We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort at excellent place, staff cooperative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chail Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chail Residency
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent resort at excellent place, staff cooperative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent resort, I had stayed there for 2 night and three days. Gone first-time in chail. Good experience, specially mr arjun, owner of the resort pguided us very well. One thing which I want to share is that in chail there is one ATM machine but still that is not working, you have to go to kandaghat or shimla for ATM,so take sufficient cash. In that matter mr arjun cooperated us. Overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makeshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chail Residency.

I am happy to note that you found our team attentive and felt that they looked after you well. I thank you for your comments on the service, cleanliness and the cuisine offered. It is with praise like yours that our team remains continually motivated to create even better standards of guest experience.

To avoid any inconvenience to the guests till the ATM operations are restored completely in Chail, we have started to lend out money to our guests so that they do not encounter any hindrance on their vacation. The money can always be adjusted in the final amount at the check out. However to make the process extremely comfortable for our guests, we will soon be installing a swiping machine at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for a longer stay.

Best regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and 2 days this year and I must stay the rooms are quite big and have got a beautiful balcony attached Washrooms are also good and big .The only problem is that food is pretty costly for a place like chail.Anybody visiting chail should also no there are no atm's as of now , so you should carry adequate cash as your card is not going to work here .This hotel is bit far away from the main city but bus service is quite convenient in chail if in case you are not having any conveyance of your own . If you want to want to eat somewhere else then u have to walk at least 2 km till the main market .Overall this is a nice hotel to relax and enjoy the nature.

Room Tip: Avoid taking the room next to kitchen coz the smell of kitchen really irritates .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chail Residency.

I am happy to note that you found our hotels rooms and services very well and my team was attentive to create a great experience for you. I also thank you for your honest comments on our restaurant services. However we have tried to keep our prices to the bare minimum in comparison to the standards of good, hygienic and absolutely fresh food being served at the hotel. We also completely respect your opinion on the prices and will have a look over them one more time.

10 years ago when we started with our venture to open up a hotel in Chail, we choose this place specially because of its valley and its peaceful and serene nature because of being 2 kms before the main Chail market which usually gets very crowded and loud during peak season. That was our idea back then which we try to promote. The connectivity to the market is through public transport, taxi's or even walking for trekking enthusiasts.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for a longer stay and creating a better experience for you and ensuring you are completely contended. You can always reach for us for more opinions or recommendations on the below mentioned contact details.

Best regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pleasure in grandness of nature is experienced at its best when you stay at Chail Residency.The rooms have mesmerizing view of valley. Not only the location but every thing right from the welcome drink, meals served and the different services including house-keeping and bonfire arranged with cocktail snacks to keep the guests busy during evening hours, rendered by courteous and helpful staff are excellent.
The overall stay was amazing and the hospitality feel was something special. The best part was when each member of the staff enquires your well being and ensures you are having a nice stay. If not then they would ask you the problem and get on to its solution right away. I would definitely visit the place again and recommend it to all my friends. The owners happened to be there during our visit and lended us there car to save out on our taxi-expenses for which we are extremely grateful. I mean who would do that for an absolute stranger? Well they did!
It was small things like these which made our experience an absolutely memorable one. Highly recommended for the ones looking out from a serene and soothing break from the monotonous corporate routine.

Room Tip: We are 2 couples and we opted for the deluxe rooms.. They were great for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on various aspects of your entire experience at Chail Residency. Your generous feedback of our team is motivating and helps us in our endeavor of continuing towards creating unparalleled experience of the Hills.

It is the kind patronage of guests like yourself that ensures we keep striving towards exceeding our guests expectations. I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Chail residency is located right on the bend of a quiet road and looks like a chalet with just the reception and dining area on the ground level. It goes down 3 levels, deep into the basement. The location is great. Pluses of the place:
1) The reception is warm and welcoming with a sprightly aged Uncle always sprinting around taking care of things 2) Lot of time and effort has been spent to make the decor of the place aesthetic with murals and nice paintings on the walls. For the artistic taste, I give an extra *.
3)The food is also delicious though takes lot of time to prepare so order your meals in advance.
4)Each room has an attached balcony which can be enjoyed to soak in the nature.
5)Super deluxe rooms are very spacious with good interiors.
6)There is a good sitting area with sofa etc in each room

Minus that we faced was the depth of the hotel. If you take a room in basement 2, might face uncomfortable(for those who like open spaces) and also the stairs are steep. There is no lift as is rare in mountain hotels.
Construction work going on in adjoining site so noise was there too to disturb.

All in all, a very good place to stay . Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tip: The best rooms with a fabulous view are the 2 rooms on the First floor(up from the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chail Residency!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
Your generous feedback of our team is motivating and helps us in our endeavor of continuing towards creating unparalleled experience of the Himalyas.

Your feedback highlights our exact USP of the property and we are glad we were able to showcase the same to you. Our entire family & staff has a special connection to the property and that is why each member has tried to pitch in to the decor of the hotel and tried to add a personal touch to the same.. We are glad you loved and appreciated it.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had to face because of the level of where your rooms were. To create an unparalleled experience for our guests in the times to come, we are welcoming open feedback's and opinions from guests as to what additions they would like to be included at our property. We would welcome the same from you and you can reach for me with your share on the below mentioned contact details.

I thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon for a longer stay.

Best Regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very nice resort with all facilities. Nice spacious rooms, good view from the hotel, Nice royal Breakfast and Dinner as they serve you whatever they order. Uncle at reception is cordial to listen to you. Food is yum. Overall an excellent choice to stay and enjoy in serene of reserve forest area of Chail. Just relax and enjoy .

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but we booked superdeluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaillyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chail Residency!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Your generous feedback of our team is motivating and helps us in our endeavor of continuing towards creating unparalleled experience of the Himalyas.

We are glad to know that you like our food and efforts make by our team to make your stay pleasant. The team and I are truly motivated by your comments. It is the kind patronage of guests like yourself that ensures we keep striving towards exceeding our guests expectations.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited chail on 26th May 2013 and was a one night stay. We were 2 couples and stayed in superdeluxe room. The location of the room is fantastic and the views from balcony is beautiful. Its totally covered by forests and huge pine tress. Perfect place to relax. After checking-in we did a forest camping. We found a small picnic place on the kufri road and was green and full of big trees so we did bornfire and we went back to hotel midnight. The sleep was very good. The breakfast was served in the room and in good quantity and quality. !0 kms away from chail residency there is sadhupul. YOu can stay for a while over there.

My overall experience was very good. 10/10 to this hotel

Room Tip: Note : There is nothing to see in chail.. just make sure that you are going there to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gvirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChailResidency, Owner at Hotel Chail Residency, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Chail Residency

Thank you for posting your review about Chail Residency on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that our staff was proactive in making the trip as comfortable as possible for you.

Chail has always been that ideal destination for tourists to find inner peace and serenity. We are glad you could do the same and have an enjoyable time with your friends and family at the same time.

Your appreciation of our services is generous and motivating and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Arjun Mahajan
Hotel Chail Residency, Chail
Mobile: +919914470007
Email: hotelchailresidency@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

"Last to last weekend i visited Chail Residency with my friends. We booked the hotel by viewing the ratings on tripadvisor. We were staying in the super deluxe rooms. It was the best chilling weekend break I've ever had with my friends in a very long time. The weather was perfect, nice and cozy. The view from the hotel was enchanting. The staff was very hospitable. The food was healthy and nutritious. The main market is a 10 minute walk from the hotel which we enjoyed each morning and evening. The walk made us relish the nature even more and so did the exploration of trekking routes.

We spent most of our time in the hotel itself browsing through the hotel's amazing library. The hotel manager arranged various activites such as trekking and rock climbing for us at another property at cloud end. The staff is very courteous ,well- trained and humble. I have traveled at lot in the hills, but this was overall, by far the best stay. Considering how the facilities in most of the so called 5 start hotels in hill stations are pathetic and over-price. Chail Residency lives upto one's expectations and one's pocket as well."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirajDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chail hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Sunset
Hotel Grand Sunset
#2 of 14 in Chail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#5 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
0.4 mi away
Village Live In Resort
1.6 mi away
Fernhill Resort
Fernhill Resort
#5 of 11 in Chail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chail Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chail Residency

Property: Hotel Chail Residency
Address: Kandaghat Chail Road, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chail Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHAIL RESIDENCY, nestling in the shelter of virgin forests, at a height of 2250 m is accessible by road from Kalka via Kandaghat which is 32 km short of Shimla, on the Kalka-Shimla Highway. Set amidst scented forests of pine and deodar, Chail was the summer capital of the Maharaja of Patiala before Independence. The verdant forests near Chail are alive with many species of birds, barking deer, wild boar, pheasant. Chail is also famous for its highest cricket pitch in the world. CHAIL RESIDENCY has come up on the Kandaghat-Chail road, close to Chail town, in a sprawling scenic nature, splendour of invigorating clean air, lush green hills, quiet and peaceful surroundings to rejuvenate a new spirit, vigour and zest for life in a delightful mixture of regal and rustic simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Chail Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing