We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll visit again !!”
Review of Hotel Ekant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ekant
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband had planned a perfect vacation but I didn't have a clue where we were heading to. It was a surprise. But I guessed the place on the way. He chose Chail for the perfect vacation. We prefer less crowded places. So Chail was perfect for us.
When we reached the hotel, it was a simple looking hotel so I was keeping just average expectations. But this hotel was far from average.
The treatment we received there was amazing.
The rooms were clean, spacious and offered a beautiful view of the valley. The room service was really nice (Rakesh treated us so well). Also the food was really beyond our expectations.
Mr. Vishal was a perfect host. He guided us as to which places to visit in Chail.
All in all the experience was amazing. It was more of a homely stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Manisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Mam,

Its our motto to provide a homely atmosphere to every guest, we feel great when our guest reviewed about us, it give us strength to improve our services and boost our staff to make you feel better and better every time you visit us.
Thank you writing about our food quality, we are here to serve you and to provide you best of our services, we appreciate that you like our hospitality and would like to welcome you again in times to come.

Thanks and Regards,
Vishal verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Whenever we will plan our next trip to Chail, Hotel Ekant will be our choice. Clean and spacious rooms with enough amenities, amazing view from the windows, best prices and good food. Friendly staff with excellent dedication to serve you the best... Big thanks to them for making the stay better. Especially Aman, he was really good in his work and served us with all his heart.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Ms. Kajal,

We are always ready to welcome you at Hotel Ekant, On behalf of my staff and personally I would like to thank you for writing your feedback regarding us. We tried to make the stay of our guest comfortable and we feel happy when we get a positive response from our guest. Its been really nice to have your company and the way you treated our staff was exceptional. it is our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel any time you visit Chail.

Thanks and Regards,
Devender Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was my first visit to the place of Chail, along with my family. We absolutely loved the beauty and calm of this place. You can see far spread mountain ranges and beautiful forest cover all around you. Our stay at Hotel Ekant during this trip has been an amazing experience. We had booked three rooms 302, 303 & 304. The rooms were clean & spacious along with well kept furniture. The highlight of these rooms was the panoramic view from the windows and balconies. We highly recommend that you get one of these valley facing room for a superb view of the hill range.

We stayed here for three days, the food and service was excellent. They cooked special low spice food for us on our request and we are very thankful for it. The owner of the property Mr. Verma is a very friendly and pleasing person. He told us a lot about the place of Chail and all the places we should visit. We had a very good time in Chail and in this Hotel, and look forward to many more trips. Kudos to the Hotel Staff as well for being prompt in service and friendly.

Room Tip: Chose a valley facing room for superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramandelhi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Raman,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Hotel, we feel great that first time you visited chail and we got a chance to host you. Moreover, your review reviels that you found us up to the mark. Its been pleasure serving you for 3 days, on behalf of my hotel team I would like to thank you for visiting us and for appreciating us for our food, room and services.
We would feel great to welcome you again at Hotel Ekant in future and will try our level best to serve you and hope to have a long lasting relationship with you.

Thanks and Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I am a travelling in hills and vallies passionist especially too fancied for such nature gifted locations and i have found best stay of my lifetime in this hotel. I have found it so exciting that i have been visiting the place very regularly and staying over here only for the past 20 years. Its not only a matter of location and surroundings but also the enjoyable stay in the hotel for all purposes including food, services & behaviour of the hotel owner & staff. The hotel has a friendly and welcoming staff. I will advice everybody visiting chail & surrounding areas to visit and stay in this hotel. Very recently, during my last stay i have seen people criticising the rooms which are without A.C.s. For that, i would like to ask them that do we need an A.C. At an altitude of 8000 feet, where u need blankets at night even in the summers? I have never experienced any sort of insects coming at night when i keep the windows open rather i have slept most peacefully here at night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwani_handa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Mr. Handa,

I feel proud and privilage to have a guest like you, I have never seen a person like you in my experience of 20 years, Its a matter of relationship and kind of support and suggestions you gave us for improving our hotel since 1995. I personally feel that we have learn many things from you, and we are thankful to you for your kind support and suggestions.
On behalf of Hotel Ekant Team I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for being our guest and visiting us again and again every year. Its our pleasure welcoming you and your family every time you visit chail.

Secondly I would like to tell you that we have to face 15 different faces every day, its very difficult job to satisfy each and every guest, Although we try our level best to satisfy every one staying with us, that is the reason why Iam present in hotel at 12 in the night, so that our guest should not have to face any problem.

Finally I would like to thank you for writing your valueable review regarding us and regarding the environment of Chail, this will definately be a great help for those coming to Chail in future.

Thanks and Regards,
Devender Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have been visiting chail since past 20yrs and regularly and staying in this hotel..the rooms have spectacular views and all the facilities..the food is equally good n service is excellent..its d best hotel to stay in chail

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mansi_handa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Mam,

Thank you for rating us a best hotel in chail, its all due to our valued guest like you, we personally feel that we are ranked number one on trip advisor due to you and other guest's those who repeatdly visit us, we are really thankful to you and your family for visiting us since past 20 years, its been a matter of great delight for us to make such a long relationship you and your family.
We will always feel happy to welcome you at Hotel Ekant any time. Thank you so much for your support and sugesstions.

Thanks and Regards,
Devender Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

chail is an excellent place to visit, it is calm & quite place, just be there if you want to take a break from your busy life. i went there just for one day stay & found, the location of hotel excellent, the staff was nice & helpful, well maintained rooms. we really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: not required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSingh2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Mansi,

Thank you for writing about us, you and your parents are visiting us from the day we started the Hotel, we are greatful to you for your kind support and visiting us again and again and giving your valuable suggestions to improve our hotel.
It gives us immense pleasure and great delight to serve you every time you visit us. We feel like you are our family members, we are really thankful to you for visiting us every year and we feel happy every time you come at Hotel Ekant.

Thanks and Regards,
Devender Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Chail is a very nice and green place, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. However, the hotel rooms are so BAD that we cut short our trip and stayed only 2 nights instead of 3 originally booked with the hotel! We had to take this decision despite knowing that we will loose money for the third night as Goibibo had refused to cooperate from day one even before we had formally checked in to the hotel. A tip: DO NOT book with Goibibo! In hindsight, booking directly may have been better in terms of resolution of issues and cancellation/refund.

Our horrible experience started the moment we entered this hotel and saw our rooms. There are only 2 Super Deluxe (SD) rooms in the hotel that match the picture displayed on the Goibibo website against SD rooms. There's no guarantee that you will get them. We booked 3 SD rooms and got only 1 that matched the picture. The other 2 were PATHETIC - probably Deluxe rooms that were sold off as SD. One room neither had an LCD TV nor a balcony as one would expect from an SD room. Additionally, there was only 1 plug point in the room for charging, while the SD room had 4! However, some windows in the SD room didn't close properly, so we had to share our bathroom with moths!

There are NO fans or A/C in the rooms! The hotel manager claims that you don't need them in Chail. This would be true to an extent, but only if it isn't summer AND your room windows are open ALL the time. This is where the problem starts: the hotel (and the city) is surrounded by a jungle and the moment you open the windows or the balcony door, you will have all kinds of insects coming into your room as there are NO nets on the windows and the balcony door. So, if you can't live with insects (bees, mosquitoes, moths), then you have to keep all the windows and doors closed and suffocate yourself in the summer heat. The windows in the common dining area are also kept open for the same reason, so you have to continuously remove the flies while you eat your food. The hotel staff claims that the manager doesn't like to kill flies or insects!!

The Goibibo website mentions 24x7 power at the hotel. There was no power in the hotel when we checked in. We requested the manager to switch on the generator, but he didn't switch it on for almost an hour until we called up Goibibo customer service to complain about everything and cancel our booking (which ultimately didn't happen as our request was snubbed citing "difference of perception" despite the fact that we had also emailed them pictures of the rooms).

Their menu states that breakfast starts at 7am, but theres no one to even take your order until 7:45am! This is despite the fact that we had conveyed our request for breakfast at 7:30 AM the night before! We were ultimately served breakfast at 8:15 AM. However, the food is good and the rest of the service is OK (once the staff has woken up and is ready for duty). The views from balcony rooms are nice.

Room Tip: If you really want to book a room in this hotel despite reading my review, ask for the newly renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkantHotel, Owner at Hotel Ekant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Mr. Rahul,

First of all I would like to thank you for writing a review regarding our Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience, this will allow us to improve shortcoming you noticed during your stay.

We are thankful to you for uploading the pictures of the rooms provided to you.
We are greatful that you have written a positive feedback regarding our food and service, moreover you have mentioned the scenic beauty of Chail in your review that is a compliment for us as well as for the tourist coming to chail.

Rooms provided to you are super deluxe rooms, we have been selling these rooms from last 15 years and we never got a complaint regarding rooms in the past 15 years. All three rooms are best rooms of out Hotel, even our guest has reviewed our room no : 303 many times (you can read the same in reviews). We are not a Star category Hotel, our hotel is a deluxe, neat and clean hotel with basic facilities as per our rates. We are building a new hotel near by our present hotel, to provide high quality luxury services to guest.

Lastly I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for staying with us and telling us about our shortcomings of rooms, we will try to improve these.


Thanks and Regards,
Devender Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chail
0.6 mi away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#4 of 13 in Chail
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chail Residency
12.6 mi away
Forest Ville Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Kasauli
392 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vue Magique Resorts & Camps
1.4 mi away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ekant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ekant

Address: | Village Mihani, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Chail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Chail
Price Range: $34 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ekant 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ekant,where Hospitality is a tradition and is striving to provide a homely atmosphere with a panoramic view from all of its 15 well furnished rooms with all the modern amenities : 24 hrs.running hot & cold water,wall to wall carpeting,wooden flooring, Color TV, Cable Connection, Terrace, Yoga & Meditation, Multi-cuisine Restaurant, Parking, Room Service. We can say "A Gateway to Chail." Chail was essentially a sleepy little mountain village set in a beautiful locale till the 19th century. Its transformation began in 1893, when the Maharaja Bhupinder Singh of Patiala decided to create a new summer capital which would be 'better' than Shimla; all this for a bruised ego, after he was banished from Shimla for eloping with Lord Kitchner's daughter. Lord Kitchner just happened to be the Commander-in-Chief of the British Indian Army at that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ekant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing