We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, Steak etc.”
Review of La Piazzetta

La Piazzetta
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Caltagirone
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Steak etc.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Well known restaurant, does what it says on the tin. Reasonable prices and well cooked food, busy and great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    133
    46
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nayland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Buzzy place”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Owned by our B&B owner. Place seemed full with locals on a week night, including a nun coming in for take away pizza and coke. Great atmosphere. We had pizza and local wine with a consequently ridiculously small bill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JE_Nayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good quality food for a great price”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went there at about 8 pm, and only a couple of families where there..
We ordered the antipasto and was really good. For the main I tried my best pizza ever! with aubergine, zucchini, mushroom, tomatoes and mozzarela. My husband main also was really good and tasty, spaghetti with anchovies and tomatoes. Suddenly the restaurant was full and people queuing to be seated.
Really good price and service as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mpazpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went here quite late just before new year and the place was packed with locals. We had to wait 10 minutes to get a table and then had to wait quite a while for someone to take our order but after that everything arrived very promptly. The pizza part of the restaurant was under enormous pressure as everyone seemed to be eating pizza. The couple next to us who arrived at the same time, and ordered just before us, waited a very long time for their pizzas to arrive. Since it was so late we skipped the antipasto etc and went straight to the secondi. Delicious and excellent value. We had the mixed grill (9 euro) and a grilled veal steak (12 euro), beautifully-fresh salad with baby fennel as well as the usual salady things, french fries, a half bottle of Donnafugata wine, water and semifreddos for dessert. All delicious and only 44 euro for the lot. For me a good meal is the highlight of the day and this capped a very nice evening in Caltagirone. It was quite close to the centre and easy to find. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The best value for tasty Sicilian food! We had the bruschetta appetizer and the antipasto appetizer, both of which were huge for only 5E each and they were so flavorful! So we only ordered one pizza, the Vulcano, which was a spinach, sausage and mozzarella calzone that came out with a flame in the center--very imaginative! It was really delicious! Locals came and carried out pizzas for take out, which is always a good sign.
Very friendly staff, great food, excellent prices--we highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazzetta also viewed

Caltagirone, Province of Catania
Caltagirone, Province of Catania
 
Caltagirone, Province of Catania
Caltagirone, Province of Catania
 

Been to La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing