We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to find - worth the trouble”
Review of Vecchia Masseria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vecchia Masseria
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tough to find - worth the trouble”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Getting there was a real adventure. First our GPS sent us on a 50 km detour because the Vecchia Masseria listed in the POI file bore no resemblance in space to the real location. We stopped to ask directions twice, but peasants working in the fields have no idea where this place is, even if you can understand their dialect.

We drove back to Piazza Armerina and in true "Amazing Race" style went to the local hotel for directions. Hint: if two opinions are offered, accept the advice of the senior. Drive south out of town on S.S. 117 bis in the direction of Gela for about 18km. Going south, there is no warning about the little lane on the left. (Coming in from the south, there are several signs from about 30km out.) Once you find the side road, follow it into the woods and do not despair when the pavement ends. Follow the road for another 1.5km and this little slice of heaven will appear.

We had booked 1 standard and 1 superior room for our 6 night stay. Our friends quickly upgraded to the much more spacious superior. Our "room" had 2 separate bedrooms, and 2 bathrooms on 2 floors, with a sitting area and a small kitchenette.

The staff was both attentive and professional, from check in to restaurant service to check out, including the optional tourist information.

Whatever you do, don't overlook the optional evening meal. We thought we would try it on our first night as it was too late to go anywhere else, and ended up eating at the hotel every night of our stay, even timing our daytime outings to ensure we would return in time for dinner. You are supposed to advise the staff before you leave for the day if you will be back for dinner, but after a couple of days Fatene would accept our promise to TRY and be back on time, reassuring us that dinner would be there for us if we made it, and not to worry if we didn't make it.

Dinner was a different culinary experience every night, showcasing local Sicilian cuisine and produce grown on the hotel/farm premises. We averaged 5 courses every night including appetizers, pasta, primo, secondo and dessert. Sicilian wine and bottled water was included in the 28 Euro price tag. The food was overall rated as 4 star, and the friendly service rated 5 stars. You are not going to find food this good at this price in many restaurants.

As a vacation experience, we highly recommend the "Agri Turismo" stay, the quiet grounds and the remote location only add to the experience. We too had a wedding on site during our stay, but I slept right through any noise and loud music.

A word of warning, this is a "cash-only" society due to its remote location and lack of telephone and internet facilities. However, this is not all that unusual in the remoter parts of Europe and the Middle East, and we must waive our North American aversion to a non-plastic society. We paid our deposit in cash months in advance and with no official receipt in hand, we were prepared for a hard time on check-in, but they had received our 2 deposits and we had been worried for nothing. The owners and staff are completely trustworthy and carrying that extra 1,000 Euros in cash was really no big deal.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExSeaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    55
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
135
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in this lodging one Saturday night in middle October, 2012. This is an impressive set of buildings far out in the hills at the end of a one-lane road. My room was upstairs in an old but well-renovated building. It was sparsely but adequately furnished and comfortable. The dining room/restaurant is in another building, where I had a fine continental breakfast. The grounds are exceptionally nice, truly set on a large farming operation. I had only one issue. About 10 pm that evening, suddenly the loud music started up and went on until about midnight. After that the music stopped, but the many people outside stood around, probably quite tipsy, and made lots of noise until nearly 2 am. In the morning, I mentioned the noise from the “bar.” The girl explained that it isn’t a nightclub but rather a large wedding that was booked in the restaurant. So, my take is that this is not a normal occurrence and you shouldn’t let that deter you from staying here. Otherwise, this is a fine lodging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From New York City, traveling around Sicily in September 2012.

Selected Vecchia Masseria for location near Roman Villa/ Piazza Armenia. We thought it was going to be a small farm - we were blown away by the premises - pool and hot tub, working farm and animals (not running around), beautiful manicured property with fantastic views. Best of all are staff and food - MUST eat at the restaurant, and worth a stop just for it. Can not recommend it more highly.

Left with olive oil

Room Tip: GPS DOES NOT WORK. Must use the information/ directions from the hotel. GPS got us losst twice - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rddevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed her for 2 weeks and enjoyed it thoroughly. The service is excellent. Breakfast is sufficient. Dinner very good. Lunch fine too. Moderate drawback is that the location is remote and any alternative for dinner is a 15-30 mimutes drive. Pool good, jacuzi good, general hotel environment good. Room very clean. Only surprize was that the owner insisted on being payed (drinks, lunch, dinners) by cash only.
Significant drawback is that the hotel also organises (wedding) parties that may generate load music until very late. This may happen one or twice per week. This actually destroyes a large chunk of the overall value (sleeping in particular).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iklin, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our first day during our trip to Sicily. We checked in slightly early because we wanted to sort out our luggage before roaming around the area. We were given better rooms then we booked for no additional cost. We were shown around the villa and given a welcome drink.

We decided to eat at the hotel for €28 per person which includes several plates of antipasto, pasta/rice, meat and fruit. The food here was amazing, the best we had eaten during our stay in Sicily.

The breakfast is also incredibly good. There was scrambled eggs, sausages, croissants, fruit, bread, cheese, ham, home made marmalades, etc.

The pool is a small one, but you can enjoy the lovely scenery while having a swim or while at the jacuzzi.

The rooms are clean and well decorated.

The only negative side of this villa is that you should have a car to go there and part of the road to it is unpaved. Another thing which was missing and we would have liked to have is a fridge. Other than that, everything is perfect. We are already looking forward to spending a couple of days there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RY90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Vecchia Masseria for the last few days of our trip round eastern Sicily and would thoroughly reccomend this great agriturimso for its charm, superb food and ambience.
Philipe, Faten and Angelina made us feel very welocme and nothing was too much trouble. The food was outstanding and good value for both the quality and variety of typical Sicilain dishes.
The courtyard and pool area were delightful with extensive views across the valley from the popular hot tub. The boys enjoyed a late aftenoon out on the quad bikes whilst we had a really enjoyable morning walk through the local hills to a spectacular viewpoint. Villa Romana Del Casale with its stunning mosaics is just a 30 minute drive away and well worth an early morning visit to avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: The separate rooms and suites away from the main building and courtyard have their own shaded relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is approached on a narrow dirt road off a country highway, but it has a gorgeous setting, from which you can see valleys, farms, mountains, and even Mt. Etna. It is a handsome old building which has been carefully updated. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish. It is small, and only serves breakfast and dinner, but the food is superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedgwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caltagirone
28.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
617 reviews
51.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
8.4 mi away
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
#3 of 13 in Caltagirone
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Villa Tasca Rural Tourism
Villa Tasca Rural Tourism
#2 of 13 in Caltagirone
163 reviews
7.8 mi away
Riserva del Noce
Riserva del Noce
#4 of 13 in Caltagirone
58 reviews
5.1 mi away
Colle San Mauro
Colle San Mauro
#5 of 13 in Caltagirone
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchia Masseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchia Masseria

Property: Vecchia Masseria
Address: C/da Cutuminello Km 68 S.S. 117 bis, 95041, Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Caltagirone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Caltagirone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vecchia Masseria 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vecchia Masseria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchia Masseria Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing