We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best cost performance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo
Ranked #3 of 27 Caltagirone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“best cost performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Big room in annex and good breafast at the roof top terrace. Kind hotel owner. An excellent restaurant nearby. Access by car is not easy, but it's the charm of the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shohei n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    58
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
132
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Because we arrived rather late we found it hard to find, even with the help of our relatives who live here! Our room was in a separate bldg to the B&B which was OK because I found we had more privacy there. The room was lovely and had a little balcony from which you could see across the rooftops of Caltagirone. Waking up to all the church bells is magic. The old part of the city is fascinating and I wish we could have explored more, but we were there to catch up with relatives and spent our time travelling between Caltagirone & Grammichele. There was plenty of variety for breakfast and sitting on the terrace with that view over this historical city was unforgettable. Our host was most helpful and very obliging. I just wish we could have stayed longer than our 3 days there!

Room Tip: Our room was away from the main B & B (only around the corner) and gave us more privacy. Very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a great time at Tre Metri a few weeks ago on our tour around Sicily. Tano is a great host. As soon as we arrived, he took us up to the amazing roof terrace, and talked us through all the must-visit spots in town, restaurant recommendations and even the history of the area. The next morning we had an amazing Sicilian style breakfast (brioche and coffee granita) on the same terrace. Although Caltagirone is probably only worth 1 night's stay, I could imagine a relaxing summer morning spent on that terrace without rushing around to see the sights could push it out to 2 nights.

In response to some of the other comments: of course there are steps - Caltagirone is famous for them. I'm sure there are nice places to stay at the bottom of the steps, but if you want views like this, you have to climb. Luckily, Tano is almost insistent on coming and helping you with the bags from the car (it's not immediately clear which side streets to take if you're following a map).

And to the person who complained about lack of eggs at breakfast? I don't think Caltagirone has a McDonalds either, surprised you didn't complain about that. Tano's granita and brioche (while maybe not for every day) is the perfect Sicilian breakfast!

The one disadvantage is that Tre Metri overlooks the steps themselves, right where a bar has set up cushions and so on for people to drink and chat on. This went quite late into the night, but we didn't have any trouble sleeping - maybe because of all that step-climbing!

Room Tip: Didn't compare them all, but the room with a view was definitely worth paying extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Really enjoyed this stay. We were there for four days. We used caltagirone as a base for the surrounding areas.
Rooms were impeccable. Really happy with breakfast.
Yes. You need to walk stairs each day but.... That is caltagirone!
in caltagirone I would suggest unless you are really into ceramics, spend 1 to 2 days. Should be enough.
If you are parking, park in one of the high car parks at the level of the top of the stairs (still in the perimeter of town) and then walk your bags in that way. It will save lugging them up the steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Caltagirone, in Sicily, is not a place one would stay unless there was a big interest in visiting Piazza Armerina or Val di Noto. There are not too many places to stay here. The B and B's are located in the old part of the town accessible only by climbing almost one hundred steps to get to your room. We stayed in one of the B and B's, Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo. This was a very interesting experience for us. The first part of our experience started when we could not find the property, even with our GPS. The reason was that the B and B was an address about 70 steps up from the main street, with no direct access to the door of the hotel by car. We asked a local merchant if they could help us find the address, and they called Gaetano, the owner, to come to our location with his car and guide us to the room. Gaetano is a very pleasant man who was extremely helpful and accommodating while we were there. Before he brought us to our rooms (we were two couples) he gave us a tour of the entire town as we followed him with our car and he pointed out the highlights.
He had us park on a street that had access to the steps, and he had his house staff bring our luggage to the room. We only had to climb about twenty steps to get to our room. We had a double room with private bath, and our companions had a triple. As you enter the house from the steps, you walk up one flight to your room. On our floor there was another another guest room with an outside bath. The size of our room was adequate. There was a bath with a shower and no tub. One word of caution about the shower, if you are very heavy, you will not be able to squeeze in and out of it. The opening to the door is very narrow. I mean it, you could get wedged in. We are used to having our bath towels changed daily, and they were not changed here.
The stay included breakfast on the top floor overlooking the city. The view from the terrace was beautiful, especially early in the morning when the sun was slowly moving from east to west. The breakfast was adequate, consisting of pastries, coffee, juices and breads. No eggs were served.
If you want to visit Piazza Armerina, and you should because of the beauty of the mosaics depicting Roman medieval throughout the Piazza, Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo is an O.K. place to stay. If you are used to a four star facility, you will be disappointed

Room Tip: Stay in the double room with private bath. The triple room is strange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppletreeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had difficulty finding the place. When we called the owner he was very responsive and helped without luggage...there are many, many steps!
Our room was not in the 'main' house but up additional steps. It was furnished in a cross between Ikea and 1950, beaded divider and all. No closet or drawers, but some unfinished construction..The Internet did not work although he said that it would work in the other building- didn't do us any good. There was construction debris covered by a curtain and a strange assortment of furniture.
Breakfast was on the patio with a beautiful view of the town with an assortment of items.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We apologize for the room which did not meet your expectations, but believed to have fat to the maximum, which gives a large room (a studio) with antiques (first 900) combined with a modern style (no Ikea) and have served a Sicilian breakfast (iced coffee and cream) along with home-made cakes served on the terrace. We apologize again for not having put your needs but the next morning when we asked, and there 'seemed delusione.Ci apologize for this room who has not met your expectations, but believed to have fat to the maximum, which gives a large room (a small apartment) with antiques (first 900) combined with a modern style (no ikea) and have served a Sicilian breakfast (coffee granita and brioche coffee cream) along with home-made cakes served on the terrace. I'm sorry I forgot that in his accurate description (having also looked in the closet) has never hinted at what he found in his fridge full availability sparkling water and a fruit basket. I'm sorry again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked this B & B for one night based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and also in the Lonely Planet Sicily. This meant that my expectations were perhaps a bit too high.
We checked in on a Sunday afternoon, and it took a while for someone to arrive to let us into the room. Wherever the owner was, he didn't have his reservation details for that day with him and so while we had booked a double room, we were given a twin room (2 separate beds). We spoke to the owner via phone and I told him that I had booked a dbl room, but he said that he considered the twin room a dbl room. The actual double room was on the same floor and we catched a glimpse of it and it looked very nice! In all fairness to the owner, he noticed the next morning that he had allocated the wrong room and profusily apologised for his mistake and obviously only charged for the twin room. For this reason my review is based on the twin room in the main building.
The B & B is located right at the middle of the staircase and our room looked out on to it. The room itself was quite small (no ensuite), but neat, tidy and clean. The bathroom is located just one door down the hallway and was spacious and clean. I strongly recommend to travel very lightly to this B & B as it would be tough to carry a large suitcase up or down these stairs!!
Breakfast was inside for us due to rain, although we could see that the view would be pretty on a nice day. It was a typical Italian breakfast with lots of biscotti and sweet things, but also had yogurt and fruit. What we really disliked here, is the owner smoking in the adjacent kitchen; I suppose had we been sitting outside we wouldn't have noticed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precisionstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I'm so sorry for the inconvenience and hope that all this has caused a bad stay, but I was out (hospital) and did not remember in which room was your accommodation. I hope next time my host only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caltagirone hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Caltagirone Villa San Mauro
0.1 mi away
B&B Il Piccolo Attico
B&B Il Piccolo Attico
#1 of 27 in Caltagirone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Casa Alba
B&B Casa Alba
#2 of 27 in Caltagirone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Vecchia Masseria
Vecchia Masseria
#1 of 12 in Caltagirone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere La Piazzetta
Affittacamere La Piazzetta
#5 of 27 in Caltagirone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Girosa
Bed and Breakfast Girosa
#24 of 27 in Caltagirone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo

Property: Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo
Address: Bongiovanni 72, 95041 Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Caltagirone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Caltagirone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedandbreakfast sul monumento simbolo Della citta' a contatto con l'arte e la storia sognando l'infinito...Le camere con balcone Sulla scalinata e alcune con finestra sul panorama Della citta' tutte con aria condizionata,wifi gratuito, riscaldamento, tv al plasma , sky, frigo bar, corredo bagno(accappatoio etc..) E letto, kit cortesia (spazzolino e dentifricio usa monouso), colazione a buffet con torte ,marmellate biologiche tipiche,succhi,spremute fresche arance,yogurt e anche un po' di salato e chi lo preferisce la tipica granita siciliana. Curate nei particolari con parquet e marmi arredate con mobili di antiquariato nella junior suite dependance moderno nei tessuti e nei componenti d'arredo. La Colazione servita Sulla terrazzo panoramica ( nella Bella stagione e nella stanza adiacente nei mesi invernali sempre con vista panoramica). Abbiamo anche le biciclette elettriche per noleggio o tour guidati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Metri Sopra Il Cielo Hotel Caltagirone
Tre Metri Sopra Il Cielo Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing