We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third time here, and we will be back. Loire...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clere du Bois, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
wendyxtwo...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Third time here, and we will be back. Loire paradise.”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is our third time here. We stayed in the Dairy again, and have also previously stayed in the Stable. We absolutely love it here, and for many reasons. Firstly - we are returning customers because of the warm welcome from lovely hosts. This was previously Angela and Derek who returning customers will know as the original owners, and as the business has now changed hands, it is cared for by Peter and Dianne who are lovely, and who make you so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble, and they go out of there way to make you feel special. We stayed for two weeks this time, and we really didn't want to leave thanks to them both. Secondly, the place itself is so beautiful. It is tranquil, feels like it is in the heart of rural France surrounded by fields and often sunflowers, and is ideally located so you can visit all of the attractions you would want to in this part of the world. We ventured out every day for a fortnight, travelling 10 mins to 90 mins to visit Chateaus and Gardens. We also visited La Haute Touche for the first time, which is a safari park / zoo less than 10 mins away. Well worth a visit. The new owner is very keen to keep La Vielle Ferme as successful as it always has been, and we are confident that with Peter and Dianne's wonderful welcome and hospitality, this will be achieved. We will remain a returning customer and will certainly be back. Don't overlook this place - it is a must for anyone wanting to explore this area of France. You will love it - just read the reviews!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Thank you so much, Wendy and Wendy! It's great to hear that we've upheld the high standards set before us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevAndrew...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break in rural France.”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

La Vielle Ferme, The Old Farm, is just that. A lovely set of old farm dwellings expertly and tastefully converted into beautiful, traditional, comfortable gites. We have stayed in The Stable and previously, The Grange. Quite different but equally comfortable. The resident managers Dianne & Pete are much more than managers. They make the stay seem like visiting old friends. Nothing is too much trouble. There was even a delicious lasagne awaiting our arrival - an unexpected very welcome luxury after a long journey from home. We are not active holidaymakers, but we were tempted at least twice every day by the superb pool. Pete even asked if we liked to swim early or late so he could ensure the pool was open and ready for us. Though we didn't use them, we were shown the whereabouts of everything from bikes to badminton. Clere is really a lovely unspoiled hamlet. There is a simple boulangerie / shop, complete with bistro and bar. The resident owners lend the personal touch and it becomes a delight to mix with the locals and enjoy simple but superb food. The village church is worth a visit too. Chatillon, a lovely market town is worth a visit for itself, and you can find a modern supermarket or two as well as more traditional shops and eateries. A little further afield is Loches, truly a gem of a town. We had a couple of 'posh' meals in a couple of very stylish restaurants there. Places to visit within a reasonable drive are too many to mention. Clere is well situated to enjoy so much. All in all it will be hard to resist staying at La Vielle Ferme again soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Many thanks Andrew for leaving such warm review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and of course we would love to welcome you back any time. All the best from us at La Vieille Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin M
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“WOW with a capital W”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gosh where to start, well I guess with Peter and Diane, the caretakers, they are amazing. Contacting us before our arrival telling us not to worry about provisions for day one as there would be sufficient in the cottage to get us through. How right they were, arriving to a fantastic home made Lasagne and superb red wine. The cottage was glorious - we stayed in The Farmhouse - very clean, well kept and everything we could need. There is a covered swimming pool onsite which is tended to daily to make sure it is just right. There is also badminton, table tennis, boules etc available for guests. Peter and Diane encourage the guests in different cottages to mingle and get together, they are fantastic hosts, with a wealth of local knowledge. the village itself is beautiful with a shop/restaurant/bar, nothing superb but enough for our needs serving great Pizza, cold beer and all overseen by the stunning Dog Cuvo, alongside owner Coraline. All in all this is one of the best family holidays we have experienced and the main reason being the cottage and the hosts, we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Many thanks Kelvin for such a kind review, we're so happy to hear that it's one of your best family holidays! That's what it is all about for us : ) Best regards from us at La Vieille Ferme, we hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen B
1 review
“Fabulous Getaway”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Having just returned from our stay at La Vieille Ferme, I wanted to share what a fabulous time we had. The property itself is gorgeous, as is the small village and local area. Peter and Dianne were wonderful hosts and have that brilliant ability to be extremely friendly and helpful without ever being invasive. The location gave us the best of all worlds with stunning whether, a comfortable distance to travel down and it is just perfectly located in touching distance of so many things to see and do. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay and come back feeling refreshed but wishing we could stay longer! Thanks for giving us a special holiday and memories to treasure!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobandjax
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect situation in a great location”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just arrived home from a lovely holiday in La Vieille Ferme where we met Peter and Diane, the managers, who were a very helpful and friendly couple. Always there to please. La Vieille Ferme is a very comfortable and pretty complex with comfy beds, nicely laundered linen and fluffy towels. Kept clean and tidy and with a great pool which was heated to a nice warm temperature. We also played table tennis, Le boule and had plenty of room to practise chipping. Nearby was a very challenging 9 hole golf course. The village, a short walk away, is also very clean and tidy with a great village shop. You can get bread, a drink or a three course meal surrounded by the locals. I would definitely recommend you stay here. We are looking forward to a return trip next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten D
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you so much for this review Maarten. We're very happy that Geraldine and yourself enjoyed your time here and very much look forward to your next visit. Best wishes from us all at La Vieille Ferme, dank je!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;