First written mention in a charter of 1286. Subsidiary parish church Pfaffing, that Bishop Konrad II. had incorporated into the Cistercian Monastery Fürstenfeld (that was founded by Duke Ludwig dem Strengen in 1263 as atoning sacrifice because he had his wife beheaded for alleged infidelity). Pfaffing was in this document called ‘ecclesia baptismalis’ (baptesterion) until the beginning of the 19th century is she the mother church of the surrounding municipalities. 1642 a rosary brotherhood was founded, 2 years later it already had 1200 members, and 1673-1675 considerably involved, in the new church, as the old church was derelict and too tiny. To meet the increasing importance of Bruck, masses shifted from Pfaffing to Bruck after the consacration of the Church on 13th of October1675. Legally Pfaffing remained a parish church till 1803when the monastery Fürstenfeld was abrogated in the course of seccularisation. The baptismal font was moved in 1806 to Fürstenfeld, and in 1818 to the Magdalene Church.