been cleaned for a long long time. The cottages were stinking of fungus and mould. Our beds were literally wet, there was seepage in the cottages. One of the 2 cottages had black fungus on the pillows.

Even after requests to clean and correct the things, only some shobby work was done.
They did not even stock milk for tea, and provided thick running liquid full with undissolved milk powder. The food was pathetic, no buffet was served as indicated while booking citing that only 6-7 guests were in the hotel. Aa-la-carte listed items were also not available and whatever limited choice was there was just about edible to satiate or I would say we just had no option nearby as there is no other place around it with Chail around 5 kms away.

We spotted some huge spiders in our cottages, and not one or 2 but almost 8-9 in nos. And they were really huge, roaming around the room. The caretaker first asked to somehow manage the first night as manager was not reachable but on insisting shifted us to rooms near reception. Although these rooms were void of spiders and dry than the cottages, but cleanliness was nowhere seen.I will upload some photos for the same.

On complaining about spiders, the managers response was "this is the beauty of nature" and "you have come to a resort in nature, so you should expect these". All the while he said that we upgraded you, but in reality the rooms were horrible as they were right next to reception and restaurant and you could not sleep or relax as every time you would get the noises from kitchen/restaurant, and people talking near reception or playing games provided in the lobby area. Defeated the whole purpose of a relaxing trip.

When there were more no of guests in the hotel they started serving buffet. And on penultimate night of our trip (3N 4D), we found that veggies in the pulao were spoilt and stinking. On bringing it to manager's notice, at first he said he will replace it but he "cant help it". And when accosted by wife about other issues, he talked rudely to both the ladies with us and this led to an argument. While he blamed us yet again for not being able to cope up with a "group of wild ,poisonous spiders", a couple of people, who alleged that they were his relatives threatened us in front of all hotel guests. And even said they like "spoilt tasting" veggies and that if we have a problem we should go elsewhere. The threatening was to an extent where we locked ourselves up for our safety and only when other guests intervened, we decided to come out. Needless to say, we did not have dinner that night. The manager was unapologetic yet again for anything. As a mark of protest we avoided breakfast the other day and checked out with the first light of morning fearing for our safety given the goon attitude.

Coming to service, the rooms were never cleaned despite leaving keys and asking for the same. Towels were absolutely dirty and were never changed in 3 days. Even the bathroom was cleaned just once when we had to raise the voice for the same.

My advice, avoid this place. There are other places in Chail which provie better facilities for the same amount charged, and do not behave like goons.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid the rooms on the ground floor for you would be devoid of any sleep and rest. And ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlobeTrotterNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our full family stayed from 27-29 Jul at the Resort.

The rooms are modest and presentable with mid-range facilities.
The Staff are very polite, responsive and ever eager to meet your needs. Room service was good and quick.
Food was well-prepared and delicious...the service excellent!

Facilities are decent with a pool table and carrom board. There was bonfire in the evening.

The view is excellent from mostr of the rooms. The rooms also have a balcony. Walks in the surroundings are lovely and inviograting...the clouds within touching distance!

This place is value for money!

Mr Uday who manages the Fernhill Resort is a good gude for various activities in and around Chail.

Overall an excellent experience!...Anil Sharma

Room Tip: Please take a room with valley view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelhiIndiantraveller, Manager at Fernhill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Anil Sir ,
Thanks for the appreciation and will surely try to better ourselves . Sir when a person of your level is happy with our resort that is the most important energy booster for us ,looking forward to serve you once again .
Thanks & Regards.
Uday Vir Chandela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Took our first trip by Royal enfield, me and my wife started from delhi around 6.30am and reached the resort around 3.00pm, it was wonderful journey and reaching the resort we really felt it was perfect decision to book this fernhill resort, nestled among-st hills overlooking the Himalayan mountain ranges, the warmth and the hospitality by the staff and management was commendably good. the food at the restaurant was remarkably tasty. and the cottage in which we stayed was luxurious with all amenities that one needs on a vacation. we had booked for 2 nights, but ended up staying there for four nights..chail boasts of highest cricket ground in the world, there is chail palace, a kali mandir on the top ( never found any temple so clean). also the manager of the resort told us about a person who ,for the past 30 years is building a shiva temple on his own,( the labour, money raw material everything is made by him alone), we visited the place and to our pleasant surprise it was more than described, he has also made a tunnel that is around 100mtrs long,i am uploading some pics!,it was unbelievable! overall, the travelers who want to get away from the hustle-bustle of city life and need some quite and beautiful place, to rejuvenate must go to visit chail, its unlike shimla which now is overcrowded with people and is not the same as it used to be..............REVIEW BY..Prashant & vineeta

Room Tip: rooms are large and have breathtaking valley views, cottages are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prashantadhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in Fernhill resorts with entire family from June 26 to June 29. I should be candid enough in admitting that the facilities provided were quite shabby and I would not recommend the same to anyone else. My trip was arranged in a very hushy manner therefore I didn't research for other properties around which was quite a big mistake. Rooms were not at all clean, had encountered with cockroaches and spiders in the room which was terrible. Bathrooms were not in good shape. It seems that this place was not operational for quite some time and suddenly they decided to open the same. That too, without proper mantainence. Also, food mentioned on the menu list is never available.
Parking space is a big issue. Well, am not much of a fussy traveler, therefore didn't make too much of noise for the authorities after complaining just once. But surely, Chail as a hillstation is quite good but Fernhill surely is not in my scheme of things for the next time.

Ajay Shokeen

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AjayShokeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A nightmare! I had booked through Travelguru.com a day before came, reserving a so-called 'Top end valley view Room. When we arrived, we were shown a miserable room. It was so dirty, no cable, just one LCD hanging on the wall, no fridge as marketed by the Travel Guru sales executive. The 'valley view room' was a spectacularly unattractive, dirty room plenty of mosquitoes, flies and dirty blanket whatever else. I was furious the moment i checked in, bcoz whatever was told to me by Travel Guru, not even an inch was matching with the room or the hotel. I was told that its an luxury room, where i will hv access to spa, body massage and many recreational activities. But when i asked the hotel representative abt these he said we need to check with Tarika resort for spa and massage. Whole day and night Cable didn't start. Room service was just pathetic and they will not listen to you and if they do they will revert back not before half hr or so. I spent 15 minutes arguing that I dont want to stay in this shabby room and i want my booking to be cancelled, but i was told by travel guru that this best the hotel could do and they are refusing to pay back. And when i approached hotel manager, he said you spk to the travel agent through whom you booked the holiday. It was a total MESS. I got this 3 days leave from my busy schedule but Travel Guru and Hotel Fernhill has spoiled it completely.
Another thing i want to mention, Travel Guru not only booked me a disastrous hotel but they were telling lies while making the booking to lure me the deal. Their executive told me that this resort is one of the best in the town and stands great reputation basis the reviews on the hotel site and its just 2 KM from Chail Palace, whereas its 7-8 KM from the chail palace. They actually mislead me and influenced my decision in their favor by quoting wrong facts about the Hotel.
I was so disappointed with the hotel that i left the next morning in stead of staying for two nights for which i had already paid.
I complained bitterly to Travelguru.com that they were advertising and encouraging people to book with this appalling place through them, and we wanted a refund. They told us that he hotel refused to give that and they could not do anything for us! I replied that since we had paid them, this was a product/service that they were marketing, it was their responsibility to refund us, and then deal with the hotel themselves, but they declined. So a further warning to any who read this is, work through Travelguru.com at your peril - they do not stand behind their product or their recommendations, and once you have paid, consider that the money has gone, whether or not you stay at the hotel in question.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kaushalamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hi
We recently stayed at this hotel that has been in operation just over a year. The state of the building may not be impressive but the service from the staff, food and surroundings make up for it.
Very warm and accommodation staff.
The building however, needs a revamp to make the most of it's stunning views.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view rooms on 3rd floor to get the best views from your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anshum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed with family from 20.06.13 to 22.06.13.Was a pleasant stay.Location is good.Buffet B/f and dinner was good.Rooms are spacious.Hotel staff is very helpful.Room service is prompt.Cleanliness should be somewhat better.Surrounding area can be maintained more.I hope managment will take care of it.Overall stay was really good.

Room Tip: Valley view room on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankaj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chail hotels
0 mi away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#4 of 13 in Chail
124 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 13 in Chail
200 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Chail Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Vue Magique Resorts & Camps
0 mi away
Treehouse Chail Villas
0 mi away
Village Live In Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Resort

Address: Vilage -Kano, Blossom Hill. | Chail - Gaura Road, Chail, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Chail
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Chail
Price Range: $35 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fernhill Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FerHill Resort is 28 Rooms resort with 3 types of room at resort .16 Valley view rooms and 8 deluxe Rooms & 2 Family Suite . Having a lawn for gathering of 100 guest . In house facilities of pool table ,Table tennis, Chess , mountain cycles and open badminton ground (all extra chargeable ) . Room service and Restaurant . Conference hall with a capacity of 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernhill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing