We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Secret Garden
Ranked #31 of 158 Maramures County B&B and Inns
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and I was impressed by everything. The rooms are big, beautiful and clean. The furniture is beautiful, the beds are extremely comfortable, the bathroom is big and clean. I loved the bathrobes that were very soft and warm. In the hotel there is a hairdresser and the lady who works there is very skilled. The things I disliked are that the breakfast was not very varied (sodas, plates, salami, pickles) and the TV from the room is an old model of TV. Otherwise everything was perfect. The garden is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiancaSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The room was ok, air conditioners, space, furniture in good condition.
However, there are negative aspects that they overshadow strong good ones:-breakfast poor, max, 3 stars.
-the pools, disaster. While you are staying in the hotel do not have even a beach chair. When leaving after breakfast and you wish install somewhere near swimming pools, you have no free place because those who come and pay the entrance outside the hotel occupied all meals served and all tanning beds. Inside pool is small and pays an air of sulphur. There is no one tanning bed free for those who are accommdated in the hotel.
-What to say, get to the booking and you realize that you have no place for parking. normally, all parks are occupied by those who came from swimming pools, not to the hotel.
I think that those who are staying in the hotel to benefit, however, of some rights. Pay 50€ and have fewer facilities than those that pay 5 €, excluding breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marchis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This complex is a piece of heaven on earth. Just came back from our holiday at this complex and we are really happy that we have chosen this location.

The hotel has a huge area for relaxation which includes several pools, sports area, a small lake, a lot of grass. It is far from main road which is also great as usually you need silence when you choose such locations.

Excellent service in rooms, at restaurant, at bar and also at front desk.

The breakfast even though has a variety of choices it may be considered almost the same every day...this may be improved.

Overall I recommend this hotel which I will choose once again without hesitation if I will return to Maramures.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMI_Buc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

During the last spring I visited Domeniul Dracula of Danes, near Sighisoara. I talked about the beautiful experience with one of my colleague. He replied that his boys spent their holliday at Danes, but at Secret Garden, near Baia Mare. And because from the Baia Mare to Sighisoara there are about 300 km I searched the Internet to solve the mystery.
My colleague had made a confusion between Danes and Danesti. So I learned that there is Danesti at 27 km from Baia Mare and there, hidden in a beautiful setting, lies the Secret Garden. So we started in a 5 days holliday to Secret Garden in Maramures.
There we found an young, friendly and always smiling team. You can always find a good advice, nice travel suggestions, a unique tourist route.
Rooms are large, bright and well maintained. They are equipped with TV, AC, wireless internet. From some rooms you can admire the park and pools.
I'll talk briefly about spa treatments. There are good quality facilities and staff can cure you only by the attitude.
There are friendly and skilled people both to massage and reflexoterapy and to herbal and salt bath.
The restaurant is very good and the wine and horinca (double refined fruit spirits specify from Maramures) are wonderful. The dishes are rich, fresh and well prepared. An A+ to the chef.
All pools can be used all the day even in spring or autumn because the water is heated. So I took a bath and 19 º C. During the rainy days you can use the indoor swimming pool.
From here you can go to Sapanta (famous happy cemetery ) to Sighetu Marmatiei (you can visit the t Victims of Communism and the Resistance Memorial ), to Viseu and travel with the famous Mocanita (last forest train in this part of Europe), monasteries to Barsana and Rohia and many other impressive destinations .
The only negative aspect is that, it can happen , due to power outages the Internet&TV signal provider to not work. But this happens rarely.
Conclusion: coming from Bucharest you can spend a few days in beautiful range of Danes Dracula (Sighisoara) where you can practice riding and swimming and then go Secret Garden Danesti (Baia Mare) where you can relax after the massage, jacuzzi and swimming pool for a couple of days. An important detail: to get easily from Dej to Danes by avoiding Baia Mare choose the way to Targu Lapus. Road is of good quality and is shorter by about 30 km.
You can visit Baia Mare in less sunny days admiring the historical center with good small restaurants &pubs, Nativity Church, the tower of St. Stephen and other places.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan-constantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We liked this hotel complex. It had a 'Romanian feel' but was still very comfortable and in its day, was probably very luxurious. It is a bit faded now and the carpet and decor and gym equipment could be upgraded, but on the whole, our experience of staying here was very good. The room had functioning air conditioning, reasonable beds and a small balcony. The hotel some good size swimming pools and a tennis court and the area in which the hotel is situated, is very beautiful. The swimming pool can be accessed by day trippers at the weekend. We ate at the restaurant and the menu had some lighter 'dietetic' (sic) dishes as well as the traditional Romanian sour cream specials. Breakfast was self service with fried eggs already cooked, hams, cheese, cereal, yoghurt and bread or toast. It was very good value, even by Romanian standards. For some reason (Sunday maybe??) our room was not serviced over the two days we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The hotel is situated in a small town, and we had a hard time finding the place- even with a GPS. The place itself is very nice and the staff was very helpful. We arrived relatively late and asked the receptionist if there is a possibility to find us a tour guide for the next morning. Sure enough, within less than of an hour they put us in touch with a local man who gave us a wonderful tour of the area.
The room itself was great- actually it was a suite with all what you would expect. They also have sport facilities- but we didn’t have time to use them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_A9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucuresti
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Very nice location, relaxing, with indoor and outdoor pools, sauna and football field. A lot of space and things to do also if you want to bring your kids with you.
Spacious rooms with all you may need, including bath robes and slippers.
We spent there the Easter holiday but because we made the reservation long time in advance, we had nothing special included. Though, they organized a short trip to the closest church for the night and the next morning breakfast was a special one with traditional food and even traditional local habits for that day. Also in the evening they prepared a special program with traditional music of a very good quality (we enjoyed it even if we are not necessarily fans of this kind of music).
The people are very friendly and if you need anything you just need to ask. It was a very nice holiday for us in which we combined visiting the very special sightseeings of Maramures with the comfort of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maramures County hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Muntean
Casa Muntean
#2 of 12 in Vadu Izei
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel SuperSki
Hotel SuperSki
#1 of 1 in Cavnic
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanul Teilor
Hanul Teilor
#1 of 1 in Danesti
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pensiunea Grosan
Pensiunea Grosan
#1 of 5 in Botiza
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensiunea Irina Desesti
Pensiunea Irina Desesti
#1 of 3 in Desesti
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Hotel - Transylvania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Secret Garden

Property: Hotel Secret Garden
Address: Danesti, nr. 61, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Maramures County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Secret Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing